Spinning on my Hamster Wheel

Have you ever had one of those days where you feel like a hamster in a wheel- busybusybusy but not getting a whole lot done?  That has been my day.  I look at my to-do list and realize I can’t completely cross off anything on it.  What the heck have I been doing since I woke up 8 hours ago (in the pitch black darkness at 6:15 am)?

Well, let’s see.  I read a few blog posts, woke up the kids, got them ready for school, made them french toast, pleaded with them to hurry up and eat, said goodbye to the hub and kids and hustled them out the door.  Checked in with my gym partner who is sick and can’t meet me.  That’s fine since I am getting over a cold myself.  

Next I ran the vacuum to suck up all the dog hair from our golden retriever, who is a shedding machine.  Then I folded up the towels in the dryer, moved kids’ clothes from washer to dryer, and started a load of hub’s clothes.  After that I emptied the dishwasher and cleaned up the mess from breakfast. Got sick of doing KP so I left the pots in the sink and took a break.  Scanned my email inbox.  Answered a couple emails that couldn’t wait.  Made my bed (but not the kids’ beds), took a shower- realized I’d left the clean towels downstairs, so dripped out to the hallway to the linen closet for a towel. Dried my hair, got dressed, etc. Sat down to pay bills at the computer but answered a few more emails first, and fixed a page on the TLC website.  I purposely avoided Facebook, Twitter, and my blog stats.  

Feeling pretty good about not getting too sidetracked, I got through the first 5 or 6 bills without breaking a sweat.  Things were going well until I opened up the bill from Southern California Edison and nearly had a heart attack- it was more than triple what it was last month!  And we’ve been actively trying to conserve energy!  Certain there was some mistake, I spent 15 minutes on hold (hanging up clothes from the dryer while I waited), then trudged outside to read my meter for the customer service person.   It was a meter-reader error (whew!), so I went back to finish paying bills but my session had timed out, and I hadn’t submitted all the bills I had paid, so I had to start completely over.  Grrrr.

Before I finished my bill paying the school called.  “Youngest daughter is sick, can you come get her?”  Grabbing my keys, I left and didn’t realize until I got there that once again, I didn’t submit the payments, and my online banking session would time out before I got back, and I’d have to do it all again- right after taking my little girl’s temperature, fixing her some lunch, setting her up on the couch with the remote control and a blankie and a box of Kleenex and a glass of water.  Finally sitting down to the computer, I answered a few more emails and paid the bills a 3rd time (and actually submitted them).  

Which brings us up to now.   Just realized I forgot to start dinner in the crockpot and kicking myself over it.   

Older daughter gets out of school in 15 minutes.  I’ll have to rouse Miss Sickypants and drag her with me while I run her sister to the library for a book she needs for school.  We’ll also stop at the pharmacy for some children’s Motrin, and the post office to mail off Raych’s Bookcharming.com prize that she won from me a couple weeks ago (sowwy). It’s always a joy to have a whiny sick child along on errands!  After that we will be embroiled in homework, and before long I’ll be staring into the frig wondering what the heck to make for dinner.  Then I’ll cook it, serve it, and clean up from it.  And tomorrow I’ll do it all over again.

What didn’t get done:

2 book reviews 

recruiting for the tours I’m coordinating

the dog missed her walk

the kids’ beds are unmade

my laundry (kids’ and hub’s are done but still need to be put away)

pots and pans are still in the sink

 

Hope your day has been more productive than mine!

20 Responses

  1. I feel like I spent most of last *month* running on my hamster wheel, so I can definitely relate! For every thing I crossed off my “to do” list, it seems like I was adding two more (and more difficult to accomplish) things. Hope tomorrow proves to be more productive! 🙂

  2. HAHAHA!! Such an awesome post. Even if you didn’t get anything done today, you made me laugh. So thanks!

  3. Ugh! I hate days like that. You really feel like you put in a ten-hour work day!!! Your post made me laugh and ready for a nap. Hope the little one is feeling better.

  4. We’ve all had days like that and they just stink! I hope tomorrow is better.

  5. I totally get it. I work full-time, and I work on Saturdays so I have one day off each week, usually either Tues or Weds. I always have BIG plans for my day off… I make a huge to do list, and I dream about all the hours I’ll have available for reading and blogging once my chores are done. Inevitably, I always look at the clock around 6 pm and wonder where the heck my day went… it’s so frustrating!

  6. I have days like that all the time. A minor suggestion… I have a golden retriever myself and the only way to manage all of that ridiculous fur is to actually vacuum her. I sit and brush her with a brush in one hand and the carpet attachment in the other. Without getting too close to her, I pretty much suck off all the lose fur, so it doesn’t end up all over the house! It seems ridiculous, but trust me, it takes care of a LOT of fur and my Nessa loves it! That way I only have to vacuum her once every week or two, instead of the house every couple of days

  7. You also wrote a great post Lisa!! You can check that off your To-Do list. Sorry to hear about “Miss Sickypants” and the time-outs on the bank site. Better luck tomorrow Honey!!
    I love “Belle of the Books” routine of vacuuming the dog! Hilarious!

  8. That sounds remarkably like my day was yesterday. Sick kid + paying bills. It’s always the bills that take so long, even though the vast majority are paid automatically.

    Yuck! I hope you took it easy on yourself and got something like McD’s for dinner….

  9. Oh, yes … I have way too many of those types of days … sigh …

  10. You did quite a bit! May not feel that way though.

    I had to leave work to pick up a sick kid at school too!

    Tomorrow is another day.

  11. Just reading everything you did get done exhuasted me. Have a good day today.

  12. I can so relate. Thanks for the laugh!

  13. I have days like this all the time. Good to know I’m not alone. Here’s hoping to some breathing room for you tomorrow.

  14. I’m just dropping by to let you know that I’ve given you an award! http://athomewithbooks.blogspot.com/2009/03/awards-roundup.html

  15. Does your hamster wheel have a spot for me? ‘Cuz that’s how I feel, only I SWEAR I don’t have a hamster wheel… Maybe I’m just running around in circles? =P

    Hope the kidlet is feeling better.

  16. I’m just getting to this today but I have to say for someone who didn’t get anything done, you have me exhausted. GReat post and I sure hope today is much better.

  17. God, just reading this is enervating! I need a drink, preferably a double…

  18. Do I know what you mean? Um yeah. I had to have a cocktail last night. Well 2.

  19. Oh, yes. Some days I feel like I’m doing exactly what I did the day before, and not getting anywhere! The vacuum suggestion sounds great, if your dog isn’t afraid of the vacuum cleaner (my cats hide every time it comes out).

  20. Whew! Its when I read things like this that make me realize that mothers are gods lol. It also makes me so glad that I’m not one! Hope you get some quiet time to yourself soon🙂

Leave a Reply

