Bedtime Conversation

K:  Tickle me, Mom!

Me: { tickle, tickle }

K: (suddenly serious) Mom, if I ever get cancer, I want the kind Cade and Collin’s dad has.

Me: Oooooooookaaaaaaaaay

K:  I’m not saying I want to have cancer, but if I had to have it, I think he has the best kind.

Me:  Why is that, honey?

K:  Because he has the kind that tickles.

Me:  He does?  How do you know it tickles?  Did the boys tell you that?

K:  No, they didn’t say anything, but I heard you talking to Daddy.

Me: (suddenly understanding, and laughing too hard to breathe)  Oh, honey!  You’ll never get that kind of cancer!  (laughing, wiping tears..)

K:  MOM!  Stop laughing at me!  It’s not funny!  Lots of people get cancer!  What are you laughing about??? (getting angry)

Me:  Sweetie, you misheard me.  I didn’t say Mr. Stewart has cancer that tickles.  I said he has testicular cancer.  Cancer of the testicles.  Girls don’t get that kind.

K:  Why not?  (kinda mad)

Me:  Because girls don’t have testicles.  Only boys do.

K:  Well, that’s not fair!  I’m going to bed!  (stomps off)

18 Responses

  1. Very funny. Love the way kids hear life

  2. That is too funny.

  3. How cute is that?!?!

  4. Okay, that is just too adorable. That’s one of those stories you have to remember so you can tease her with it when she gets older.🙂

  5. Hey, if I ever get cancer, I want testicular cancer too! I would be a wonder of medern medicine.

  6. oh goodness! What a kid. Keep writing these precious things down.

  7. Oh.My.Word. That is precious!

  8. Too, too funny! Thanks for sharing!

  9. Out of the mouths of babes! Those are precious moments. This is journal worthy if you keep one.

  10. Chartroose’s comment made me snort. ;P Oh kids!

  11. Thanks for sharing! Kids say the darndst things!

  12. Awwww – what a precious moment!

  13. Laughter is the best medicine, so thank you, Lisa. You do NOT want to hear some of the conversations we’ve had with Cade and Collin about their private parts since Daddy’s diagnosis! 😉 I hope I can turn some of my blog readers onto your wonderful blog!

  14. Oh my – I can only imagine which girl that was – so cute – thanks for sharing – we love your girls – thanks for putting up with our boys
    Susan

  15. Lol, bet that will become a family story she’ll be really embarrassed about one day!

  16. That was laugh out loud funny. Thanks for sharing!

  17. That reminds me of the scene in the movie My Girl where the girl tells her father she’s dying. When he asks “dying of what?” she says “it’s my prostate.”

  18. […] Bedtime Conversations – Books On The Brain […]

Leave a Reply

