Teaser Tuesdays – 3/24/09

Teaser Tuesdays~

tuesday-tMiz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to: Grab your current read. Let the book fall open to a random page. Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12. You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

full_swirsky_weber_340_4001My Teaser this week doesn’t come from a book, but from a short story on the Science Fiction and Fantasy website called Tor.com.  

I’ve been seeking out short stories in preparation for a book I need to review for a virtual book tour next month.  This story is wild and beautiful and unlike anything else I’ve ever read.  It’s called Eros, Philia, Agape by Rachel Swirsky and you can read it in it’s entirety on the Tor.com site.  The illustration is by Sam Weber.

“Sometimes, her laughter held a bitter undercurrent, and on those occasions, he understood that she was laughing more at herself than at anyone else. Sometimes when that happened, he would go to hold her, seeking to ease her pain, and sometimes she would spontaneously start crying in gulping, gasping sobs. “

Please go read this story, and then come back and tell me what you thought of it!  I need to discuss it with someone because it blew me away.  Rachel Swirsky’s talent is staggering.  Go see.

9 Responses

  1. wow, that is a really beautiful teaser

    My teaser tuesday

  2. Great teaser and a beautiful picture.

    ~ Popin

  3. Love that teaser; makes me want to read the book!

  4. Wow, that does sound good, although I find the illustration super creepy!

  5. the illustration is…wow. i don’t read too much sci-fi or fantasy…but if i have a mo’, i’m going to pop over. maybe tomorrow at work…when i’m supposed to be working.🙂

  6. Do you know what the title translates as? I googled it…it makes me wonder even more about the story. Who had what kind of love?

  7. That is a great teaser, Lisa. I will have to take a look at the short story. The artwork is amazing. Thanks for sharing!

  8. Great teaser and thanks for the link!

  9. I really love that photo. It is really unusual, but beautiful.

Leave a Reply

