Product Review: The Book Buddy

rubyA while back I was asked to review a product called “The Book Buddy” by Mandy Blake from Reading Comfort, a company that specializes in reading accessories.  Having never reviewed a product before, I wasn’t exactly sure what I was getting myself into.  Mandy was so sweet, though, and assured me that she just wanted a little feedback on their product. She sent The Book Buddy to me immediately (seriously, I think I got it the next day- maybe it was 2 days), and when I opened the box, I was pleasantly surprised!

The first thing I noticed was how well it matched my living room!  This, of course, was completely coincidental, a happy accident of the universe.  But it is quite gorgeous and well made.  What is it, you ask?  Basically, The Book Buddy is a reading pillow.. not for your head, but for your book.  The one I have is called Ruby.  Covered in a rich, luxurious fabric, it has adjustable ribbons to hold your book in place.  This allows for a hands-free reading experience- which is quite convenient if you’re doing other things while you read, like snacking or drinking hot chocolate.  You do, of course, still have to turn pages every few minutes.  I never claimed The Book Buddy was magical!

The Book Buddy comes in several elegant designs.  It also is packaged with an acrylic desktop that somewhat resembles a cutting board.  I don’t think they want you to chop onions on it though.  Instead, it’s meant for writing, or for holding your laptop, absorbing the heat and stabilizing it on your lap.  The adjustable ribbons hold the desktop in place.   The pillow elevates the laptop to a better height for typing and web surfing.  

It’s a simple thing, but aren’t most great ideas really simple?  The Book Buddy is a nice product and I’d recommend it to those who like to read or work on their laptop in a comfy chair or on the couch.  It would be a thoughtful addition to a guest room, and it would make a great gift for someone who uses their laptop a lot (college students might really like this). You can check out the other products Reading Comfort offers HERE.

17 Responses

  1. Maybe I should get one of these. I always use my laptop and never at a desk. Plus, it could be useful for holding a book while feeding a baby!

  2. I often use a pillow under a book when reading at the couch. It makes it so I don’t bend my head so far forward. Oh, and I use a pillow under the laptop when not at the desk, too.😀

  3. I checked out the other patterns.. there are some nice choices to choose from.

  4. LOL. I have an upcoming guest post on Kittling Books for Scene of the Blog, and my workspace is so ghetto. *sigh* I use a flattened cardboard box to hold my laptop on my lap. I’ve seen The Book Buddy and it looks fantastic, but alas, I don’t have the money to buy one, so I guess my flattened cardboard box will have to suffice.😀

  5. Oh, I’m asking for one of these for my birthday or Christmas, no doubt about it. While reading Gone with the Wind I have been wishing I had something closer to my eyes than my lap to set it on. It’s too heavy to comfortably hold in my hands for long. This is simply beautiful, Lisa! You’re lucky. Thanks for passing this tip along to the rest of us.

  6. i saw the book buddy on another book blogger’s page–i love it! it really is a clever idea and i just might put it on the birthday list…

  7. I think this looks so cool. I want one!!

  8. Brilliant. Thanks for sharing. I would take Jeenie or Dotts, but I’ll probably get Strickly Stripes for my girlfriend.

  9. Oh my, I could really use one of these!

  10. This is a great idea! Why didn’t I think of it?

  11. it is so pretty…and useful…hmm wonder if I should get one.

  12. Gotta have one of these! I adore my laptop and reading with a pillow prop… oh $30 is a little bit too expensive for me right now since we’re moving and stuff but I’ll make sure to bookmark the site.

  13. This is a really cool idea. I love the colors and design as well.

  14. I wish I had something like this when I was breastfeeding. That would have made life so much easier!

  15. I could have really used one of these when I had carpal tunnel during pregnancy. It was literally painful to hold a book.

  16. […] me if I would be interested in trying out a book buddy and I jumped at the chance.  I had seen Lisa’s review on Books on the Brain, so I was very excited.  There are many styles to choose from and I was […]

Leave a Reply

