The Well Seasoned Reader Challenge hosted by Book Nut

In the past I haven’t entered many challenges.  Last year I entered two but haven’t completed either one (but you never know.. there are still a few weeks left in the year). Part of the problem, I think, is that they are too long, with too many books to commit to.  I have a bit of Reading ADD and am easily distracted by an interesting cover or title that pulls me away from the books I am “supposed” to read.  

However, Melissa at Book Nut is hosting a challenge that I just can’t pass up!  With only three books to read over the course of three months, I think I can manage to stay on task.  Here is the explanation, taken from her blog:

wsreader

This year, I give you the Well-Seasoned Reader Challenge.

Here’s how it works:

Rule #1: The challenge runs from January 1 to March 31. (No cheating and starting before!)

Rule #2: You must read three books. After that, it’s up to you how much you want to read.

Rule #3: The books must:

    have a food name in the title

    OR

    be about cooking/eating

    OR

    have a place name in the title

    OR

    be about one (or more) person’s travel experience

    OR

    be about a specific culture

    OR

    be by an author whose ethnicity is other than your own (see, I squeezed it in!)

I’ll leave it up to you to choose how the three books you read fit the criteria.

Rule #4: They must be middle-grade on up, but can be either fiction or non-fiction.

The purpose, this winter, is to take yourself someplace out of the ordinary, to go on a literary trip, whether that be challenging your expectations, discovering a new place, or enjoying the experience of reading about good food, places, and people.

Thanks, Melissa aka Book Nut!

I have to read Chez Moi by Agnes Desarthe for my book club in January anyway, so that will go on my list. Does anyone have suggestions for the other two books I should read?  I’ve been eyeing Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver for ages, so I might put that on the list.  I remember reading a good review of Alone in the Kitchen with an Eggplant a while back, too.  What else should I read for this challenge?  Any suggestions?

Do you enter challenges?  Why or why not?

Let me know if you plan to join this challenge too, so I can pester you about your progress (or lack thereof).  Please feel free to pester me about mine as well!

6 Responses

  1. I’m with you! I love the idea of challenges but I can never quite commit. However, this one sounds reasonable (and like a lot of fun!). I’m joining! I could use the motivation too!

  2. Woo hoo, I’ve got somebody to pester!! Make sure you check up on me, too!

  3. I’m flattered that you remember my review of Alone in the Kitchen with an Eggplant. Although, if you were not referring to my review, then I am embarassed and would like to withdraw this comment🙂

  4. beastmomma, it WAS your review! LOL

  5. Hmmm… suggestions? Becky has some on her list. (Her list is pretty interesting, too…) Oh, and I wrote a piece on travel books a while back that might help.

    Thanks for joining up, though!🙂

  6. […] Challenge Update The Well-Seasoned Book Challenge is done. Yeah! Here are the three reviews for the titles […]

Leave a Reply

