Booking Through Thursday: Favorites

btt button

1. Do you have a favorite author?

2. Have you read everything he or she has written?

3. Did you LIKE everything?

4. How about a least favorite author?

5. An author you wanted to like, but didn’t?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I have a lot of favorites, but my MOST favorite (today) would have to be Khaled Hosseini. I read The Kite Runner for my book club in July 2007 and I declared it to be my favorite book ever, or at least in my top 3 (it’s so hard to decide on these things). I waited a long while to read his 2nd novel but finally picked it up, and today I finished it.

A Thousand Splendid Suns is my NEW favorite book ever! Without a doubt, it’s my favorite book I’ve read this year. I’m still processing it, but will write my review soon. If you’ve read it, what did you think? I cried like a baby in the last 5 pages, ugh. Thankfully, I was alone with tears streaming down my face. It was so, soooooo good. I would happily and greedily read anything this man has written. He can’t write fast enough for me.

I also just love Lisa See, Amy Tan, Frank McCourt, Jodi Picoult (I know, I know). Also Sue Grafton, Dean Koontz, and Stephen King when I was a young adult, and so many others. I can’t think of an author I wanted to like, but didn’t.

A least favorite author? That’s a tough one. I can think of a few books I didn’t care for, but I wouldn’t be ready to write the author off after one bad book. Then again, I probably wouldn’t pick up another by the same author if I didn’t like the first one I read.

Incidentally, A Thousand Splendid Suns came out in paperback last week. I’ve had it in hardcover since last Christmas but wasn’t ready to read it then. I didn’t want to be making too many comparisons between it and The Kite Runner.

What about you? Who are your favorites?

19 Responses

  1. Dude, you finished it! Awesome!

    I’m posting on The Kite Runner right now. Guess I better pick up Thousand Splendid… yep, another one for the pile.

    Reading David Sedaris and laughing!

    Sher

  2. You know, I still haven’t read The Kite Runner. I’d better get “on the stick.” Come see my answers.

  3. I’ve heard alot about The Kite Runner. Gonna give it a try.😀

  4. I really loved the two Lisa See books I read. I’m the last person on earth who hasn’t read Kite Runner.

  5. Good post. I’ve heard many good things about The Kite Runner, but I haven’t read it yet.

  6. The Kite Runner is my TBR stack. I guess I need to pull that one out. I’ve heard such good things about it.

    I’m reading one of Amy Tan’s books right now, The Joy Luck Club, and so far I really like it.

  7. I’m an Austenite through and through! My post is up.

  8. I really liked Hosseini’s books too. I forgot about him..LOL

  9. I haven’t read “The Kite Runner” either but I’ve heard so many good things about it.

    My favorites are Amy Tan and Anita Shreve.

  10. I loved The Kite Runner. Yet to read the second one…

    Booking through favourites

  11. I love Hosseini’s books! I sobbed at the end of A Thousand Splended Suns. It was really hard for me to pick a favorite, although I did name the author I didn’t care for, but since I’m pretty sure she doesn’t read my blog, I think it’ll be ok.🙂 She was the only pne that came to mind. My new favorite is Jayne Pupek, oh and Hillary Jordan . . . I could go on and on…

  12. I like Lisa See, Amy Tan and Frank McCourt also. I have held off from reading Khaled Hosseini’s books because I wasn’t sure if it was a fad book with everyone jumping on the bandwagon. I might have to reconsider that now.

  13. Really??? I have shied away from him because of the hype and his being ubiquitous on critics’ radar. I guess I should at least read for myself. I trust your endorsement.🙂

  14. I am going to have to give The Kit Runner a second chance. I just did not get into it the first time.

  15. Hi guys, Thanks for the great comments.

    Nise’, You know, I think how we react to a book depends upon where we are in our own lives. Maybe it just wasn’t the right time for you to read it. Or maybe I read it at just the right time for me. I don’t know, but I thought it was spectacular and meaningful.

  16. An excellent choice…I went with Christopher Moore.

  17. I haven’t read The Kite Runner yet either. I need to go on a serious book-buying spree at some point, there’s so much I want to read. Right now I’d have to say my favorite author is David Field. I’m reading The Fairest Star right now and really loving it. It’s the final volume in a trilogy and I’ll be sorry to see the series end.

  18. I am glad you enjoyed A Thousand Splendid Suns. I am really looking forward to reading that one too. Most of the authors you list are ones I really like as well.🙂

  19. I really like Sue Grafton and I’ve read most of her work. I can only read certain books by Stephen King because he writes so well that I can see everything he describes. Any of his horror stories are prohibited because I’ll be having nightmares for months.

Leave a Reply

