Book Giveaway from Penguin: The Rose of Sebastopol by Katharine McMahon

roseofsebastopol_finalMatt from Penguin Group USA is graciously offering this beautiful book, The Rose of Sebastopol by Katharine McMahon, to be given away in my big fat 100K Celebration!  Isn’t that a romantical cover?  I don’t know about you but I am not above choosing a book based on the cover alone.  Come on, you know you do it too.  Leave a comment by Saturday, February 21st,  for a chance to win this lovely book (US and Canada residents only).  It’s coming out in hardcover March 5th but is available for pre-orders now.

Here is the product description from amazon.com.  The first person who can correctly guess why I got a big chuckle out of it gets 5 EXTRA CHANCES TO WIN.

The #1 UK bestseller comes to America— a sweeping historical novel about love, war, betrayal, and discovery.

In 1854, beautiful, adventurous Rosa Barr travels to the Crimean battlefield with Florence Nightingale’s nursing corps. A headstrong idealist, longing to break out of the rigid confines of life as a young lady, Rosa is determined to make a difference in the world.

For Mariella Lingwood, Rosa’s cousin, the war is contained within the pages of her scrapbook, in her London sewing circle, and in the letters she receives from her fiancé, Henry—a celebrated surgeon who has also volunteered to work within the shadow of the guns. When Henry falls ill and is sent to recuperate in Italy, Mariella impulsively decides she must go to him. But upon her arrival at his lodgings, she makes a heartbreaking discovery: Rosa has disappeared without a trace. Following the trail of her elusive cousin, Mariella’s epic journey takes her from the domestic restraint of Victorian London to the ravaged landscape of the Crimea and the tragic city of Sebastopol, where she encounters Rosa’s dashing stepbrother, a reckless cavalry officer whose complex past —and future—is inextricably bound up with her own. As Mariella’s quest leads her deeper into the dark heart of the conflict, her ordered world begins to crumble and she finds she has much to learn about secrecy, faithfulness, and love. 

WHAT MADE ME LAUGH?  IS IT TOO OBVIOUS?  DON’T FORGET:  THE FIRST PERSON TO GUESS CORRECTLY GETS 5 EXTRA CHANCES TO WIN!

63 Responses

  1. Please sign me up. Did you think of Roseann Barr? That would make me laugh.

  2. Overuse of adjectives?

    It’s gotta be literate housewife’s guess. Even if it isn’t she deserves extra points for that guess!

  3. I’d like to be entered.

  4. “Nursing corps” Ha Ha!
    Made me grin anyway🙂

  5. To be more specific – Forence Nightengale’s nursing corps at that!

  6. Sounds great, sign me up!

  7. Not sure what made you giggle, but I would love to be entered to win. This book has been on my TBR list ever since I read a blurb in a publisher’s catalog a few months ago.

  8. YES it’s Roseanne Barr!! Jen gets 5 more chances! Although Softdrink’s answer made me laugh too!! LOL

    Is it me or does “I’d like to be entered” sound a little dirty? I always think that when I read comments on contest posts. What does that say about me and my mind??

    Tricia and Meg, thanks for stopping by and entering the contest!

  9. never thought about how “I’d like to be entered” sounded before – made me lol!

    But please enter me anyway!

    kherbrand(at)comcast(dot)net

  10. i was going to say “i’d like to be entered”..but will refrain from doing so;) but i’d still love to win this book! it sounds pretty interesting and i love the cover.. this is becoming one HUGE giveaway! you must be super excited!!:)

  11. My mind is in the same place! I have avoided saying that for a while because the same thing crossed my mind! I’m glad I’m not the only one. I’ll give you a G rated response instead:
    I would love a chance to win!

  12. Oh, good! I’m not the only one with a dirty mind!! Thanks Ramya and Shelley for making me feel better!

  13. I would love a chance to be entered (in a totally non dirty way and in the book getting way😛 ).

    Valorie
    morbidromantic@gmail.com

  14. I missed the funny, but I’d still love to win!

    nnjmom at yahoo dot com

  15. I’d like a chance! Does that sound dirty?

  16. Please count me in!

  17. The funny to me is that when I saw Rosa Barr I thought of Rosanne Barr and moaned🙂 enter me anyway!

  18. I put this book on my Wish List when I first heard about it several weeks ago. I’d love a chance to win it. Thanks.

  19. The amazon description is certainly overwrought– love the ‘Rosa Barr’ character name. What were they thinking?! I’m hoping the book rises above the giggle inducing name. It sounds like a fun read. I’m in!

