Teaser Tuesday 4/14/09

tuesday-t1Miz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to: Grab your current read. Let the book fall open to a random page. Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12. You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

imagedbcgi1My teaser comes from a deliciously naughty book called Foreign Tongue by Vanina Marsot. Lucky me, I get to see the author on a panel called Windows on the World at the Festival of Books in a couple of weeks!  It’s about an American woman who moves to Paris to escape Los Angeles and a love affair gone wrong.  She gets a job translating a novel from French to English, then discovers after she accepts the job that she’ll be translating an erotic novel.  Oooo la la!

This is from page 19:

“I had a sensation I’d had before in France, that not everyone finds a blank slate charming and guileless, the way we do back home.  Here, they prefer complexity; an acknowledgement that we are all guilty; or at least, no one is innocent.”

This book is witty and smart.  I just love the main character, Anna.  It’s one of the most entertaining books I’ve read all year!  Foreign Tongue is on sale beginning today, from Harper Paperbacks.  

9 Responses

  1. That does sounds like a pretty great book. I would have thought it was a memoir if you hadn’t said it was a novel. It sounds kind of “Eat, Pray, Love-ish” – and I don’t mean that in a bad way! I liked “Eat, Pray, Love.”🙂

  2. Hmm, sounds interesting, I’m heading over to Amazon to read a little more:)

  3. I love the double meaning of the title😉. Great teaser and I’ll have to check it out!

  4. great teaser! the title is awesome too!

  5. I can’t wait to read this one!

  6. Great snippet there! I just checked out the Festival of Books author attendee list and OMG!, you are going to have SOOO MUCH FUN!!

  7. This sounds good! I hope a full review is coming!

  8. Great teaser Lisa! I’ve heard a lot about this book. I’ll have to check it out one of these days.

  9. I hadn’t heard of this one before, but it sounds really good@

Leave a Reply

