7 Random Weird Things meme

7bookish-things-picYou know that meme that circulates over and over again where the blogger lists random stuff about themselves?  The one everyone and their blogging brother has already done?  I’ve been tagged for that repeatedly but have never done it.  I can’t tell you who tagged me because I generally ignore it.  Today I was catching up at JIll’s blog and she did the meme.  She didn’t tag me but since I’ve been procrastinating on the two book reviews I need to write, I’m going to borrow that meme today.  I always enjoy an opportunity to do some navel gazing, especially when I should be doing other things.  

I think it’s supposed to be a meme of 7 weird bookish things, but since I can’t come up with 7 of those, it’s just going to be 7 random weird things.  I’ll try to find a way to make them all about reading.  So here we go- let’s celebrate the weirdness of me!

1.  My eyesight hit a wall a couple years ago, yet I will go to great lengths not to be seen in my reading glasses. The first time I noticed it, I was trying to read the back of a Motrin box for the dosage to give my daughter, and I was angry that the Motrin makers had changed the print on the box from small to teeny tiny.  It never occurred to me that the problem was my eyes, not the box.  Then the menus at our favorite restaurant suddenly become unreadable, no matter how far away or how close I’d hold the menu to my face.  I was able to ignore that for a long time by always ordering the same thing and not looking at the menu. Then I found I couldn’t read in bed because the light from my nightstand lamp wasn’t strong enough. Finally I accepted the fact that I was half blind and went to the doctor.  Yep, my eyes are old.  Time for glasses.

2.  I work out 5 times a week during the school year.  I work out zero times a week during the summer.   I see people reading on the treadmills but I’d probably fall off the thing if I tried to do that.

3.  My husband doesn’t read.  He knows how, he just chooses not to.  The only book he has ever read is Of Mice and Men (by the way, he liked it- two thumbs up), and that was just so he wouldn’t flunk high school English.  He does, however, put up with my addiction to reading.

4.  I lost the nail on my big toe on my right foot doing a roundhouse kick in Tae Kwon Do a couple years ago.  It grew back deformed.  I wear sandals anyway (when I’m reading).

5.  I hate going to a person’s house who insists that people take off their shoes before entering.  Probably because of the deformed toenail thing.  One of my book club friends has all white carpeting and you check your shoes at the door.  I have to make sure I’m wearing decent socks or have my toes polished when it’s her month to host.           

6.  I drink 5 or 6 Diet Cokes a day.  It’s 7 am and I’m having my first one now.  My goal in the new year is to get off that chemical cocktail for good. But I always enjoy a Diet Coke when I’m reading.

7.  I have 4 junk drawers in my kitchen.  Most of it is the kids’ junk.  (Sure it is.)  No books in there, however.

Ok, so now ya’ll know how weird I am.  Are you weird too?  I’ll tag:  Patti, Sheri, Robin, Heather, Natalie, and anyone else who wants a reason to procrastinate!  Feel free to ignore the tag, as I usually do!

11 Responses

  1. Ouch, I cringed when I read about your toe. I’m married to a non-reader, too.

  2. My eye doctor prescribed reading glasses for me this last time, but not so much because I need them. Rather, she’s using them to improve my distance vision and so I am supposed to wear them most of the time–except when I drive and need my distance glasses. She insists she’ll have me glass-less one of these days. We’ll see. I’m not quite as optimistic.

    My husband is the same way with diet soda–that and iced tea. He needs his caffeine fix. I had to give up caffeine and carbonated drinks for health reasons–but before that, I was similar to the two of you.

  3. I never really noticed your toe and I’ve seen your feet.

    You work out five times per week? Holy schniekies! With your height, you’re going to shrink down into nothing. Good for you!

    I wish I had a diet coke about now!

    Sheri

  4. Get a Kindle or other eReader to read while on the treadmill! It’s so easy! And, bonus, you can make the text HUGE!!!!

  5. Oh, weird toe thing. I lost most of a toenail when I was running and my shoes didn’t fit very well (the repeated banging can cause bleeding under the toenail and blah, blah, there goes the toenail, blah). I nursed it well, though. You have to keep the toenail bed very, very soft and keep cutting it back whenever it tries to come in all wrong. So, just bang your toe, again, and redo it. I’m kidding about a second banging. That stinks.

  6. some memes fall apart. some are limp, some are lame, some are repetitive. This one, however, in your hands, came to life. I love the things you chose to mention. See? memes do have a purpose – this one gets very high “entertainment” marks – OK, and points for insight, too!

  7. […] things meme Jump to Comments I was tagged by Lisa to do 7 random weird things about me meme, but since I have already told you all 6 random things about myself I am going to try […]

  8. I struggle with the Diet Coke issue, too! When I got up to six a day, I knew I was in trouble! I have started drinking coffee only in the morning…and getting a DC at lunch out, with a to-go cup to get me through the afternoon.🙂

  9. >2 I love, love, love audiobooks for running on the elliptical at the gym… they distract me enough that I forget how much I hate working out, plus I don’t have to keep my eyes focused on a book/magazine.

    >6 Diet Coke with Lime is the stuff of the gods! I can only drink one a day though, and not until after 11 am, or I start getting heart palpitations.🙂

  10. OK! I’ll play! I love the deformed toenail fact! Very funny. We must be thinking about toes together or something….

    Our house came with white carpet in the bedroom, and I’m too cheap to change it. The dogs vomit on it. It looks like spotted white carpet. Blech. White carpet should have never been invented.

  11. Interesting Read! Very detailed blog,thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

