Looking for Book Recommendations for Young Readers

My 9 year old, a reluctant reader, finally found a book she likes- Granny Torrelli Makes Soup by Sharon Creech.  She’s finished this one and has picked up Allie Finkle’s Rules for Girls, which she says is funny, so we’re on a roll–she also likes all the Goosebumps books.  Can anyone recommend other books for girls this age?  What else can I get for her? Part of her homework is to read for 20 minutes a day.  She grumbles about it, but doesn’t always stop when the timer goes off.

My 10 year old loves to read and frequently falls asleep reading a book. That’s what happened here, while reading to her little sister.  Aren’t they sweet when they’re asleep?

22 Responses

  1. I have always loved Mrs. Piggle Wiggle books…I don’t know if that would be too young, but they are great.

  2. My daughter really liked the Judy Moody series at that age. Also, the Spiderwick books are a good fit if she likes fantasy.

  3. Have you tried out the Sister’s Grimm books by Michael Buckley? I’ve read all of them, and they’re loads of fun (especially if she knows many fairy tales) Hmmm, others that my 10 year old son (who also enjoys the Goosebumps) and I both really liked were the books of Ember, the Underland Chronicles (we really love these) by Suzanne Collins, and if she likes animal stories, the GaHoole books by Kathryn Lasky and the Warriors books by Erin Hunter.
    Also, there’s a new website, http://www.readkiddoread.com/home, that has great book suggestions broken down by age.
    Good Luck!

  4. I’ll second the Mrs. Piggle Wiggle books, and add in Louis Sachar’s books (Sideways Stories from Wayside School is funny and seems like it might be right up her alley.) The Pippi Longstocking books or Roald Dahl might also appeal, or Bunnicula for an Halloween-flavored book.

  5. Have you tried Junie B. Jones or Judy Moody books? Those seem to be very popular with girls about that age. Nancy Drew is an oldie but a goodie, and I love the new 39 Clues series for kids who like adventure and problem solving.

  6. My son has found The 39 Clues series as well and the second book will be coming out right before Christmas. I talked briefly about the series here:

    http://bookchatterandotherstuff.blogspot.com/2008/09/have-you-heard-about-39-clues-series.html

    I think it’s a good idea to get a reluctant reader hooked on a series. That way they is always another book to go to. We have to do the 20 min a day here as well, but I changed it up and now require 30 min a day, every day so my son understands it’s not just a “school thing”.

  7. Oh, I forgot to add that my daughter absolutely loved Matilda by Roald Dahl.

  8. My 9-year-old daughter(who is also a reluctant reader) has enjoyed Clementine by Sara Pennypacker, and there are a couple more in the series. I know there is a review of it on Bloggin’bout Books. (I would do a link, but I don’t know how, isn’t that pathetic?) We are currently reading together the first Sisters Grimm book, which is good, but my daughter has been annoyed by super long chapters. It has been laugh-out-loud funny in parts. She also likes the Bailey School Kids series and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

  9. What great pictures of your girls! I have a 9 year old boy…almost 10 and he loves to read but is focused on Pokemon at the moment. I am interested in seeing what others have recommended as well. I would second the Judy Moody books, Roald Dahl books as well.

  10. When I was younger I loved reading The Magic Treehouse series.

  11. They are both great pictures!

  12. What about Polly Horvath? Everything on a Waffle was fun, and the description of Granny Torelli Makes Soup reminded me of it (though that might just be the food in the title). She’s done a couple others, too, since.

    Also, what about nonfiction books? When I was ten, I loved going to the library and getting those one-topic non-fiction books that took all of an hour to read. (Sharks, Whales, Horticulture, Electricity, Horses, Vegetables, Plants–most of them had one-name titles.)

    I’m about to read a kids’ book called Maggie and the Chocolate War. Check my blog to see how that goes. (It sounds interesting–I sought out the publicist to get a copy.)

  13. Absolutely adoreable picture!

  14. Have you tried Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor (and it’s two sequels)? I LOVED books about animals when I was a kid… still do! I read the Fear Street books not the Goosebumps…

  15. Oh and anything by Roald Dahl!

  16. I think that picture is adorable!! I would recommend the City of Ember books by Jeanne DuPrau! I loved them, and the movie just came out to the first book. I took my little sister (i guess she’s not little anymore she’s 20 lol) to see it and we loved it!

  17. My 10 year old seems to be developing a taste for fantasy/adventure books. She recently read a book about a girl and a unicorn by Bruce Coville and was very happy to see there was another in the series. She is now working on the Harry Potter books. Last year she enjoyed “The Castle In The Attic”.

    She also likes Roald Dahl books. She has read “James And The Giant Peach” and was caught giggling many times! For books about girls, she likes the Beverly Cleary Ramona books.

    Even at 10, she still likes to be read aloud to. For that, we go to simple old favorites. She also seems to like fairy tales read aloud to her. Right now, for Halloween, we’re reading the “Old Witch” books by Ida DeLage.

    She can be a reluctant reader sometimes, but has to read for school so I was very happy to see that she can enjoy some books, even if they’re not the same genres I enjoyed as a girl.

  18. Mistress Masham’s Repose. The Phantom Tollbooth. From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler.

  19. I really liked Joan Aiken’s Arabel and Mortimer books (funny British family with a pet Raven) and if she likes magical the Charlie Bone series, by Jenny Nimmo, might be a winner.

  20. Have you heard of the new Humpty Dumpty Jr.: Hardboiled Detective Series? My 8-year-old daughter loved the first one, and we’re reading the second now. I reviewed the first one here:

    http://diaryofaneccentric.blogspot.com/2008/10/humpty-dumpty-jr-hardboiled-detective.html

  21. […] original post here: Looking for Book Recommendations for Young Readers « Books on the … Sunday, October 12th, 2008 at 16:30 Tags: all-movies, audio, book, classics, moody, […]

  22. I think 9 is slightly young for Wish by Alexandra Bullen but if your 10 year old is nudging towards 11 soon, she might like the story. I’ve read the novel and thought it was an easy read, pretty much a page turner.

Leave a Reply

