Tuesday Teasers

Miz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to:
Grab your current read.
Let the book fall open to a random page.
Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

My teaser comes from page 131 of Autobiography of a Face by Lucy Grealy.  This book is a memoir of the author’s childhood, in which she had a third of her jaw removed as a result of a disfiguring surgery due to Ewing’s Sarcoma, and later suffered the pain of rejection and cruel taunts by classmates.  

“Everybody, from my mother to the characters I read about in books (who were as actual and important as real people to me), was always looking at someone else’s life and envying it, wishing to occupy it.  I wanted them to stop, to see how much they had already, how they had their health and their strength.”  

I can really relate to that and remember feeling that way last spring, when we were dealing with a serious medical issue with my older daughter.  I remember being barely tolerant of friends whining about minor problems, and wanting to scream- stop it!  You have everything and you don’t even know it!  Thankfully my daughter is much better now, and my friends no longer annoy me quite so much!

What are YOU reading this week?

8 Responses

  1. Lisa, I’ve been interested in this book for awhile. I look forward to your thoughts about it.

    I’m glad your daughter is better! I know what you mean about other’s issues when you’re in crisis. I guess it’s all relative. When I was going through the poo, I kind of relished hearing the petty stuff, then I didn’t have to think about mine for awhile! I imagine it’s different when it’s your child though!

    Hope you’re having a good week.

  2. Hi! That sounds like some heavy stuff. I think with the election, economy, war and all the other bad news that plagues our world I am looking forward to reading something on the light and funny side.
    I just finished Judith Matloff’s HOME GIRL and reviewed it yesterday on Planet Books. I’m hoping that OFF THE MENU for TLC Book Tours arrives in my P.O. Box this week so I can dive in before heading stateside for two weeks in two weeks.

  3. i am reading loving frank

  4. I remember when my mother was in the hospital and I overheard a women at my daughter’s school complain about having to wait at the manicurist, I just wanted to say “yeah, it really sucks doesn’t it! Watching my Mother died stinks too, but obviously not as bad as waiting a few extra minutes to get your nails done.” In retrospect, I probably should have said it!

    I am also glad to hear that your daughter is ok. When my oldest was diagnosed with Epilepsy, it felt like the worst thing in the world. Luckily she has done well with her medication and now I know that it is just a little bump in her life. Peace.

  5. This book sounds powerful. Why must you keep tempting me with more books to read?

    I’m reading Linda Merlino’s Belly of the Whale.

  6. I’m reading a fun YA read Anatomy of a Boyfriend. I just started today and it’s fun.

    I’ve had some friends and family going through some rough times this year and I’ve been blessed to have thing going rather well. I try to remember this when I start to feel like complaining about my life.

  7. Sounds like a fascinating book!

  8. I really enjoyed Autobiography of a Face.

Leave a Reply

