There’s nothing to eat!

How is it that a person (me) can drop about $150. at the grocery store, after coupons, lug in about 20 bags of stuff, and still have nothing to fix for dinner?  I do have a 22 lb. frozen turkey, fresh cranberries, celery, onions, baby carrots, poultry seasoning, sparkling cider, beer, wine, soda, a new roasting pan, coffee, Mocha Mix, flour, sugar, tubes of crescent rolls, butter, and 10 lbs. of potatoes, among other things, but nothing to eat right now.  Good planning, huh?

14 Responses

  1. I just did the same thing at Trader Joes! I only spent $116 though but I have the same stuff you just listed without the liquor!

  2. We are going to the mountains next week, so I have been purposefully avoiding going shopping. The refrigerator is completely bare. I’m not hungry, but I really need a refreshing soft drink. I’m going to Trader Joe’s tomorrow for a $40 run!

    S

  3. I’m suprised you got out with all of that for $150. I love the holiday food and planning, but it is so expensive.

  4. I’m one up on you. That’s why I have a daughter! Someone to sprung from so I don’t have to spend $150.00, cook or wash dishes.🙂
    Happy Thanksgiving..

  5. Our son will be home for Thanksgiving week and my husband said, “Finally, there’s some real food in the house.” He made it sound like I usually starve him.

  6. Ti, do you do all your shopping at Trader Jioes? I only go in there for specialty stuff. It’s a nice store but it’s a little out of the way for me.

    Sher, have fun!! I love the mountains. Do you rent a cabin? Go with family? Am I going to see you tonight? Want me to bring you a soda?

    Melanie, I made good use of coupons. I’m usually pretty lame in that department but yesterday I took the time to go through them. I also had a $12. off store coupon if I spent over $120, which I obviously did. My bill before coupons was around $180.

    pobept, I’m grooming my young daughters now to know how to do Thanksgiving so I can sponge off of them when they have their own homes someday! They’ll be helping me cook and clean, but right now they are 9 and 11 years old. Sometimes their “help” doesn’t really help.

    Kathy LOL That reminds me of how my mom used to be when my brother would visit (he’s 34 now and the youngest). We’d tease her that the young prince was coming home. She made such a fuss, and still does! She called me yesterday to make sure I was going to have the kind of coffee he likes on Thanksgiving- hello! It’s ONE day, I think he can drink whatever I have, right?? Either that or bring his own!

  7. Nothing to eat? Clearly you’ve missed the crescent rolls.

  8. I have to say that is usually the norm around here when there is a major holiday. Then again itcould just be me being a ditz! LOL
    Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

  9. I have the same issue! But what I really need is for someone to come cook for me. I am not wanting to eat out but also not wanting to cook anything. Can someone come over and make me a meatloaf or pork chops or something???

  10. LOL Raych! Gotta save those for Turkey Day!

    Deb, Happy Thanksgiving to you too. At least we’ll eat good on Thursday!

    Michele, I can’t cook for you, but if you want a really awesome (also fast and easy) pork chop recipe, send me an email. Even my picky picky children love this recipe.

  11. Ha! My mother walked in the door yesterday with five reusable shopping bags STUFFED with stuff, and the first thing she said was, “We have groceries but nothing to eat.” We have this conversation often. Yesterday she bought goodies for our Thursday evening Thanksgiving snack party (turkey sandwiches and appetizers). Today we’re eating leftovers from this week to make room in the ‘fridge. Good times!

  12. I try to shop at Trader Joe’s often but they just don’t have good lunch box stuff for the kids. I end up going to two different places and sometimes even three if you count Costco or Sam’s Club.

    There are tried and trues at Trader Joe’s that I have to have for Thanksgiving. I love the Blue Chees Pecan spread for crackers and the mushroom turnovers. YUM.

  13. I know exactly how you feel. I spent the weeks’ shopping budget on thanksgiving food too, and we’re having mundane not-so-healthy (but kid-friendly) stuff like hot dogs and spaghetti today and tomorrow. Then it’s turkey leftovers the rest of the week!

  14. I have that problem all the time.

Leave a Reply

