Teaser Tuesdays – May 12, 2009

tuesday-t11Miz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to: Grab your current read. Let the book fall open to a random page. Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12. You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

imageDB-2.cgiMy teaser comes from a book I swore I would never read from an author I don’t really like.  Or didn’t like, before this book.  Anyway!   Kids- you should never swear not to do something.  You might change your mind.

The book is Truth & Beauty by Ann Patchett, about the author’s friendship with Lucy Grealy, the late author of a book I loved, Autobiography of a Face.  I’m reading this book because I want to feel close to Lucy again, not because I like Ann Patchett.  Because I don’t.  Or didn’t.  (Actually, the jury is still out.  I’ve only read 65 pages.)  But already I’m starting to feel like she’s writing about someone else, not Lucy.  Not the Lucy in my mind, the one I fell in love with in Autobiography of a Face, but someone much more one dimensional and juvenile.  It’s such a different view.  

This teaser is from page 85 of Truth & Beauty: A Friendship:

“Having Lucy in my apartment those weeks was not unlike having a couple of those revved-up cats from the Scottish Cat Protection League.  She ran all over the place, left my clothes tossed over lampshades, wet towels heaped under pillows, bowls of Cream of Wheat minus three bites in whatever spot I was most likely to step in them.”

What are you reading this week?

Oh- please check out our Summer Reading Series!  I have 3 books left to give away to anyone who’d like to participate in the discussion of Beach Trip in June!

10 Responses

  1. I have read The Magician’s Assistant by Ann Patchett and liked it!

    teased

  2. As you already know, I loved this book. I’m glad you decided to give it a chance!

  3. I’ve had Truth and Beauty on my tbr list for ages. I’m loving Still Life with Rice right now. Excellent book.
    Michelle

  4. Looks wonderful. I’m reading Joyce Carol Oates’ book, Rape: A Love Story. Also, Baby Face by Norma Fox Mazer and An Acceptable Time by Madeleine L’Engle (love the YA stuff!).

  5. “There must have been a measure of chaos in the order of the lines because Willie could hear clearly Christy Moran’s bitter voice caterwauling at people to keep up and close up. Everyone could somehow sense what the machine-guns were doing, as if they were all the one body, and as men fell, they all fell for a moment, fell and rose up again, miraculously pacing.”

    From page 184 of “A Long, Long Way” by Sebastian Barry. Set in 1914 it is the story of a Dublin soldier in World War I. While it is not light reading, it has profoundly beautiful moments.

  6. By the way, I loved “Truth and Beauty.”

  7. I actually like Ann Patchett as a writer–I read and liked Bel Canto, The Magician’s Assistant, and The Patron Saint of Liars, and I have Run on my TBR shelf. But I also read Autobiography of a Face, and then Truth and Beauty, and though I found both fascinating, I felt Truth and Beauty was something of a betrayal. I’m sure it was extremely tempting to tell the story–a compelling one–but it bothered me somehow that she wrote it…

    Good teaser! I’m reading Loving Frank, by Nancy Horan, for my book group. Definitely going to provoke a good conversation!

  8. I LOVED Truth and Beauty, maybe even more than Autobiography of a Face. However, Bel Canto didn’t work for me.

  9. I want to read this book! I heard that Grealy’s family was not happy with Patchett after reading this book, and that kind of heightened my interest in it. Thanks for posting this and bringing it back to my mind!

  10. Hey, if Patchett is telling the truth about Lucy Grealy–about her immaturity and selfishness–then it sure does put a different spin on Lucy’s pity party that we all participated in, doesn’t it?

    I might have to read this.

Leave a Reply

