The Sunday Salon

We’ve made it to the last Sunday of 2008! I hope you are enjoying a relaxing holiday season with your families.

Sk8tr Grlz

Sk8tr Grlz

The last week has been a blur for us. Christmas was a wild rumpus of paper and squeals. Suffice it to say that the girls were very happy with their gifts! We’ve been eating too much and lazing around being slothful, then laughing at ourselves and vowing to do better as we discover our BMIs on the Wii Fit.

My kids got Wave Skateboards this year from their grandparents. They are different from regular skateboards in that they have 2 wheels rather than 4, and the board itself isn’t stationery- the two sides move independently of each other, so riding it requires a different motion than a normal skateboard. Watching my kids learn how to use them has been hysterical, but they’re already getting the hang of it.

Our family went to see Wicked at the Pantages Theater in LA the day after Christmas and it was spectacular! This was the “big” gift this year and the kids were so surprised. They were enthralled by the amazing singing, costumes, and sets, and by the splendor of the old art deco theater. We’ve been listening to the Wicked cd for a year so they knew all the songs. I even caught myself singing “I know about Pop uU lar” last night.

No one thought to get me a book for Christmas this year, which I found kind of shocking. Maybe they noticed the giant stack of unread books on the mantel, or the teetering pile on my nightstand. Ah, well.. I did receive two Borders giftcards though, and have already used them up!

A lot of us book bloggers are giving some thought to our favorite books of the year. I’m still working on that list, but I do have another list of books I’m most excited about reading in the coming year. Some are new and some have been out for quite a while, but here they are:

The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry

The Red Tent by Anita Diamant

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz

Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay

The Boy on the Bus by Deborah Schupack

The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennet

Honolulu by Alan Brennert (March 2009)

Shanghai Girls by Lisa See (May 2009)

What do you most look forward to reading in the coming year? Is there anything I MUST add to my list?

I hope you’ve all had a wonderfully blessed year and are looking forward to bigger and better things in 2009. We are living in exciting times here in America and I can’t wait to see what the future holds. My wish for the world is peace and love, and lots of books- with plenty of time to read them!

18 Responses

  1. “No one thought to get me a book for Christmas this year, which I found kind of shocking.”

    Me neither – But I did get some cash, so I used it to replinish my dwindling supply of new reading material (Diesel-eBooks loves me).

    Cheers,
    Trevas

  2. Newbie to Sunday Salon. My husband fortunately bought me a lot of books for christmas despite the teetering tbr pile. I will be reading “the Uncommon Reader” and Wicked on my current list to read for winter reading challenge.

    Happy new year!

  3. Funny. I am so happy I got books this year. I don’t usually.

  4. I got to see Wicked at the Pantages a couple of years ago and loved it. It’s an awesome show, isn’t it? πŸ™‚

    It looks like you have some wonderful reading ahead of you this next year, Lisa. Many of the titles on your list are books I would like to read this next year as well.

  5. We aren’t book buyers in our house, so I would have been surprised if my husband did buy me oneπŸ™‚.

    I’ve read “An Uncommon Reader” and “Animal Vegetable Miracle”. The first book was good all the way through, but I ended up picking through the second one.

  6. SOOOO many great books on your list that I absolutely loved. Animal, Vegetable, Miracle and The Gargoyle will most certainly make it to my top 10 of 2009, and The Red Tent is still one of my all-time faves. Here’s wishing you awesome reading in 2009!

  7. You haven’t read The Red Tent? I’ve read it twice and it is still one of my all time favorite books! Thanks for the heads up on the Brennert novel – I read Moloka’i awhile back and really enjoyed it.

  8. I read The Red Tent a few years back and LOVED it! I think you will enjoy it as well. Take care girlie and maybe I’ll see ya around OC this year.

  9. Gods Behaving Badly and Losing Kei…. read both!

  10. I think the family gets a bit worried about what book to buy – they have had the experience of giving me a pile of books and I have read them all!
    All the best for 2009

  11. I’m glad you got to see Wicked before it closes. I was lucky enough to see it twice and I loved it. I just got the soundtrack so I will be cranking that up in the car.

    I hope that 2009 brings you all you want and then some.

  12. Oh wow……Wicked? Wow…..big wow!
    My girls are dying to see it…..we hope to get tickets for Indy’s showing!

    What a blessing!

  13. I’m jealous you went to see Wicked! That’s been on my wish list for a long time, and I don’t know if Dave and I will go see it in 2009…paying off bills is taking priority.😦

    I have a ton of books on my must read for next year, but some of them are The Time Traveler’s Wife, The Little Book, and The Hakawati. Oh, and catching up on all those reviews I promised to authors/publishers! EEK!

  14. Shanghai Girls looks good! Thanks for mentioning that one. You have lots of good things on your list.

  15. The Red Tent is wonderful, but Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, was a little dryer than I thought it would be.

  16. Wondering how The Gargoyle is going!
    Have been looking at this book for a while now, in the store.
    — Cip

  17. I’m glad you had a good Christmas. I got a B & N gift card since no one knew what book to buy me.

  18. Maybe you can join MY reading challenge: Just for the Love of It. At least go and peek:

    http://anovelmenagerie.com/ghost/2008/12/30/justfortheloveofit2009/

    Sher

Leave a Reply

