Sticky: Booking Through Thursday

btt button

I saw this over at Shelley’s, and thought it sounded like a great question for all of you:

“This can be a quick one. Don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen books you’ve read that will always stick with you. First fifteen you can recall in no more than 15 minutes.”

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Ok, I’m going to follow directions and do this off the top of my head.  My answers today are probably different from the answers I would have given yesterday or the ones I would give tomorrow!  Some of these books are from my childhood, some I read years ago and some just recently. They are not equal in quality but all had a major impact on me in one way or another.  

So, my 15 “sticky” books, in no particular order are:

The Secret Garden

Angela’s Ashes

Little Women

Molokai

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan

I Was Amelia Earhart

The Kite Runner

Ethan Fromme

We Need to Talk About Kevin

The Lovely Bones

Speak

A Thousand Splendid Suns

The Joy Luck Club

Johnny Got His Gun

Into Thin Air

How many of my “sticky” books have you read?  

What books have stuck with you over the years?

36 Responses

  1. How did I forget about Angela’s Ashes? I just love the first paragraph. I haven’t read Little Women in years. I need to read it again. You have a great list.

    • Thanks! Yours was good too! Angela’s Ashes is dear to me because my father in law (100% Irish) read it on my recommendation. It was the only book he’d ever read (he was not much of a reader) but he loved it. It was really meaningful for him, and we had the best discussion about the book and about his childhood. He’s gone now but I have that memory and it’s important to me.

  2. Great list! I almost added Little Women also and took it off at the last minute, but such a good book!

    • Little Women, esp. Jo, was the first real book I read (meaning, not Babysitters Club or something like that). Jo killed me. Jo and Laurie and how fiery and independent she was and the brave choices she made. I loved that book,

  3. Ethan Frome is a good one! Short but very very memorable! Loved Snow Flower as well.

    http://1morechapter.com/2009/06/04/btt-sticky/

    • SO agree on EF. The agony, the restraint, ugh! Great book. I had to read it for 10th grade English and re-read it as an adult. One of the few books I’ve re-read. I never did see the movie but I think I might have to do that.

      Snow Flower was the first book my book club read and discussed together. Loved it.

      Off to check out your post..

  4. I loved The Secret Garden!

  5. Oh I LOVE this! Am I supposed to do it here? It’s so much pressure! My brain is exploding. OK. 1.) The Soloist (the novel by Mark Saltzman) 2.) The Remains of the Day 3.) The Accidental Tourist 4.) Caddie Woodlawn — I liked it better than Little House on the Prairie when I was a girl 5.) The Wheel on the School, which I read out loud to both my kids 6.) Riders of the Pony Express 7.) Bel Canto 8.) Desert Solitaire 9.) The Things They Carried 10.) The Creative Habit 11.) Bird by Bird 12.) Olive Kitteridge 13.) um um um….A Three Dog Life 14.) Broken Vessels by Andre Dubus 15.) The Tipping Point. Geez! Not one classic romance on my list! What a great post! I’m going to twitter about it right now…

    • OMG The Little House books! Ugh! Now I have to rethink the whole thing. They should definitely be on my list.

      Great list, by the way!! Sorry to make your brain explode! LOL

  6. I adore your list, Lisa! I have read and loved more than half of the books on there. Now I have to get the other half, because I suspect I will love them too.

    • Wow, what does that say about my choices?? Do I just go for what’s popular? Or are popular books popular for a reason?? Hmmmm.

  7. I hear fantastic things about We Need to Talk about Kevin. I think I need to add it to the TBR list. Would you recommend it for a book club?

    • DEFINITELY. I had NOBODY to discuss that book with when I finished it, and I scoured the internet for other reviews so that I could have some sort of dialogue about it. In fact, I think that’s how I first met Trish/Hey Lady, and now she’s my business partner in TLC! I remember talking with Care at Care’s Online Book Club about it too. My review is in the archives (see the book review tab at top) and there are some great comments there. Yes, it’s the kind of book that you just feel compelled to talk with someone about.

      • PS If you read it, come back and talk to me!!

      • I remember offering to read it so we could talk about it! Ah, those were fun times – the early blogging days when I didn’t even know what tbr meant…

  8. Johnny Got his Gun!!! How could I forget that one?

  9. I definitely would’ve added We Have to Talk About Kevin if I had thought of it!! Good list… 🙂

  10. I’ve read both of the Hosseini books🙂 Several of the other books mentioned is already on my wish list, just have to make me TBR pile a bit smaller before adding more books to it.

    Enjoy your weekend🙂

  11. I have read 4: The Secret Garden, Angela’s Ashes, The Kite Runner and Johnny Got His Gun. All of these books to me have, on some level, stuck with me and at some point has been brought up into conversation. Johnny Got His Gun; however, is one that even after having read it over 10 years ago still haunts me a bit. I consider it one of the saddest books I have ever read.

    • LeBlanc, I know what you mean.. I read it probably 30 years ago and it still haunts me! It was when I read The Diving Bell and The Butterfly last year that I started thinking about Johnny Got His Gun again.

  12. Great list-so many there that would be on my list too-Little Women, Kite Runner, The Lovely Bones. I just recently read Ethan Frome and was blown away by it.

  13. Ooh, your list has a couple I hadn’t heard of before. Adding to my TBR list!

  14. I’m going to read Ethan Frome this summer, I just decided.

    • Oh, great!!! Now watch, you’ll want to talk about it, and the details will be a little fuzzy for me.. I better read this a third time!

      • LOL! I’ll give you some warning… I’ve had Ms. Wharton on my want-to-read list but could never decide WHAT. So, when you had this on your list, it made me commit. I love love love the fact that her house is across the bay from all he rest of the huge Newport mansions – which we will be boating by this summer. It’s like she new she was rich enough but didn’t want to be neighbors with the Vanderbilts. of course, I could be all wrong.

  15. Molokai & Snow Flower and the Secret Fan were the 2 I hadn’t heard of before.🙂

  16. I’ve read pretty much all of these and i just don’t think I’m capable of picking 15!!!

  17. I didn’t participate in that particular BTT, but THE GOD OF ANIMALS by Aryn Kyle immediately came to my mind. I never see it on any lists and I’m wondering now if I’m the only person who’s read it!! Just wondering . . .

  18. […] and didn’t recognize the title.     I believe it was Lisa of Books on the Brain (yes, found the post:  a Sticky Books meme from a year ago.)   Anyway, I got pulled to purchase this on an excursion to Borders; I was […]

Leave a Reply

