Tuesday Teasers

 
tuesday-tMiz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to:

Grab your current read.  Let the book fall open to a random page.  Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.

You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
26318352My teaser comes from The Day I Ate Whatever I Wanted And Other Small Acts of Liberation, a book of 13 stories by Elizabeth Berg.  I know the rules say to share 2 sentences, but I’m going to share 4.  This comes from page 10 and is from the first story, The Day I Ate Whatever I Wanted.

“In the afternoon I rented two moves, Big Night and Tortilla Soup.  Which made me starving again even though I wasn’t.  How many people went running out for Italian food after Big Night?  Hands?”

This makes me laugh because Big Night really DID make me hungry!  I never saw Tortilla Soup but now I’ll have to rent it.

What are you reading this week?

8 Responses

  1. I had this book checked out from the library and I remember liking it. I read the first story and was looking forward to reading the whole thing, but I got caught up reading other stuff and I had to take it back. This reminds me that I need to check it out again.

  2. I’ve heard Tortilla Soup is a good. I know the soup (not the movie!) is yummy.

  3. i just finished ‘scarpetta’…i got hooked on the series when i was in high school, what can i say? 🙂 i’m also re-reading midnight in the garden of good and evil. i try not to read it too often because every time i do i am forced to travel to savannah–not that that’s a bad thing! it’s a great city and i love it there.

  4. This books sounds like it would make me hungry! I haven’t seen either of the movies in the quote.

  5. […] 30 December, 2008 by Patti From Books on the Brain, Tuesday […]

  6. I’m reading THE LITTLE GIANT OF ABERDEEN COUNTY and am loving it.
    I’ve never heard of the book you are reading or those two movies that are referenced. I’ll have to investigate!

  7. Can’t wait to hear what you think of The Gargoyle.

  8. Tortilla Soup is a wonderful movie. Another one that made me run out for food was Like Water for Chocolate.

    I like Elizabeth Berg’s writing – I might have to put my hands on this.

Leave a Reply

