Teaser Tuesdays: July 14, 2009

Miz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to: Grab your current read. Let the book fall open to a random page. Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12. You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

15201408

My teaser comes from The Red Tent by Anita Diamant,  page 65.

“My mother told me that after the birth of her twin sons, she decided to finish with childbearing.  Her breasts were those of an old woman, her belly was slack, and her back ached every morning.”

I’m just starting this book today but I’ve had it in the stack for a year and a half.  I’m really excited to start it.

Any mothers out there care to comment on the teaser??

30 Responses

  1. I did finish childbearing after my twins. They did kill my breasts, back, and my brain! But, I do love them!

  2. Well, I’m not a mother so I certainly can’t comment on the subject of this teaser. But I CAN say that I loved this book and I hope you enjoy it!

  3. It’s been several years since I read this book, but I remember loving it and having some wonderful conversations with my girlfriends about it. As for the teaser, well, those are a few of the reasons I’m hesitant to become a mother🙂

    (That and that the birthing scene in Sue Miller’s The Senator’s Wife left me scarred for life.)

  4. No comment on the quote but I can say that it is an excellent book and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

  5. I LOVE this book; she has another book coming out soon which looks excellent.

  6. This has been on my list for a VERY long time. It needs to make an appearance on my summer reading list!

  7. I read this years ago and thought it was a fast read and kind of a biblical soap opera, lol. Great story that kept me reading : )

  8. I really loved this book – I hope you will as well.

  9. I enjoyed this one. It’s been awhile, but I’ve thought of re-reading it. I didn’t have twins, but I had two and my body has never been the same!

  10. I’ve also had this on my list for a very long time. I look forward to reading your thoughts on it.

  11. Count me in as another person who loved this book!

  12. Oh, this is on my favorites book list. It’s definitely in the top 10. I hope you love it!!
    ~Michelle

  13. This is one of my favorite books. Enjoy!

  14. I listened to the audiobook of The Red Tent, and I can just hear the narrator speaking these words….I loved her voice. My teaser is here:
    http://jo-jolovestoread.blogspot.com/2009/07/teaser-tuesday-july-14.html

  15. Fun and scary teaser!

  16. I’ve seen this book on shelves and such never bothered to take a look at it. Perhaps I will this time🙂

  17. I haven’t read this myself, but I’ve heard wonderful things about it. I’m glad you’re finally getting the chance to read it.

  18. Oh, I hope you enjoy The Red Tent – it’s up there as one of my favorite books (right next to The Kite Runner)!

  19. I didn’t have twins and I feel exactly the same way! I’m glad to know I’m not the only person on the planet that hasn’t read this yet. I always hear great things about it!

  20. I will be interested to hear your thoughts on this book. Our book club read it a couple years ago. I know it made me really appreciate modern conveniences for women!

  21. No comment on giving birth, but I loved this book when I read it a couple of years ago.

  22. I am so happy that you are reading THE RED TENT. It’s one of my favs and I look forward to reading what you thought about it. Enjoy your weekend!

  23. I am jealous that you are reading this for the first time! I loved the stuffing out of this book, and consider it a favorite. I really hope you enjoy it and am very interested in seeing your review on this one. I may try to get my book club to read this one in the near future as well.

Leave a Reply

