Mailbox Monday

Mailbox Mondays are hosted by Marcia of The Printed Page.   Check out her blog to see what other bloggers found in their mailbox last week.

I got a few books this week.  Here they are:

41-1yfbjmdl_sl500_aa240_Breathing Out the Ghost by Kirk Curnutt, from the author himself.  I am totally excited to read this one, after reading a few phenomenal reviews and super interesting guest posts and interviews from his TLC book tour.  Serena from Savvy Verse and Wit asked him a great question- 5. If you were to create a playlist for your novel, what are the top five songs on that list?  Read his answers and you’ll see that he is one cool dude!

51be1lrnnnl_sl500_aa240_

 

The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister, from Penguin Group. From the back cover- “The School of Essential Ingredients follows the lives of eight people from different walks of life who gather every Monday night for a cooking class taught by Lillian, a famous chef whose alchemy in the kitchen has made her a local sensation.”  I do love me a good foodie book!!

Honeymoon in Tehran by Azadeh Moaveni, from Random House.  Looks to be about an American reporter in Iran during a time of great political upheaval, who falls in love, marries, and has a baby, and is then forced to leave under political pressure.  Very interesting…

A Child’s Journey Out of Autism by Leeann Whiffen, from Sourcebooks, Inc.  I passed this one on to a book club friend to read and review.

Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosney and The Invisible Wall by Harry Bernstein, from amazon.com.  I need these for book club this spring.

What did you find in your mailbox this week (aside from bills and junk mail!)?

13 Responses

  1. I think you’re going like Sarah’s Key. I have School of Essential Ingredients in my TBR pile too!

  2. The School of Essential Ingredients was so good. I just finished it this past week and really enjoyed it.

  3. Honeymoon in Tehran sounds so good! I have Sarah’s Key in my TBR pile for later this year.

  4. You had a good week. I can’t wait to read The School of Essential Ingredients.

  5. The School of Essential Ingredients was amazing – I absolutely loved it!

  6. I really want to get The School of Essential Ingredients – it sounds so interesting!

  7. Oh – I’ve heard wonderful things about Sarah’s Key – I need to start reading it soon!

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  8. I have Sarah’s Key in my TBR pile. I can’t wait to read it. Hope you like Breathing Out the Ghost!

  9. Thanks for the compliment on the interview questions.

  10. The School of Essential Ingredients sounds delectable. Foodie books are my weakness.

  11. I definitely want to read Breathing Out the Ghost!! That is on my Wish List along with Sarah’s Key.

    I only got one book in the mail so far this week and its an advanced copy of a southern fiction debut novel called Bound South. I’ll be reading it after The 13th Tale. The reason I’m enjoying that book so much is the awesome storytelling. I read many books, but this is a ‘story’ that is completely engrossing. And it s kind of Jane Eyre-esque. LOVE IT!!!

  12. Welcome and thank you for stopping by the ‘mailbox’ this week. I just finished reading ‘Honeymoon in Tehran’ and it was very interesting. I’m looking forward to reading her first memoir, ‘Lipstick Jihad’. ‘Sarah’s Key’ will be featured at Noontime Book Chat the week of 2/9.

  13. I recently read Breathing Out the Ghost (my review goes up Monday as part of the TLC book tour). I got The School of Essential Ingredients which looks like a fun read! You did well this week🙂

Leave a Reply

