The Sunday Salon

cookies_groupHappy Sunday!  I hope everyone had a great week and will have time for reading-n-relaxation today.  I’m not sure if reading is part of the plan for me today but I’m going to try.  My oldest starts confirmation classes at church this morning, which means I’ll drag my lazy butt to church as well.  Then later I have to load up my van with dozens of cases of Girl Scout cookies from a warehouse, bring them home, sort them out by ‘who sold what’, and distribute them to the girls in my troop.  OH, and I have to catch a mouse (or at least figure out how to do that).

Once, years ago, when I lived in a rural area in Michigan, we had a mouse in our house.  I remember my mother putting out traps, then being horrified to hear one go off in the middle of the night, but in the morning-no mouse.  This went on for days until finally we actually caught the helpless creature rotten rodent in the pantry.  I remember my sister and I finding the little thing stuck in the trap the next morning and feeling so sad.  It was also fascinating to look at, in a horrifying way- so much so that we talked our mother into letting us put the mouse in a Mason jar and taking it to school for Show and Tell.  I was maybe 8 years old.

cordless-mouse1But now there is definitely a mouse in my kitchen (hopefully it’s a mouse, and not mice).  I have seen the, ahem, ‘evidence’.  I have heard scampering at night.  And I’m not 8 years old anymore.  I have no loving feelings toward vermin.  If anyone else has ever dealt with this, please tell me what to do- do I buy traps?  Poison?  Get a cat (our dopey golden retriever is no mouser)?  Or call an exterminator?  I’m freaked out by it and want the dirty thing gone NOW.

Ok, on to reading.  This week I finished Sag Harbor for Barnes and Noble’s First Look online book club .  I haven’t written my review yet, but the writing was superb- although nothing much happens.  It will be a tricky review to write.  Sag Harbor’s author, Colson Whitehead, is active on the book club message boards at B&N, and I love having access to the author in that way.  I was able to ask him questions while reading the book, and he answered them immediately- so cool!  

I finished Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay this week too.  I’m still reeling from the story- it was powerful.  My book club will discuss it next Sunday night.  We had hoped to speak with the author by speaker phone, but she lives in Paris and because of the time difference, it isn’t going to work out.  She is, however, going to answer our questions via email, so I’ll post the questions and answers here with my review sometime after the 8th.  She’s also my newest Facebook friend!  

51svuaqeq5l_sl500_aa240_Today I hope to start One True Theory of Love by Laura Fitzgerald, one of my favorite authors.  It looks good and I can’t wait to start it.  My book club spoke to her when we discussed Veil of Roses a couple years back, and she was so warm and funny.  For anyone who enjoyed Veil of Roses, I have exciting news.. Laura is in the process of writing the sequel!  Yes!  We’ll find out what happens to Tami and Ike!  Laura will be guest posting here soon to share what it was like having her own neighborhood book club discuss her new book.  

Well I hope everyone has a great week!  I’m off on a mouse hunt..  all suggestions, advice, sympathy, comments, questions about the cleanliness of my house (it’s clean, I swear!), etc. are welcome and appreciated.

22 Responses

  1. oh my gosh, now I want girl scout cookies!!! love the coconut ones. I actually ordered some a few months ago, they should be here soon.
    good luck catching the mouse!

    I’ll have to check out the B&N board, it sounds cool to be able to chat with the authors that way.
    enjoy your reading :o)

  2. I’ve heard so many good things about Sarah’s Key…I’ll have to request it from the library. Good luck catching that mouse..I can’t say I envy you on that one🙂

  3. Mice are really horrible. We had one in my apartment last year that tunneled into my room through a tiny, tiny little crack. The maintenance guy recommended glue traps, because even though they’re horrible if the mouse gets stuck on, they’re more effective at catching them than the traditional traps. He also recommended the poison that makes them dehydrated so they leave to get water and if they don’t, they won’t stink up the house. Sorry, I know that’s gross, but just offering an example! We had little pellets and just stuck them down any crack we could see.

    Sarah’s Key was definitely powerful. I’ll be looking forward to your Q&A!

  4. I agree with you on Sag Harbor – I kept waiting for something to happen.

  5. How to catch the mouse? Leave some GS cookies out for it, of course. 😉 We’ve already eaten through our allotment here and now I drive around futiley looking for a cookie booth at a local store. Better for my waistline that I can’t find them anyway.

    I have Laura Fitzgerald’s book sitting here too and should pick it up but it’s not on my self-imposed March reading list. Can’t remember what month I relegated it to, but I should probably switch it. LOL!

  6. First… the mouse. You totally know that Kelly wants a cat. I vote for A CAT! However, you do have those other animals… g. pigs. If you get a cat, you’ll have to ensure that these cages are really secure. A good thing about cats… they also chase and eat bugs. My house has never been more “bug free.”

    But, I know you. You won’t get a cat. So, I vote for… make Bob address the problem with a trap or whatever. If he won’t do it… then call a professional and tell him (when he chokes on the bill) that it was all his fault for not taking care of it himself.

    Gosh… I sound harsh this morning!

    What is confirmation? You need to fill me in.

    I’m interested in Fitzgerald. Can I borrow “Veil” ?

    Should we do a post on our blogs to see if any other bloggers want to join us in April?

    Did you set aside the cookies I ordered from you?

    I’ll call you later, during basketball regarding church tonight.

    Hugs.

    Sheri

    P.S. Stoked that you finally read Sarah’s Key! When’s the review?

  7. Thanks for all the comments.

    Bookworm, you must be talking about Samoas, or Caramel Delites (same cookie but they changed the name). Yum.

    Samantha, get it! One of the best books I’ve read in the last few years.

