Guest Post: An Open Letter to Book Bloggers, Readers, and Book Clubbers from author Jennie Shortridge

jennie2Dear book bloggers, book readers, and book club members,

In case you don’t already realize it, you are the future of the book publishing business. Where once it was seen as an exclusive club of intellectuals in New York, the reading public now rules, and that was never more evident to me than at Book Group Expo in San Jose in late October.

I think it all started with Amazon customer reviews, which at first the publishing world pooh-poohed as inconsequential. Now, everyone understands that they are one of the main ways people choose books to read. Publishers are embracing readers in ways they never have, now that they have a “voice” and can communicate with other readers. Book bloggers are the natural extention of that, and are welcomed with open arms into the book publishing community, as Jill and Trish and others noticed at Book Group Expo. I would say they were actually courted by authors and publicists alike. I attended a cocktail party thrown by Carol Fitzgerald of Book Report Network, a powerful force in the publishing biz, 9780451223883l1and loved  how diverse the group there was, including publishing people, authors, and yes, bloggers! My author friends all want my contacts in the blogging world, and my publisher is delighted that I’m on blog tour with TLC.

So readers, bloggers, book club members, thank you. Thank you for reading the books that don’t get all the marketing dollars, and for telling others when you like them. Thank you for taking the time to organize, to blog, to reach out to authors. We appreciate you all so much, and with your help, we can continue to do what we feel we must: write the stories that help us come together and talk about important issues, discover who we really are, or just spin a good yarn and forget about the economy and issues of the day.

You rock my world . . .
Jennie

Jennie Shortridge and her book Love and Biology at the Center of the Universe, her 3rd published novel, is currently on a virtual book tour with TLC Book Tours (view the schedule HERE).

14 Responses

  1. What a great open letter! She is very welcome! I appreciate the authors that appreciate the time and effort we put into reading and reviewing books.

  2. What a wonderful letter! Thanks, Jennie.

  3. What a great letter! Thanks to Jennie for writing it.

  4. What a super letter, it’s nice to know that book bloggers are being welcomed by the publishing industry. I’ve experienced that myself and bloggers are very passionate about books and reading!

  5. Book blogs have completely replaced print reviews for me. The papers used to be my number one source for new book news, but they’ve very little to offer these days. Most of my TBR shelf is there because of something I read on-line. New books and old.

  6. Book blogs are my first resource for picking up new books. I have abandoned reviews on papers and not to mention Amazon with which I had a fallout.

  7. Bloggers love authors like you, Jennie!

    And might I just mention that Jennie is even more beautiful in real life…she’s SO STINKIN CUTE! And smart to boot!

  8. It’s nice to be appreciated. I have had very good relationships with the authors that I have corresponded with.

  9. What a great letter! I love the relationships that are being developed between authors and bloggers. I love the accessibility of authors and how friendly they are.

  10. Aw, that’s sweet!

  11. Thanks Jennie for such a wonderful post! We book bloggers like to think that authors love us as much as we love them, but it’s great to hear it from you.🙂

    I so badly wanted to go to Book Group Expo! Between my book blog and my fabulous book club I thought it would be the perfect event for me. And from all the recaps I’ve read (on Trish’s, Jill’s, and Carol’s blogs) I was totally right about that.! Ah well, I’ll just have to pine away here on the East Coast …

  12. Thanks, Jennie! It means so much to hear this!

  13. Thank you, Jennie, for your kind words! There’s a great relationship developing between authors and non-traditional media.

    I’d love to get to Book Group Expo next year; it sounds like it was so much fun!

  14. That’s such a nice post! Love it! Love the book, love Jennie, love it!

Leave a Reply

