One Last 100K Celebration Giveaway: Things I Want My Daughters To Know by Elizabeth Noble

9780061122194Happy Valentine’s Day!  I hope you are canoodling with your honey and staying warm!

For this final 100K Celebration Giveaway, Danny from HarperCollins looked over my blog and thought my readers would be interested in the book Things I Want My Daughters To Know by bestselling author Elizabeth Noble!  It seems appropriate since I talk about my preteen girls so much.  

There will be a Book Club Girl On Air show occurring online on Tuesday, February 17th, at 7 pm with Elizabeth Noble on www.authorsonair.com.  It’s an interview with the author where book club members can call in or write in with questions about the book.  Pretty cool!

6a00d8341c9ac653ef010536f1eeee970b-120wiHere’s a little information about the book:

How do you cope in a world without your mother?

When Barbara realizes time is running out, she writes letters to her four daughters, aware that they’ll be facing the trials and triumphs of life without her at their side. But how can she leave them when they still have so much growing up to do?

Take Lisa, in her midthirties but incapable of making a commitment; or Jennifer, trapped in a stale marriage and buttoned up so tight she could burst. Twentysomething Amanda, the traveler, has always distanced herself from the rest of the family; and then there’s Hannah, a teenage girl on the verge of womanhood about to be parted from the mother she adores. 

But by drawing on the wisdom in Barbara’s letters, the girls might just find a way to cope with their loss. And in coming to terms with their bereavement, can they also set themselves free to enjoy their lives with all the passion and love each deserves?

This heartfelt novel by bestselling author Elizabeth Noble celebrates family, friends . . . and the glorious, endless possibilities of life.

My Daughters, My Loves

My Daughters, My Loves

Sound good?  For a chance to win a copy of Things I Want My Daughters to Know, leave a comment by Saturday, February 21st, telling me something that YOU’D like your daughter (or future daughter, or niece, or random young girl) to know.

As for me, there are a million things I want my girls to know, not the least of which is how to behave themselves!  But also how much I love them and how much being their mom has changed me forever.  Happy Valentines Day to you and yours!

44 Responses

  1. Another great giveaway. I’d like my niece to know that she doesn’t need a man in her life to be strong.

  2. Oh, I’d love to win a copy of this book. I don’t have a daughter…but I would want my nieces to know this: Seek your dreams, be as strong as you can be, be educated so you can take care of yourself…and when life goes wrong (which it does from time to time) know you can make it through and be stronger than you ever dreamed.

  3. I only have sons. I’d tell my future DIL’s… “Don’t be afraid to be strong.”

  4. I would want them to know to be prepared to go through life taking care of yourself, without depending on anyone else. If someone else is there, it’s a bonus. If not, you survive with flying colors!

  5. I would like my daughter to know that I lover her just the way she is. Period. She’s too young for body image issues, relationships, etc. Letting her know she is wonderful–as is–today and every day is my goal.

  6. I don’t have any kids yet, but I would want my daughters to know that life is so much more than looks.

  7. Sounds like an awesome book! I’d love my future daughter to know that she’ll need to learn to be independent and to be strong as well as have faith.

  8. Hmm…. There are so many things I would want my girls to know, although I worry that they might never be able to comprehend them. I’m still going to try. Mostly I want them to know that although they don’t fit the typical mold, what is most important for them is to find their happiness, whatever it may be. If they never get married or have jobs or kids or whatever, as long as they are truly happy, then they have succeeded.

  9. be proud of who you are and let no one change you

  10. If I had a daughter, I’d want her to know:
    -be yourself; you are unique in your own way, so don’t try to be any different.
    -you can always count on me; when no one else will be there for you, I will
    -love yourself, no matter what!

    You have had some great giveaways this week and I’ve enjoyed them all.

    shelcows AT gmail DOT com

  11. I would want my niece to know that she is beautiful and boyfriend or no boyfriend it doesn’t change. Also, be an individual, stand up and be strong.

  12. Oh, I’ve been wanting a copy of this book! The one thing that I want both of my daughters to know is that if I can survive some rough times, well then so can they!

  13. i would want them to know that getting your heart broken is ok. it shows you are capable of strong emotions and it means you will begin to heal and be ready for the next great love.

  14. One thing I want my daughter to know is that if you have confidence in yourself, you can do almost anything and if you have no faith in yourself, you severely limit and hinder yourself.

  15. I would like my daughters to know that whatever they choose to do, as long as they are happy, to do it with passion and conviction and I will always be proud of them.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    kherbrand(at)comcast(dot)net

  16. Golly… I can’t think of any one particular thing I want my 25 year old to know, but I hope she understands that my love is unconditional and that no matter how dark life might seem, she’s so very special and important to so many people.

    Sounds like an excellent book!