    Meghan, ugh. Thank you. I’m so grossed out but I appreciate you telling me exactly what needs to be done.

    Kathy- ditto. But wasn’t the actual writing good? I loved his turn of phrase.

    Kristen- great idea!! Actually I’m going to have to really be careful that nothing gets into the cookies, ugh. I need to get them out of the house asap. GS Cookies are really good, and fattening. Mice probably like them too. The Fitzgerald book looks like a really fast read- you can probably squeeze it in!!

    Sheri, you’re right, I won’t get a cat. Not a cat lover- at all. Bob’s going to Home Depot later to buy some traps. I read to him what Meghan said (above) and he’s on it. We’ll see. ‘Confirmation’ refers to classes the kids take to prepare to become official members of the church and for the first time they take communion. It’s a 6 wk course. Didn’t you get any info from Curtis in the mail? I’d lend you Veil but I don’t have it anymore- I think I let a neighbor borrow it. She must still have it. It’s so cute, you’d love it- I’ll see if I can get it back for you. Cookies- yes I will have your cookies later today. SK review- will post after book club with the Q & A from Tatiana.

  8. First – how cool about the sequel to Veil of Roses. I enjoyed that book and loved the happy ending.
    About your mice – (sorry, there is never just one!) –
    I had a similar problem once and the best solution we found was baiting the trap with peanut butter. The little guys couldn’t resist it. We discovered they had gotten in through a hole where the drainpipe from my sink meets the wall. That was easily and quickly fixed with spray insulation. We’ve never had a problem since.
    Good luck!
    Michelle

  9. Call an exterminator. It’s the easiest way to deal with them. A good exterminator will be able to tell you if it is truly an infestation or just one mouse. Also, if it is a mouse, you probably have a breach somewhere. Like, how did the guy get in?? You will want to find it so it doesn’t happen again.

    I had a problem with my van once and the Honda guy told me a mouse had eaten through my electrical system. I had to pay a lot to fix it and I was convinced that he made the story up. I mean, how can you tell? Well, 6 months later when we sold that house, I found allllll sorts of evidence in the garage of an infestation. Get it taken care of now by a professional.

  10. I just started Sag Harbor yesterday. So far I really like the writing.

    How horrible about the mouse/mice. We have pack rats running by (the outside of) our kitchen window all the time. It always gets me screaming! But we can’t have outdoor cats in Tucson because the coyotes would eat the cats while they were hunting the rats. It’s the food chain thing. But if you can have an inside cat, that would be my vote. They eat all sorts of creepy crawly things! (or scare them away…)

  11. I’m going with the glue traps to get rid of the mouse too. Oh, and a bucket. It can be flipped into the bucket and drowned by whoever has the stomach for it. I had to call my father in-law over to do that part when the hubby wasn’t home! Good luck!

  12. The only time in my adult life that I had a mouse in the house was when my parents were visiting. Last spring we had a baby possum with us for a couple of days – we’d get him outside and he kept finding a way back in. Our cats are useless when it comes to mice and possums – they are too well fed.

  13. We have mice at work. They like to die under my desk, because I have the conduit thingie with the cables and it’s nice and warm. We find them when they start to stink. Ugh!! Like ordinaryday, I’ve heard PB is great bait…but I’d go with the glue traps if it stops the mice from stinking!

    And I finished Sarah’s Key this week, too…great book!

  14. So many good reads! I really want to read Sarah’s Key. Hearing so many good things about that one.

    You are stronger than I am, having all those cookies around!🙂

  15. A goos book, a cup of tea and Thin Mints…..

  16. I wish I had some girl scout cookies!

    It sounds like you got some good advice and have the mouse thing under control. I was going to suggest traps too because if you poison them (at least the old fashioned poison) they die in the walls and smell bad. I grew up in an old farm house so this is personal experience talking. Thank God we’ve haven’t had a mouse in the house we live in now. I’m much wimpier than when I was a kid.

  17. Poison those suckers, dear Lisa. It will leave a gross mess, but it’ll get them all. I know, because I’ve had a couple of infestations during my so-called adulthood, and other stuff, like traps and glue just didn’t cut it.
    Cats don’t take care of them either, unless said cats are wild and starving .

    My favorite GS cookies are those peanut butter ones. I’ve gained some weight, so I’m staying away from them too!

  18. Oh, and the smell doesn’t last, thank God!

  19. I have One True Theory of Love! I would challenge you to a race but… you’d win. I added Sarah’s Key to my tbr – blaming you.
    Our Lab caught a mouse in the garage and was so proud of herself; I’m sure I traumatized her with my screaming, I was so freaked. I still bad for not praising the poor dog for her efforts. (We moved from that house so I don’t remember what we did. Maybe moving was our solution? it was a long time ago…)

  20. I didn’t even know it was Girl Scout Cookie time again. Someone used always be selling them at the office, but now it seems like everyone does those catalog fundraisers around the holidays for the schools instead.

    Did you figure out how to catch that mouse? I’ll let you borrow my dog, if you’d like. He’d make a good mouser. 🙂

    I’m definitely interested in reading your review of Sag Harbor. I’ve heard mixed reviews about it so far. I am looking forward to reading Sarah’s Key. It sounds like it will be a good one. I look forward to reading your review of that one too, along with the answers the author gives to your group’s questions.

    Have a great week, Lisa!

  21. Yeah, the only thing I can think of is to get a cat especially if you have kids and animals. Good luck!

  22. I enjoyed One True Theory of Love and hope you do too! I reviewed it here: http://www.skrishnasbooks.com/2009/02/one-true-theory-of-love-laura.html

Leave a Reply

