Tuesday Teasers 1-6-09

tuesday-tMiz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to:

Grab your current read.  Let the book fall open to a random page.  Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.

You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
imagedbcgiMy teaser comes from The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, my book club’s selection for our February meeting.  It’s interesting how often these ‘teasers’ pertain to something happening in my own life- my oldest will go to sixth grade camp in the spring.

“When she told me I could go on my sixth-grade sleepaway at Bear Mountain and I bought a backpack with my own paper-route money and wrote Bobby Santos notes because he was promising to break into my cabin and kiss me in front of everyone I believed her, and when on the morning of the trip she announced that I wasn’t going and I said, But you promised, and she said, Muchacha del diablo, I promised you nothing, I didn’t throw my backpack at her or pull out my eyes, and when it was Laura Saenz who ended up kissing Bobby Santos, not me, I didn’t say anything, either.  I just lay in my room with stupid Bear-Bear and sang under my breath, imagining where I would run away to when I grew up.”

Yes, that is only 2 sentences!!

What are you reading this week?

10 Responses

  1. Holy Run-on, Batman!

  2. So glad you are reading Oscar Wao — really interesting, isn’t it!? I was surprised it won the Pulitzer only because of all of the very specific, contemporary references (like D & D) — but otherwise it seemed worthy… Haven’t been able to discuss it with anyone yet, can you tell? 😉

  3. I can never read that novel, and I don’t care how fantastic people say it is! Grammar like that just makes me want to bitch-slap someone (preferably the author).

  4. I will be very interested to read what your book club thinks about Oscar Wao. My book club read it last year and it was a very interesting discussion. Some people loved it and some people absolutely hated it. Two people were even yelling at each other at one point…

  5. Chris- you’re not kidding!!

    Kristen, I haven’t started it yet. Will start it in a day or two after I finish Twilight.

    Char- I don’t know if the whole book is written in that style but if so, I can safely say it will drive me bonkers.

    Adventuresandmusings- Oh, great!! Just what I need, more book club drama! Our last meeting (for Never Let Me Go) got heated and I was totally uncomfortable- and I didn’t blog about it here because I was afraid some of the members would read it and it would all start back up again!

  6. I gave you a Kreativ Blogger Award today. It’s on my main page.

  7. That is such a sad quote! I’ve seen this on a lot of people’s favorites list, but I don’t know a whole lot about it. I will have to read more about it before I decide to read the whole book.

  8. Oscar Wao gets better and better the more you are into it. The last third will FLY! the first third – well, just ignore any cultural/language refs that you may not know and stick with it. Knowing that I didn’t have to know everything was why I didn’t give up on it. It’s really a cool story, I think, and that includes HOW it was told.

  9. I really enjoy your blog!

    I thought you might be interested in reviewing two of my recent book, REGINA’S CLOSET: FINDING MY GRANDMOTHER’S SECRET JOURNAL

    AND

    DEAR ANAIS: MY LIFE IN POEMS FOR YOU!

    Happy Reading!
    Diana Raab
    http://www.dianaraab.com

  10. What a teaser! Want to post a few more sentences so I can keep reading until I go pick up the book myself? Just kidding!

Leave a Reply

