The Sunday Salon

tssbadge3It’s Sunday! Wonderful Sunday! I hope everybody had a good week.

Today my family is preparing to ship our oldest off to 6th grade camp in the mountains for a week. She is super excited. I’ve been giving the Sharpie a workout, writing her name on everything (“Does everything I own have to have my images-12name on it?” “According to your teacher, yes.”) Her biggest concern is that she won’t like the food and that she’ll be hungry, and I worry about that too since she is underweight to begin with and extremely picky. I told her she will just have to eat whatever is offered or go without. I’ve tried to adapt that rule at home but usually I cave in and let her eat something other than what the rest of us are having, just to get some calories in her. Yes, I’ve created a (finicky) monster. Maybe this week at camp will change that.

images3My book club meets today here at my house. I spent a good chunk of yesterday afternoon cleaning, and today I will spend a good chunk of my morning making chicken enchiladas for later. Sheri will be mixing up the margaritas (she claims to be a pro!) and then we’ll sit down to discuss Sarah’s Key. We’re sending the kids (hers and mine) and my husband across the street to another book club member’s house so the guys can watch March Madness while our kids babysit my neighbor’s 4 year old twins.

During my clean up for book club I had to move my pile of books waiting to be read and reviewed. NOT my huge TBR pile of books without deadlines, but the ones that I have committed to reviewing. I did some quick mental calculations (3 times 4, carry the 1… where the hell is my calculator???) and found that I need to read about 4,800 pages before the end of April. That doesn’t include my book for book club, to be discussed on the first Sunday in May, another 300+ pages. So that’s about 128 pages of reading daily. The problem is, I secret-keeperaverage about 50 ppd (pages per day), with occasional gusts of up to 200 ppd. But some days I don’t have time (or I’m too tired) to read at all. I think I need to start saying no to the review books for a while, before I crack under the pressure!

I signed a new client this week- Paul Harris and his book, The Secret Keeper, will be on tour with TLC beginning mid-May. I hadn’t heard about this book before, but it sounds really exciting!

This week I finished Sonata for Miriam by Linda Olsson (still need to write the review) and got about 2/3rds of the way through The Mighty Queens of Freeville by Amy Dickinson. I hope to finish that tonight, unless Sheri is reeeeeeally good at mixing margaritas.

Enjoy your Sunday! What are you reading this week?

19 Responses

  1. camp? mountains? a week?! it’s my nightmare!!! πŸ™‚ hope she has fun…we sound like kindred spirits since i have the palate of a 7-year-old (at age 34).

    i’m off to check out the secret keeper…not like i need anything more to read!!!

  2. Well… I think they’re good. Now… how do I live up to that?

    I hope chick-a-dee eats while away!

    See you soon.

  3. I’ve just recently found your blog and have been enjoying it. I am the leader of a book club at my local library, so I’m always poking around looking for the next great book to take to my group. We have quite an eclectic list of books we’ve read. This month’s is The Whistling Season by Ivan Doig.
    Great blog. Keep up the good work.
    Michelle
    http://oneordinaryday.wordpress.com/

  4. I fun with your book club!

  5. Enchiladas and margaritas? I want to come to your book club.

  6. I am finishing Drood today (finally) and then I need to start The Prudent Mariner and Nineteen Minutes which. The latter being for book group.

    Your margarita/enchilada meeting sounds like fun. Food and drink always makes the discussion more fun, dont’chya think?

  7. I am jealous of your Sunday evening plans. Enjoy the book club conversation and fabulous food.

  8. Sounds like a fun book club. I am in several book clubs but none of them meet at member’s homes. Sometimes I wish they did.πŸ™‚

    I just started “My Life in France” by Julia Child. I’ve been meaning to read it for quite awhile now. And at long last, I’ve gotten around to it.

  9. Have fun with your book club! I’m very jealous of your enchiladas and margaritas… maybe I need to start a book club of my own!πŸ™‚

  10. My picky eater has 3 more years before he has to worry about camp food. He’s been getting a little better about trying things, but I’ve done the same thing as you and created a picky monster!

  11. Your book club sounds fantastic!!

    I know what you mean about the overload of books to read by the end of April!πŸ™‚

  12. Lisa, I just agreed to accept The Secret Keeper…had no idea TLC was touring itπŸ™‚ But I doubt I will get to it by mid-May.

  13. I am a finicky, picky, complaining eater too. When I was growing up, if I didn’t like what was being served for dinner, my mom let me make soup for myself. My favorite food that I can live on for every meal is still cereal and if my personal chef (hubby) is out of town, it’s cereal, soup or PB&J sandwiches for dinner.

    I LOVED sixth grade camp!!! It was crazy fun!

    I have been very bad with my expected reviews lately and will have to really get cracking when we get back and settled in the states.

    I’m reading Little Bee right now and really loving it!

    Have a margaritas for me please! It’s too early to have one here (11:28 am Monday) so I’m counting on you.πŸ™‚

  14. Maybe with one less kiddo around the place, you’ll have a tad more time (and energy) to read. At the very least, if your kids are like mine, you’ll have fewer places to chauffeur them and that could definitely mean more reading time. πŸ™‚

  15. Looks like your day is going to be an absolute blast!! I just finished Sonata for Miriam…loved it!! I will be posting my review later this afternoon.

  16. Can’t wait for your Sonata for Miriam review… just loved Astrid and Veronika.

  17. Margaritas and “The Mighty Queens?” You are going to be laughing out loud!

  18. Boy do I understand where you’re coming from on cracking under the pressure. I was going over my reading list and wowser. I must be crazy for sure. Luckily I read fast but still. I think I need to learn some self control but all the books sound so good all the time that I hate to miss out on them.

  19. My picky 12-year-old boy learned to eat many more things at camp, which I was thrilled about. What I didn’t love was him asking me why I hadn’t made said things for him at home, which of course were things I had been trying to get him to eat for years! Hope she has a ball, and hope you have a lovely night of book discussion and margaritas!

Leave a Reply

