Best Bad Book? Booking Through Thursday

 

btt button

Suggested by Janet:

The opposite of last week’s question: “What’s the best ‘worst’ book you’ve ever read — the one you like despite some negative reviews or features?”

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

imagedbTo answer this question, I did a little Google search of the worst books of 2008.  Lots of lists came up but I clicked on the first one I saw, which happened to be Entertainment Weekly’s list, because I remembered they had listed a book I loved as #3.  That is just WRONG.  Here’s what they had to say:

3. THE GARGOYLE, 
Andrew Davidson

Publisher Doubleday clearly had high hopes that this 
howlingly bad medieval thriller would be the next Da Vinci Code. It wasn’t. In fact, it turned out to be one of the biggest flops of the year.

While The Gargoyle wasn’t a perfect book, it was completely enthralling and utterly unique, and one I would have been sorry to miss.  Judging from the comments left on my review, I wasn’t the only one who enjoyed it!

What’s the best ‘worst’ book you’ve ever read?

17 Responses

  1. I’ve neer read this Gargoyle, but I did hear a lot negative things about it. I had a hard time coming up with one, but I finally did. It may surprise you!

  2. I loved The Gargoyle too!

  3. Really? The Gargoyle was considered a flop? Hearing that makes me want to go out and buy another copy of it because I loved it.

  4. I remember your review of The Gargoyle and I know I added it to my tbr. I just haven’t gotten to it, yet. (it may be years from the list I’m accumulating.) I just looked on goodreads to make sure I really DID add it to my wishlist – it has received a high avg rating so it must not be that big of a ‘flop’!

  5. I haven’t read this one yet, but I’ve only heard good things about it. I didn’t think it was a flop, so it’s kind of weird hearing that it was such a flop.

    ~ Popin

  6. I really enjoyed The Gargoyle, and also gave it a good review. Don’t understand why it wasn’t a bigger success.

  7. I freakin’ loved this book! As, you know!

    stupid Entertainment Weekly. they can kiss my blog!

  8. I can’t believe they thought The Gargoyle was a “flop”! I’ve never read it, but when it first came out and I was working in a bookstore, it was hard to keep it in stock. Sometimes mags are just out of touch with reality!

  9. I have never read this one but after seeing it as the answer to this week’s question a couple of times now I may have to check it out. Thnak you!

  10. I am surprised that The Gargoyle didn’t do better, but I think EW just called it a flop to justify their very negative review that was in opposition to basically everyone else’s review. And hello, it was nothing like The Da Vinci Code.

  11. haha, I don’t want to say, “I told you so”, but I was one of the ONLY book reviewers who hated that book. Thanks for this post, up until I read it I felt slightly unworthy of my book reviewing title….now I can rest assured. I read 50 pages into it and it was horrid.

    anyway, I promise I am not on an ego trip…I just am so glad someone agrees with me🙂 since I was insanely outnumbered in our little bloggie circle.

  12. I’ve got this one sitting on the TBR pile, being shifted and moved for so many times. I still intend to read it.

  13. I liked The Da Vinci Code. It was fast and easy and fun, and I’m still puzzled over why people got so huffy and snobby about it.

    I wasn’t the best worst, though. I’ll have to think about my choice…

    Older Daughter liked The Gargoyle too. I started it and quickly lost interest. Maybe I should try again.

  14. something is wrong with me…everyone is RAVING about ‘the book thief’ (you included, i think)…but i can NOT for the life of me get into it. help!

  15. I thought this sounded like a great read. I’m still going to read it someday!

  16. I really, really liked this book and gave it a great review. I’m surprised that EW thought this was the worst book out there. I can think of many others that would fit the bill.

Leave a Reply

