Book Clubs- What are you reading?

I’m always looking for discussable books to present to my book club, so it’s endlessly interesting to me to find out what other clubs are reading these days.  I asked some blogger friends what their clubs were reading, and thought I’d share the answers here:

imagedb-1cgiMeg Waite Clayton, author of The Wednesday Sisters:  The Wednesday Sisters Book Club is reading Dreams From My Father by Barack Obama

Suey from It’s All About Books:  The Third Thursday Book Club is reading The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

Melanie at Lit Chick Cafe:  We are reading Still Alice by Lisa Genova in April, then A Golden Age  by Tahmima Anam in May.

9781594483547lJulie at Booking Mama:  The Preschool Moms Book Club is reading The Ten Year Nap in April and The Help in May.

Author Laura Fitzgerald:  The Desert Chicks are reading Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates.

Heather from A Lifetime of Books:  Stories delle Sorelle (italian for Stories of the Sisters) is reading The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz in April, Queen of the Road by Doreen Orion in May (including a chat with the author!), and Little Bee by Chris Cleave in June.

imagedb-2cgiJen at Devourer of Books:  The Wine and Book Club is reading Expecting Adam by Martha Beck

Gayle at Every Day I Write the Book Blog:  her online book club is reading Buffalo Lockjaw by Greg Ames

Tara at Books and Cooks:  The 8 is Enough book club is very organized and plans ahead for the whole year.  Their list is HERE.

Beastmomma:  Her club is reading Ali and Nino by Kurban Said (she adds that it is very interesting but tough to get through!)

16227538Kristen of Book Club Classics:  Her club is reading Rushdie’s The Enchantress of Florence.

Jessica of Barney’s Book Blog:  Her club is reading The Last Days of Dogtown by Anita Diamont

Stephanie of Stephanie’s Written Word:  Her club is reading The Big Girls by Susanna Moore.

Lesley of Lesley’s Book Nook:  Her group is reading The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

AND last, but not least, Trish at Hey, Lady! was embarrassed to tell me that her club is reading My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.  I told her not to be embarrassed- I loved that book!

Have you read a book recently that you could not wait to discuss?  Or one that you were embarrassed to admit that  you were reading (and possibly even enjoying)?  Leave me a note and tell me what it is!  I must know!!

14 Responses

  1. Well, I really liked The Help, but didn’t care for The Ten Year Nap. Neat idea for a post!

    I’m currently reading The Secret Life of Bees.

    I love Jodi P!

  2. Weird, I thought I e-mail you my book club pick…Anyway, my book club will be discussing The Big Girls by Susanna Moore this month.

  3. I think the group that is reading The Help is in for a treat of a discussion. What a fabulous book!! I I’m still thinking about those characters and having such a good time handselling the book at work.

    My group discussed Revolutionary Road last month. All but one member disliked the book, but we still had a fabulous discussion.

    This month’s pick is The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I hope it’s a quick read. I haven’t even started yet and we meet in one week.

  4. Hi Sher, most of our group liked “Bees”. When you’re done, we should watch the movie together!

    Steph, I checked and couldn’t find where you’d sent it to me (you emailed that your meeting was coming up, but I couldn’t find a follow up telling me what you’d picked). Anyway, I added it!

    Les, I can’t wait to read The Help! I added your group’s pick to the post. Thanks!

  5. Here’s our reading list for 2009:

    http://bookchatterandotherstuff.blogspot.com/2009/01/2009-book-club-list.html

    BUT, the book that surprised us the most last year, well there were two of them, were:

    Mister Pip
    The Meaning of Night

    Mister Pip was so graphic and dealt with really mature themes but somehow it was “charming”. Yep!! Even the ultra conservatives liked it. We talked about it for a long time.

  6. What a great post! I’ll be taking notes. My book club is discussing “Matrimony” by Joshua Henkin this month and we will be having our first author chat with him.
    Next month, we’re reading “The rest of her life” by Laurie Moriarty.

  7. My online book club, lol, is reading The English Patient next month, but I just finished The Ruins by Scott Smith and would have loved to discuss that with someone!

  8. My book club loved ‘The Birth House’, be prepared for a long fun discussion. Highly recommend this to everyone!

    The Ten Year Nap wasn’t a favorite but maybe our expectations were too high, My Sister’s Keeper is one of JP’s better books (worth reading).

    I can’t wait to read The Help and the comments here are reinforcing this.

  9. My book club recently discussed “The Maltese Falcon” by Dashiell Hammett — classic hard-boiled mystery. We had rollicking good discussions of “The Cider House Rules” by John Irving, “The Awakening” by Kate Chopin, and “Rebecca” by Daphne du Maurier.

  10. I just finished Revolutionary Road. I cannot wait to discuss it.
    For our book club this month we read Time Traveler’s Wife. I love this list. It’ll help us pick for next month.

  11. You have some great books on this list! I would like to read either Buffalo Lockjaw or The Ten Year Nap. They were just recently added to my TBR list.

    I am embarrassed to say that my daughters got me to start Twilight and I am liking it more than I think a middle-aged woman should!

  12. An award is waiting for you at A Novel Menagerie in the Sunday Salon post.

    Sheri

    Happy Easter.

  13. I am reading books from Second Wind Publishing. True I have a vested interest because my friends wrote them, but I have to say that the quality of literature is incredible. I don’t say that just because they are my friends.

    Having already read “Images of Betrayal” by Claire Collins, I am reading it again with even more enthusiasm. The same can be said for “The Badeaux Knights” by Suzette Vaughn. I have also read (for the first time) Carpet Ride – Norm Brown, Murder in Winnebago County – Chris Husom, Fate & Destiny – also by Claire Collins, Mortals, Gods & a Muse – Suzette Vaughn, A Love Out of Time – Mairead Walpole, The Medicine People – Laz Barnhill, Night & Day – Sherrie Hansen and Loving Lydia – Amy de Trempe. I’m not even half way through the books we offer. Each book amazes me, making me wish I’d written it myself. I suppose I could put in a plug for my own novel, “Indian Summer” by Dellani Oakes.

    All the books have been high quality writing, binding and printing. They are also available in e-format from Second Wind or from Kindle at Amazon.com

  14. I am just starting a book club, so this post was extremely timely and interesting to me. For our first read we are going to be choosing from: Gilead, The Gilded Chamber, and People of the Book. We have set up the idea of each member choosing three books and having the group vote on the one which interests them most. I like some of the selections that I have read in this post, and may suggest them for future meetings. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

