Best Book I’ve Never Read: Booking Through Thursday

The Best Book You’ve Never Read March 5, 2009

Filed under: WordPress — –Deb @ 1:39 am 

btt button

We’ve all seen the lists, we’ve all thought, “I should really read that someday,” but for all of us, there are still books on “The List” that we haven’t actually gotten around to reading. Even though we know they’re fabulous. Even though we know that we’ll like them. Or that we’ll learn from them. Or just that they’re supposed to be worthy. We just … haven’t gotten around to them yet.

What’s the best book that YOU haven’t read yet?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I should probably say something profound, like “War and Peace” or “Brave New World,” but let’s be serious.  I’m not going to read either of those anytime soon, if ever.  

Recent releases that I’ve missed out on are The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, The Book Thief, and Life of Pi.  Of those, I am most interested in The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society.  I hope to influence (pressure, persuade) my book club to vote it in for this summer.  We’ll see.

If everyone’s reading it, I tend to run the other way.  But sometimes I start feeling left out when I’m the only one who hasn’t read something, so I give in (hello, Twilight!)  

So, of my 3 choices, which would you recommend I read first?

23 Responses

  1. I’ve got so many but when I reflect upon the type of writing style that appeals me the most, I narrow it down to a short list.

    At first I couldn’t make of the question because it really depends on what best is. I’m reading a very popular book that I’m probably the last person on earth to read it. Gone with the Wind.🙂

  2. I have both Guernsey and The Book Thief waiting for me, too! I’m going to hit Book Thief first, probably. Although I keep changing my mind!🙂

  3. Book Thief is on my list for this year too-so I’d love to have someone to chat about it with. Loved Guernsey and would recommend:)

  4. I’ve read all of the ones you mentioned, and I have to say that War and Peace is not that great, but maybe that’s just me! It’s hard to say which of the three others I would recommend–they are all so different. I liked The Book Thief the best, but the other two are good also. Really, you can’t go wrong with any of them!

  5. I cheated a little on my choice because I don’t plan on reading it soon. I’d say read the Guernsey book first. I loved Life of Pi, but it’s a more serious read. I haven’t read Book Thief yet, but it’s on my shelf and I plan to read it later this year.

  6. Well, I haven’t read Potato Peel Society yet, so I can’t speak for that one. However, I didn’t make it all the way through Life of Pi… lost interest, even though I have heard great things about it. The Book Thief, on the other hand, was by far the best book I read last year. You must read it!

  7. I’ve only read Life of Pi but I really liked it.

  8. Guernsey, just because I loved it and gave it 5 out of 5. Also, I haven’t read the other two you listed.
    Can’t wait to hear all about your book club meeting this Saturday!!

  9. The Book Thief is amazing. Read that one first!

  10. I have to recommend the Life of Pi, simply because I haven’t read the others yet!

  11. I guess I would throw the towel in for Life of Pi but might be persuaded to read the “Guernsey” book. My list would include anything by Jodi Picoult. Have heard so much good stuff about her writing but she keeps coming out with more books and I can’t decide where to start!

  12. The Book Thief (its the only one I’ve read).

  13. Start w/ The Potato Peel Book. Pi is so yesterday. 😉

  14. Guernsey’s a lovely book but I don’t know that there’s enough in it for a book club discussion. Unless your club is one that talks and drinks more than discuss the book.

  15. I haven’t read none of your three either. I plan on reading The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society as soon as I can though.

  16. I loved The Book Thief. It is a fanastic read. I tried to read Life of Pi and only got 50 pages in. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society — I am hoping my book club will read when it comes out in paperback.

  17. until yesterday, I would have happily suggested Book Thief.. But I started Guernsay yesterday and I am already loving it! But I must warn you that I am partial to novels in epistolary form! I need to pick up Life of Pi again.. I tried reading it in 2005 and abandoned it midway because I wasn’t into it. But I need to give it one more shot!

  18. Well I’m not much help since I own those 3 and need to read them myself. I will be reading The Potato Peel and The Book Thief this year though for the War Challenge. At least I hope so…lol.

  19. i’ve noticed a trend…i gave my father life of pi and he couldn’t get into it–along with many of my other friends.

    maybe it’s that i ‘listened’ to the life of pi as an audiobook during my commute, but i really enjoyed it. i don’t know if i would have liked it as much if i was reading it on paper. the other two books you mentioned are in my TBR pile…i’m chippin’ away at it.

  20. Easy… The Book Thief!

  21. I haven’t read any of those either, Lisa!

  22. My vote is for the Guernsey. 🙂

  23. I haven’t gotten to The Book Thief yet either, but Guernsey on audio is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