  20. I’d read this one just for the cover too. It just grab me at first glance.

  21. We have the same dirty mind. I avoid writing “I’d like to be entered” as much as possible. Or “Please enter me.”

    Anyway, I’d like a chance at winning. Thanks😉

  22. Oops! C is me!

  23. Whoo hoo! I was hoping I was right! I think the comment “I would like to be entered” is quite appropriate for Valentine’s Day, isn’t it? LOL!!!

  24. This one looks interesting. I’d like to win it!

  25. Thanks for all the entries!!

    Charlene, yup you’re right! Jen beat you to it, though!

    Underthecovers, I know, I was wondering the same thing.

    Melanie, isn’t it so pretty? I love the cover.

    Chris- tsk tsk LOL

    Lit Housewife – don’t you mean you’d like to be entered 5 times? LOL

  26. I’ve posted this on Win A Book.

  27. Me, too! Enter little me, please. I’m not going to say the rude thing, like LH, but it made me snort.

  28. nice giveaway thanks

  29. Enter me please. Sounds interesting.

  30. I’d love to win this! It sounds so great.

  31. Enter me please. This one looks really good, and I absolutely love that cover.

  32. The cover really does grab you in. Count me in for this one!

  33. Looks like a good one -please count me in!
    Thanks,
    megalon22(at)yahoo(dot)com

  34. 5 times is a must, especially on V-Day! LOL!

  35. thanks for the giveaway-I’d love to win

  36. I would love to win this one. I am a nursing student and I would love to read something historical about Florence Nightingale.
    Even if I don’t win I am going to buy this one. It sounds like a good read. Thanks for letting me enter.

  37. I used to put “Please enter me” on my entries but it sounded dirty to me too! Now I try to put Please enter me into your giveaway. Much more explanatory. LOL

    Thanks so much!

    PS The book sounds like a great read!

  38. That IS a beautiful cover. I would like to enter the contest.

  39. It would be a very nice read. Please enter me. Thanks for having this giveaway.

    ayancey(at)dishmail(dot)net

  40. I thought is was just me with a dirty mind. I always cringe when I or someone else says, enter me. LOL!

    Please sign me up. (How is that)?

    I blogged about your giveaway here:

    http://teddyrose.blogspot.com/2009/02/this-weeks-giveaways-galore_14.html

  41. I would love to read this. (although now i dont know if i can without thinking about Roseanne Barr) hehe

    thanks so much.

  42. Looks good. Thanks for the chance.

  43. Great giveaways! Please add my name for this book!

  44. Please throw my name in the hat!

  45. I’d love a chance to win this book! (I tried desperately o keep this G-rated! LOL)

  46. The book sounds great. Thank you.

  47. Please throw my name in the hat for this giveaway. Thanks!!

  48. This sounds intriguing, sign me up, thanks!

  49. Please enter me. Thank you! Sararush (at) hotmail (dot) com.

  50. I love reading historical novels and this looks very interesting.

  51. I’d love to be entered! Thanks! diaryofaneccentric at hotmail dot com

  52. Enter me, please!

  53. Oooooh, I’d love to enter! Thanks for a great giveaway.
    bj19662001 (at) yahoo (dot) ca

  54. Okay I see someone else guessed correctly, I was going to say the scrapbook in her sewing circle!
    Thanks and I’ll refrain from asking to be entered! ; 0
    Darby
    darbyscloset at yahoo dot com

  55. Yet I’d still like to win a copy of this book!!
    Thanks so much,
    Darby
    darbyscloset at yahoo dot com

  56. I know you’re not supposed to but I choose a lot of books based on the covers all the time lol.

    Huh, I didn’t catch the Rosanne Barr thing at first and had to go back for a re-read. Loved that woman growing up! She reminds me of almost all the women in my family rolled into one.

  57. Oh I’ve been wanting to read this one. Thanks for the giveaway! And I think the cover is gorgeous as well. Rosanne Barr…haaha. I had to read the comments to figure it out. Too funny.

  58. You’re totally not alone in choosing a book based on cover alone. I do it all the time.🙂

    This book looks/sounds great! Thanks for the chance.

    Megan — writing.meg [at] gmail.com

  59. Please enter me into the contest.

    I don’t know about you, but this line made me chuckle, “volunteered to work within the shadow of the guns.”

  60. What a great novel. Thanks for this chance. Looks fascinating.

  61. WOW the book looks good. I would love to win.

  62. Ooh, absolutely gorgeous cover and it’s set in Victorian times! (I seriously think I was born about a century and a half too late.)

  63. this books looks great! I’d love to win😉

    tbbycatt (@) gmail (dot) com

    Marta’s Meanderings

Leave a Reply

