Teaser Tuesdays 2-24-09

tuesday-t Miz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to: Grab your current read. Let the book fall open to a random page. Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12. You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

51a7mjkefwl_sl500_aa240_This teaser is from page 69 of Shanghai Girls by Lisa See (the page number may change in the final printing, of course):

Mama reaches over and pats May lovingly.  “In ancient days,” she begins in a voice that transports me back to my childhood, “two sisters lived on the moon.  They were wonderful girls.”

I’m not reading this book yet, but it’s the closest to the keyboard, so I grabbed it.  What are you reading this week?

18 Responses

  1. This is one book I really want to read. I like books set in Asia. Enjoy reading it.

    Here is my teaser

  2. You got me all excited, I thought maybe we were halfway to a review of Lisa See’s new book, but noooo. =P

  3. that is such a sweet teaser

  4. Ooh..I really want to read this book!

  5. I was hoping that you had started this one also, as I have a copy of this one to read at home myself. I love Lisa See’s writing. My teaser is posted here:
    http://jo-jolovestoread.blogspot.com/2009/02/teaser-tuesday-feb-24.html

  6. I’ve never heard if this one but it has such a pretty cover. I like. Right now I am working on Sleepwalking in Daylight by Elizabeth Flock.

  7. Chocolat by Joanne Harris

  8. Ugh, wish I could read faster! There just are not enough hours in the day.

  9. The Tuesday Teaser worked, this one is on my list now. Looks good!

  10. I’m reading the same book you are right now. Sarah’s Key. I LOVE IT!!!!!!! It is so wonderful, heart wrenching, sad, and has kept me enthralled since starting it Monday morning. I’ll be curious to learn if you are liking it as well. It’s not really a book that I can say I’m enjoying due to the subject matter so far, but the writing is great and the characters are so vivid.

  11. I love the cover on this book! The teaser is great too. Right now I am reading The School of Essential Ingredients.

  12. I just finished ‘The Godmother’ which is okay…. I just started ‘Testimony’ by Anita Shreve. I have high expectations for this book.

    I just received a copy of ‘The Local News’ and will try NOT to read this yet but you know how that goes…

  13. Sorry for all the ‘justs’ in that post! :)… it’s been a long work day….

  14. I like the sound of this book. It puts me in mind of the mother in Amy Tan’s first book. Cover is beautiful. Thanks for a good teaser.

  15. Oh, I so can’t wait to read it, but it’s at the almost-bottom of the pile, ‘cuz I have all kinds of books to read beforehand! Ugh! My teaser is here

  16. Sounds like an interesting book though. I just finished The Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan but I haven’t decided what to pick up next.

  17. ‘Far from the small stone house, in the highlands near the roof of the world, philosopher ferrets had learned the same and called it wisdom: we find our happiness only when we follow what we most love in all the world.”

    From Curious Lives by Richard Bach

Leave a Reply

