A Week of Memes- Catching Up

Mailbox Monday- 

What arrived in YOUR mailbox this week? Visit Marcia at The Printed Page to leave a link to your post and see what other readers acquired! Here is what arrived at my house:

us-cover-compressedIn the last week I’ve received 4 books:  

Sonata for Miriam by Linda Olsson from Penguin

The Mechanics of Falling by Catherine Brady from the author, for a TLC Book Tour stop

Who by Fire by Diana Spechler from the author

The Ten Year Nap by Meg Wolitzer from Penguin

 

 

Teaser Tuesdays~

tuesday-tMiz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to: Grab your current read. Let the book fall open to a random page. Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12. You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

imagedb-2cgiMine comes from page 140 of Hope’s Boy by Andrew Bridge, a memoir about the author’s years in foster care as a child.  

“And that day by the pool with Jason and me, if the camera had turned itself on our foster mother instead of us, the picture would have revealed a frightened girl who had eaten herself into omnipotent obesity.  Her form sloped with fat, as if the hungry belly she felt as a child had refused to be satisfied.”

 

Wordless Wednesday~

photo-45

 

Booking Through Thursday~

btt button

Tami inspired this week’s question:

What book do you think should be made into a movie? And do you have any suggestions for the producers?

Or, What book do you think should NEVER be made into a movie?

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

51be1lrnnnl_sl500_aa240_

I’d love to see The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister on the big screen!   If I had the chance to cast the movie I could see Julia Roberts in the role of Lillian, the restaurant owner, and others I’d love to see in the ensemble cast would include Salma Hayak, Andrew McCarthy, and Betty White.  Hollywood, are you listening?

One book I NEVER want to see in the theater is The Road by Cormac McCarthy!  BLECH!  Bleak, ashen, awful wasteland with no explanation and no dialogue.  NO thanks.

 

Friday Fill-ins~

ffi

And…here we go!    

1. When I look to the left, I see curtains

2. The upstairs bedroom is the room that has the best view in my home.

3. Let it work if it’s not broken.

4. Dirty Deeds done dirt cheap!

5. Voting is a responsibility that all qualified citizens must share.

6. If you have any chocolate or wine feel free to share it with me.

7. And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to PJs and popcorn with youngest daughter’s girl scout troop, tomorrow my plans include cleaning and Witch Mountain with my kids, Sheri and the twins, and Sunday, I want to relax and read!

Have a nice weekend, everybody!

14 Responses

  1. You received some great books. My book club just decided to read THE TEN YEAR NAP for April!

  2. I was very surprised that they made The Road into a movie — how depressing. I don’t think that I could sit through the entire thing.

  3. Very funny about The Road. My husband loved No Country for Old Men – the book and the movie (I wouldn’t go with him to see it!) – and from what he said about them I’m pretty sure I would not have any interest in seeing any other Cormac McCarthy film!

  4. Sonata for Miriam by Linda Olsson from Penguin sounds like a great book.

    I’m also on the tour for The Mechanics of Falling by Catherine Brady.

    Happy reading and have a great weekend!

  5. Julie- that should spark a good discussion! Do you have a mix of stay at home vs. work at home moms in your club?

    Jessica.. did they??? I hadn’t heard.

    Rhapsody.. I saw All the Pretty Horses a while back (8 yrs? 9 yrs? my kids were babies). I remember liking the book much better- so I don’t hate ALL McCarthy books. But like you, I had no interest in seeing or reading No Country for Old Men.

    Hi Serena! Miriam does sound good! Have you started Mechanics yet?

  6. I’m interested in your thoughts on Sonata for Miriam and Who by Fire. They both look really good.

  7. I’m lusting after Sonata For Miriam! I hope you enjoy it!

  8. Wow! That quote really does evoke the scene well. I haven’t read The School of Essential Ingredients but from what I’ve heard I think Julia Roberts would make a great main character.

  9. Thank you for stopping by the mailbox this week. Enjoy those great books!

  10. You got some great books. I would have liked Sonata for Miriam. Can’t wait to see what you think of it.

    I love your Wordless Wednesday-how cool.

    You are so right-School of Essential Ingredients would make a great movie! Julia Roberts is one of my favorites so I’m with you on that.

  11. There’s something to be said about doing a few meme’s at the end of the week, isn’t there? 🙂 I am really looking forward to reading The Mechanics Of Falling for the tour. I hope you will enjoy Who By Fire as much as I did.

    I’ll be curious to know what you think of Hope’s Boy when you finish it. I’ve heard mostly good things about it.

    I haven’t yet read The School of Essential Ingredients, but it does sound like it will be good. I admit I am looking forward to seeing The Road in the theater. Of course, I need to read the book first.

    I hope you are enjoying your weekend, Lisa!

  12. I just finished The School of Essential Ingredients, Lisa, and LOVED it!!!!! Like you, I would love to see it brought to the big screen, and I agree with the casting of Salma Hayak, but I’m not sure I agree with Julia Roberts as Lillian. I see someone a bit more calm and centered. Julia seems a bit too silly and flighty. I’ll let you know when I get my review posted. Thanks again for the hosting the giveaway. I plan to buy several copies to give as gifts through out the year. Definitely a perfect 5/5!

  13. Oh I am so jealous you got Sonata for Miriam! *laughs* It is on my wish list🙂 I am also doing the TLC tour…that book looks so terrific!

  14. I would love to see that on the big screen too but I would be afraid that they would mess it up somehow and make me very sad!

Leave a Reply

