Teaser Tuesdays 2-17-09

tuesday-t Miz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to: Grab your current read. Let the book fall open to a random page. Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12. You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

415sr3ffx-l_sl500_aa240_This teaser is from page 107 of Sag Harbor by Colson Whitehead, an ARC I’m reading for Barnes & Noble’s “First Look” book club.

“I wore braces, you see, tiny self-esteem-sucking death’s heads all in a row, turning my smile into a food-flecked grimace. Oh, I kept them pretty clean, but a series of corn-on-the-cob related incidents had planted the seeds of a neurosis, and every so often, if the psychological weather was right, my hand darted to cover my smile from view.”

Did you wear braces? I never wore them myself (I should have, but no money for orthodontia back then!). My daughter wore them for 8 months (phase 1- she will have them again next year), and I witnessed that self conscious ‘hand over the mouth’ smile almost every day!

What are you reading this week?

9 Responses

  1. oh i love this teaser. and i can totally relate, i had braces all through junior high

  2. Very interesting teaser. I have to confess, when I first started reading the sentence I thought of braces on the legs. By the time I got to braces I the teeth my sympathy was gone. But you had me reading all the way. Thanks.

  3. I just received this book from Barnes & Noble’s First Look Book Club. Your teaser sounds great!

  4. I got braces later during junior high than everyone else, so to me, it was more catching up with everyone else and not so traumatizing. I had them on much longer than everyone else, though, which was less fun.

  5. I have never had braces, but both of my kids do. They hate them so much and I think they would both relate to this passage.

    I am reading Summer World by Bernd Heinrich right now, and I am blown away by how involving it is!

  6. Oh yes, I can totally relate. I had them the last two years of high school, and the first year of college. My senior portrait is lacking a smile because I didn’t want the braces to show.

  7. Oh – the flashbacks I am having from this! I wore them for only a year but the water pick was my best friend.

  8. I did wear braces for two years, so can totally relate to this.

    Right now I am finishing up Threshold by Bonnie Kozek. It’s an amazing piece of crime noir fiction, and my first foray into that genre.

  9. Nope, I didn’t wear braces (because I was perfect in every way). My first boyfriend did though, and it was horrible kissing him.

    I’m going to have to read this. I need something that will lift my spirits, since the last few books I’ve read have been uber-sad!

Leave a Reply

