Mailbox Monday – February 23, 2009

 What arrived in YOUR mailbox this week? Visit Marcia at today’s post on The Printed Page to leave a link to your post and see what other readers acquired! Here is what arrived at my house:

51a7mjkefwl_sl500_aa240_Shanghai Girls by Lisa See  

Can you say EXCITED??!!  I was so happy to find this on my doorstep this week from Random House.  I wasn’t expecting it, didn’t request it, and am just oh-so-thrilled to have it!  I even did a little SQUEEEEE on Twitter when the UPS guy dropped it off!  Isn’t the cover fabulous?  Lisa See is one of my favorite authors and I wasn’t sure how I was going to wait until May to read this book.  Now I don’t have to!

 

 

518qzetb0l_sl500_aa240_The Mighty Queens of Freeville by Amy Dickenson

I’ve been seeing this one reviewed on different blogs and thought it would be a book I’d like, since it’s a mother/daughter story, and I always enjoy a good book about this complex relationship between women.  When authorsontheweb.com offered it to me for review, I jumped at the chance!

 

 

 

9780061122194Things I Want My Daughters to Know by Elizabeth Noble

I just gave this one away on the blog but didn’t know Danny at Harper Collins was going to send me one, too!  So I was excited to get it.  The mother writes letters to her four grown (or nearly grown, in the case of the youngest) daughters as she is dying, filling her letters with all the love and wisdom she can while she still has time.  Sounds sad but also satisfying.  I’m looking forward to it.

 

What did you get in your mailbox this week?  Were the book fairies kind to you?

14 Responses

  1. I’d squeal, too, if Shanghai Girls showed up on my doorstep.

  2. I didn’t get anything quite so wonderful in my mailbox. Shanghai Girls looks fabulous. Can’t wait.

  3. Woo-hoo for Shanghai Girls!!! And Random House, too…what a great surprise!

  4. Oh, I will definitely look forward to your review of the See novel!

  5. OMG! I hope that Lisa See book gods eventually shine upon me, too! Congrats! I also have Things I Want My Daughters to Know. It looks good and Elizabeth Noble did a great web interview last week.

  6. Wow how nice to get a surprise book! I’ve only had one surprise book and it came with one I did request.

    My MM is here

  7. You got the Lisa See book?! You are so lucky!🙂

  8. I’ve heard great things about Lisa See but haven’t read her yet. Enjoy your books!

  9. You’re a lucky lady getting your hands on that Lisa See book! Can’t wait to hear about it.

  10. All great things. I hope you enjoy them all. Can’t wait to hear what you think of the new Lisa See.

  11. I am going to pick up several copies of “Mighty Queens” to give as gifts to the women in my life. It’s delightful and speaks to all women.

  12. That’s awesome! Shanghai Girls looks like a great read. Hope you enjoy these.

    –Anna

  13. I still need to read “Snow Flower & the Secret Fan.” This one looks good too. I hope it turns out to be another of your favorites, Lisa!

  14. shanghai girls sounds fantastic…happy reading!

Leave a Reply

