The Sunday Salon – May 31, 2009

TSSbadge3It’s quiet around here today- the hub’s out of town on business and daughter #2 went to a sleepover birthday party last night.  Daughter #1 is still in bed, so it’s just me and the dog, hanging out.  And of course, lots of book bloggers are out of town at BEA.  The silence is deafening!

images-1This has been a good week for reading.  I finished Truth & Beauty, read and reviewed The Virgin Suicides, got about 2/3rds of the way through Beach Trip for our Summer Reading Series, and read about 100 pages of The Local News for an upcoming TLC tour.   My youngest and I started reading The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan together for our newly formed mother/child book club, inspired by Julie at Booking Mama.  Our first meeting will be in July with 11 kids (boys and girls) and 9 adults- we’re excited.  It’s amazing how much reading you can do when you turn off the tv.

9780316025270_154X233A lot of books made their way into my hands this week.  I received The Art of Racing in the Rain from Harper Collins- it was a win from a book club website.  I also won The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society from Random House.  Both ‘Racing’ and ‘Guernsey’ are books I’ve been wanting to read since they first came out; I can’t wait!  Love Begins in Winter, a collection of short stories by Simon Van Booy, also came from Harper Collins.  I’m not sure about this one.  I love short stories, but in looking over the book I’m not in love with the author’s style.  I was going to use it for a Teaser Tuesday post, but the sentences are all super short and choppy, and not just in one area.  I looked at probably 20 sample pages.  So I don’t know.  The Skinny:  Adventures of America’s First Bulimic by Rayni Joan came from the author, and last but not least, Sheri from A Novel Menagerie let me borrow Into the Beautiful North by Luis Alberto Urrea.  I’m really looking forward to that one.

9781439102817And I still have to buy a couple of books!  Still Alice by Lisa Genova is my book club’s July pick, and Life of Pi by Yan Martell is our pick for August.  Must get my hands on those.  I will never have enough time to read all the books in my house- unless I stop working and ignore the house, the laundry, my friends and my family for a month or so and do nothing but read.  As tempting as that sounds, it ain’t gonna happen.

Last night, though, I took a break from reading and had a movie night with my 11 year old daughter.  We watched Mean Girls and Legally Blond 2 and pigged out on cookies & cream ice cream.  It was nice spending some one on one time with my oldest.  My kids can be a handful when they’re together, but separately they are angels (well, mostly..), and I think they crave and really need time alone with me and with their dad.  They get sick of being seen as a unit and don’t always want to vie for our attention.

After my girl fell asleep I watched Rachel Getting Married with Anne Hathaway and sobbed like a baby!  The tears were just streaming out of me like a faucet, soaking my face and neck, and I didn’t even try to stop them.  I totally get why she was nominated for Best Actress for this role. She’s come a long way from The Princess Diaries and Ella Enchanted (loved those, too, but in a different way).

Well I hope everyone has a great week.  June, already!  It’s hard to believe.  For us that means 6th grade graduation, 2 more weeks of school, and then a gaggle of kids in and out of the house every day for 12 weeks.  I’m not ready!!!!!

Leave me a note and tell me what you’re reading this week.  Happy Sunday!

17 Responses

  1. Still Alice has been on my wish list for a while now. I’ll be eager to hear what you think of it. Maybe I’ll get my hands on a copy soon too. Hope so. : )

  2. Well, I finally bought Still Alice because the author’s publicist won’t respond to my review requests. Ugh. The author is nice, though.

    I ordered the 3-book set for The Lightning Thief because the twins TRASHED the two you got them. I don’t want to read the icky books. They wanted the 3rd in the series which was like $7. But, the entire paperback series 1-3 was $11. That’s it. SOLD. I only want to read the clean copies. I’m such a book snob!

    Now, remember, Into the Beautiful North is funky! But, you may like it more because of that… who knows?

    I got Memoirs of a Geisha and My Sister’s Keeper from my ex-sister-in-law. I really wanted My Sister’s Keeper because the movie is coming out. And, you know me and movies/books!

    Well, hugs and all!

    Sher

    I’ve never watched Mean Girls. I guess I’m behind on that one.

    I totally want to borrow potatoe society when you’re done. That’s been on my “wish list” for a while but I’ve never won a copy and haven’t been sent one, either.

    • I haven’t bought the other books in the Lightning Thief series yet but Laura’s already bugging me to get them. She read the book in a day and a half. Kelly and I are taking our time.

      You rated Into The Beautiful North an 8 so I thought you liked it! But no matter. Several people I was with at Fest of Books saw the author speak on a panel and were blown away by him. And I’m ok with funky.

      You’ll like Memoirs of a Geisha- that was my favorite book for the longest time. I read it probably 10 years ago and recommended it to everyone. My Sister’s Keeper is awesome- my favorite Picoult. Can’t wait for the movie.

      The twins would like Mean Girls.

      Not sure when I’ll get to the potato book! But I’m looking forward to it. It’s a book told in letters and I like the idea of it.

      • I did give it an eight. It’s an interesting and funky book… I just didn’t LOVE it where I gave it a 10. It totally made me miss Mexico!

        I do hope that you read Life of Pi even though you’re missing the meeting because I’m dying to hear what you think about it!

        I’ll have the twins watch it with me… sounds good!

  3. P.S.

    When I just posted that comment, it moved my ending into the body. I didn’t do that.

    Strange!

  4. I’m finishing up Into the Beautiful North; Urrea – very good.

  5. Sounds like you got quite a bit of reading done. Your movie night sounds like it was fun too.

    Well, I hope to finish Foreign Tongue and Prayers for Bobby within a day or two and then I must begin Shadow of the Wind, Sunnyside Blues and I must finish Shanghai Girls which got left out in the wind (so to speak). I totally lost interest in it. I need to pick it up again when I am not so distracted.

    Congrats to your girl for graduating 6th! My little one graduates kindie this Thursday! ACK!

  6. I still have to check out RACHEL GETTING MARRIED. We went and saw UP today and I sure didn’t have enough tissues and napkins to make it through the movie. It was great!

    I had to take a break from THREE CUPS OF TEA and am now reading OLIVE KITTERIDGE. Good luck with the next two weeks!

  7. I have Still Alice, but haven’t started reading it yet. Maybe you would like to trade!

    I am currently reading the Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and having a very hard time getting into it. I will struggle along for a few more pages, then just move on if I still can’t get interested.

    • brief & wonderous is a bit tough to get into. however, like i said in our book club meeting… it’s like childbirth, once it’s over you’re glad you did it. i am glad that i read that book even though it wasn’t an “easy” read.

      Sheri

  8. I’ve got The Virgin Suicides, Beach Trip and Local News all to read this week too. Big car trip coming up this weekend, so I might need to read the entire trip.

  9. I’ve got an extra copy of Still Alice. If you send me your address, I’ll drop that in the mail for you!

  10. I just love the Percy Jackson series. Looking forward to reading the last one soon! I’m reading SWAG by Melinda Rainey Thompson and The Comprehensive Country Music Encyclopedia (currently at Eddy Arnold lol)

Leave a Reply