  17. Elizabeth Noble is one of my favorite authors. Please enter me in this giveaway.

    Dear Madi (my young friend who I will miss greatly)

    I hope you are always a book worm. I hope that you always remember that a book can take you places. When you are homesick while living in Okinawa, I hope you will know that you can easily visit the U.S. through the words of books. Remember that you are Dorothy and living over here can sometimes be like walking through The Land of Oz. Your little dog is like Toto and he will always sit with you while you read and keep you company in the lonliest moments. Also remember that I love ya and will see you on the flip side.
    XOXO-K

  18. To take the road not taken b/c you only have one life to live ad the things most people regret are the chances not taken.
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Kimspam66(at)yahoo(dot)com

  19. You have adorable daughters! Anyways, I don’t have a daughter (being only in high school [x) but I think I’d know what to tell them since I’m young myself.
    -How much I love her
    -How important it is to not fall into peer pressure
    -Don’t let other intimidate you
    -It’s important to choose the right friends
    -And to of course ALWAYS be herself.

    michelle.kuool(at)yahoo(dot)com

  20. I want her to know that success is often built by small failures, and that stumbling on the path to achievement should never deter you from your goals!

  21. I’ve posted this on Win A Book. I want my daughter to know that she can do anything she puts her mind to!

  22. I want my daughter to know that she should never give up and always follow her dream.

  23. I have two daughters. I’d love for them to know that they do not get their worth from other’s. God has made them in an amazing way and He is always in love with them. No matter what they do.
    I’d also want them to know…..that through Him…they can do anything.

  24. I want my little girl to always believe in magic. I want her to be confident, and to go for what she wants. I want her to know it’s always ok to talk me and daddy, that we will never judge her. Heck, I want her to know a lot of things, but she’s only 3, so she’s got time!
    Thanks for the contest! =)
    lpmccann(at)gmail.com

  25. I hope my life was a good example for you.

  26. I want my daughter to know that she was my miracle baby and that she is such a special person! And if you always try to be the best person you can be, and you work hard you can accomplish anything.

  27. I want my future daughter to know the strength she has inside her. My mother is a very strong woman. Growing up, there were so many times I remember thinking “why didn’t she just give up?” and so many times I thought that about myself. Each and every time, my mother came to me and said “You have a strength inside you that no one can match. Dig deeper.”
    Each and every time….she was right.
    No matter what life throws at us, us woman are stronger than we think we are! We just have to dig deeper!

  28. This sounds like a great book!

    Hmm… I guess I’d want her to know that there’s a bigger world out there, and to not sweat the small stuff. Looks fade, but personality doesn’t.

  29. I want my daughter to know that she can always talk to me about anything and that she is a strong and wonderful young woman who is going to do so much in the world.

  30. I’d like my daughter to know that she can always count on me. Please enter me. Thank you! Sararush (at) hotmail (dot) com.

  31. I’d like my daughters to know that self-respect is more important than what anyone else thinks.

  32. I’d like my future daughters to know that happiness is always key. And don’t be afraid to go through it.

  33. Hey! Please enter me in this giveaway. This sounds like a really good book that could be shared with many members of my extended family. I’d want my future daughter to know that it’s okay to be yourself. If you like and respect yourself, that’s far more important than what other people think. Thanks for doing another great giveaway!

  34. My favorite painting is “Boulevard des Capucines” by Claude Monet. It’s set in Paris in the 1870s and everyone in the picture is in black except one woman, who is wearing a pink dress and huge pink hat.

    I would want my future daughters to know that sometimes the best thing you can do is be the woman in pink, following your own path, even if no one else is following.

  35. I loved reading what the others wrote. The one I thought of that’s different, is that as a woman, I want her to know that every woman out there is doing the best she can with the choices she makes. Whether a working or sahm, breastfeeding/bottle, staying up late, exercising, whatever….that judging them for their choices only hurts her. That we want to care for our friends and other women no matter what their choices are…they deserve to be loved for who they are today, not for who someone thinks they should be.

  36. I’d love my daughter to know my culture (my parents are from India). With each generation, the culture becomes diluted, and since I married a non-Indian, I’m afraid I won’t pass as much of the culture on as I want to!

  37. I want my daughter to know that the greatest support system you’ll ever know is your family — especially your parents (me!). Regardless of who will come in and out of your life as a friend or lover, your family will stay with you, guide you and love you unconditionally. Invest in your relationships with them and you’ll have a lifetime of happiness!🙂

    I’d looove to win this book — I love Elizabeth Noble! I’m actually finishing her novel The Reading Group tonight!

    Thanks so much!

    Megan — writing.meg [at] gmail.com

  38. Wow, these are such great responses!

  39. I would love to read this book. I have a daughter-in-law and grand niece….one grown up and one a toddler. I would want them to always know that their mom, grandma, mother-in-law or whatever the female relation might be, that person was once your age. So you can confide in her and she will listen and she will understand because we were all daughters with a mom at one time. Thanks for the contest.

  40. I don’t have daughters, so I would tell my niece that there will always be challenges in life but to stand tall and know that she will get through them. Always look for the silver lining.

  41. If I had a daughter I’d want her to know that her family would always be there for her.

  42. Thanks for this great giveaway. I would wish my niece the best of luck and happiness in their careers whether it would be a lawyer, doctor or businesswoman. She has the ability and strength to achieve this goal.

  43. I’d like for my daughter to know how much I love her and how much she was wanted. And how what seems to matter so much today will be a faded memory someday in the future.

  44. I’d like my daughter to know that she can be anything she wants, without reservation.

    Thanks for the great giveaway,

    Dottie

Leave a Reply

