Ho Ho HO

I swore I’d never be one of those bloggers who apologizes for their laziness and lack of blog posts- I’m not delusional enough (yet) to believe anybody truly cares that a week has gone by since my last post- but rather than apologize I’ll attempt to explain.  

Coupled with the usual holiday crazies and being a HO I’ve felt much more foggy than bloggy lately.  The time I normally spend reading or blogging (late night and early morning) I’ve spent sleeping, planning, worrying, or eating (oink).  We’re dealing with some big issues at my house and I’ve been turning to food as a crutch and a comfort from the stress, which doesn’t really matter if I stay in my bathrobe for the rest of my life but is a bit of a problem if I want to fit into my actual clothes.  I was talking to a friend about this last night at a neighborhood party- maybe friend is too strong a word- anyway, as she nibbled on a baby carrot she said, “When life gets difficult, I turn to exercise.  I always feel better after a run.”  I wanted to slap her, but instead I smiled, nodded, and excused myself to make a second trip to the chocolate fountain. 

Opening gifts OMG!  THAT"S SO CUTE!

Opening gifts OMG! THAT"S SO CUTE!

The last week has been a whirlwind of doctor appointments (4) and party preparations.  My youngest turned 10 Saturday and we had a slumber party with 7 giggly wiggly girls.  They screamed, played games, laughed, screamed, sang karaoke, went on a scavenger hunt, screamed, and ate tons of junk food.  Why do 10 year olds respond to everything with a scream?  It started the minute the girls began to arrive.  “I GOT A GUINEA PIG FOR MY BIRTHDAY.”  “NO WAY!!!”  “OMG THAT IS SUCH A CUTE SKIRT!”  “I LOVE YOUR MONKEY SLIPPERS!!!!”  “WHO WANTS TO PLAY A GAME?”  ME ME ME!!  SCREAM SCREAM SCREAM  The one thing I forgot to buy for the party was a set of earplugs for my husband and me! 

img_1626The picture is from a game my daughter invented-Pin the Lips on the Jonas Bros.  This game elicited more screams and peals of laughter than anything else they did all night.  I have to agree that the Joe Bros are pretty cute, even if Joe’s eyebrows look like they were drawn on with a black Sharpie.  The gaggle of girlies finally collapsed into sleep around 2 am.  

The next morning we took my daughter and two friends out for a round of golf.  It was a Southern California postcard kind of day- imagine palm trees against a brilliant sun, blue skies, puffy white clouds- we were very lucky as it was the only sunny day in an otherwise cold and rainy week. 

As for this week’s reading- I finished Chez Moi by Agnes Desarthe (review tomorrow) and was able to read about half of Swim to Me by Betsy Carter.  Next up- The Day I Ate Whatever I Wanted and Other Small Acts of Liberation by Elizabeth Berg.  It just seems appropriate. 

What are you reading this week?

16 Responses

  1. I hope your life gets back on track. Sorry to hear you’re having to deal with issues.

  2. Thanks, Kathy. We all have our ‘stuff’, don’t we?

  3. I hope you have a Happy Christmas Week! I have Berg on my authors-to-read-someday list. I might have to check this one out! (I’m contemplating giving up on Edgar Sawtelle…)

  4. I hope things settle down for you soon and between you and I, I would have slapped that neighbor/friend/non-friend. Exercise in a time of crisis. Hello???

  5. I hope you have a great holiday..and we all get distracted so no worries.

  6. Care, maybe you should send Edgar to Lisa…and she could use it to bop the neighbor on the head. It’s so thick it would deliver a nice wallop.

    Lisa, good luck with the issues. And happy holidays!

  7. Lisa,

    I was thinking about you this morning and wondering how you were. You need to let me know how lil’ one is doing!

    So… you’ve been exercising like a fool, so I am sure that you still look great. Whereas my stomach still increases minute by minute!

    The Jonas Bros… ugh… I can’t take anymore of them!

    I vote you go get a mani/pedi… that always makes me feel better. Besides, it’s better than working out.

    Call me!

    Hugs,
    Sheri

  8. I just finished the endearing Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. FANTASTIC! I will be working on my review this week. Now I need to pic a new book from my TBR Shelf. Hmmmm….

    MERRY CHRISTMAS LISA!!!!!!
    XOXO-K

  9. Reading, what’s that? I’m playing World of Warcraft for hours and hours and destroying my eyesight even more.

    Jonas Bros., ick! And snotty wabbit women, the worst! It sounds like you deserve a break today.

    Hope all is well with the Dr. stuff. I’ve been thinking about you.

  10. Got Breathing the Ghost Out in the post today, so I guess that is my read for this week.

    Otherwise just books on writing. One called the The Art of Column Writing that is quite good.

    Hope things are getting better and less hectic.

  11. My book this week is “Me Talk Pretty One Day” which I’m hoping to finish soon so I can start on “Gods Behaving Badly”

    Hope things get better for you soon!

  12. Hoping things calm down soon. I am….anticipating, Cannot say eagerly, those 10 year old girl days. Oh my.

  13. Sorry, that didn’t come out right! I am nervous about the approach of teenagerdom and all the nerve-wracking things that it brings. Is that better?

  14. Girlie slumber parties are always a great idea right up until they start showing up! LOL Then the loudness, the squeals, the running, the DRAMA begins. But I still will have more as my girl gets older. Ear plugs are a great idea!

    As for the lady who exercises when she’s stressed???? With all my stress lately, I’ll just sit on her for you. And she won’t bother you any more!😉

  15. Hope things get better for you soon. (((hugs)))

    I’m finishing up “The Pilot’s Wife” by Anita Shreve this week and continuing to read “Beyond Time Out: From Chaos to Calm.”

  16. Lisa, have a wonderful holiday. Sorry about the “issues”. Whatever they are, that sucks, and tell that awful woman who drowns her sorrows in exercize to run to Antarctica.

Leave a Reply

