Teaser Tuesdays: July 28, 2009

tuesday-t11Miz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to: Grab your current read. Let the book fall open to a random page. Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12. You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

piABMy teaser comes from page 177 of  Life of Pi by Yann Martel, which happens to be my face-to-face book club’s selection for August.  I’m going to miss this meeting due to our family’s annual trip to Pennsylvania, so it’s tempting to skip the book, but because a couple people in our club are passionate about it (Hello, Sheri!), I may give it a go.  

“The stars shone with such fierce, contained brilliance that it seemed absurd to call the night dark.  The sea lay quietly, bathed in a shy, light-footed light, a dancing play of black and silver that extended without limits all about me.”

Ahhhh, sounds beautiful.

Have you read Life of Pi?  What do you think, should I read the book, even though I’ll miss the book club meeting?

20 Responses

  1. I voted “it’s amazing”! I practically forced my husband to read it so I could talk about it with him. I think it’s definitely worth it, even though you miss the discussion!

  2. I second that emotion! Read it. For sure. You won’t have any trouble finding someone to discuss it with around here.

  3. It’s been a while since I read it, but I think that Life of Pi was both fascinating and frustrating.

    It was a really good book to have a book club to discuss it with, because you will probably want to talk about it in a setting where you don’t have to worry about giving away plot twists.

    Good luck deciding!

  4. I’d say “read it”, even though I haven’t yet. I’ve heard such good things about it that I’m adding it to my Wish List.

  5. I’d read it just for the lovely prose.
    My tease: Book Bird Dog: Tuesday Teaser: Hell Hath No Curry by Tamar Myers

  6. Great teaser. Very descriptive of a bright night.🙂 I have yet to read this book, but I want too.

  7. I put up a poll earlier this year and I am committed to reading this before the end of the year… So if I’m committed you should be too! LOL!

  8. I have not read the book but that teaser is so beautifully written, I might just go pick up the book myself

  9. Yes, read it. It is amazing! It’s one of those books that I resisted reading because it was getting so much buzz a few years ago. However, it was actually worth all the buzz!!

  10. First of all… I’m reading this post in my reader and I had just flown over whose post it is that I am reading. You know… me and my flying mouse. So, I’m reading that it’s a book club selection for this writer. (oh, just like us.. what a coincidence). Vacation in Pennsylvania (isn’t that where Scranton is?). And then, “Hello Sheri.” WAIT? Is this Lisa’s post? It is!

    I guess I’m wondering what about this book turns you off. I don’t really think that it’s because you’re not coming to the meeting. There’s something about this book that makes you not want to read it. And, I still don’t think that you will…. or, maybe you shouldn’t. Because whatever it is that is making you think you won’t like it will cause you not to like it. And, this book is WAY too COOL for you not to like it.

    I don’t like the beginning of this book. It takes a while until you “get to the good part.” So, if you think you’re not going to like it and then you read the beginning… you may just set it down and never pick it up again.

    All I can say is that this book is WAY BETTER than The Road and that cloning book by Ishi.. something or rather.

    I will always love this book… always and forever.

    If you miss it… it will be a shame.

    Oh… one thing I wanted to tell you is that I have introduced a few people to Lisa See. You introduced her to me. I love that author and am so glad that you recommended her to me. My best friend from high school went home with Love In The Time of Cholera and Snow Flower and The Secret Fan. Gotta love Lisa See. (and as this comment turns into a post…) BTW: She is in a book club and told me they have read a lot of Pulitzer Prize winners. She says to me, “why do all of these Pultizer Prize winning books totally suck?” I told her… I know. I didn’t like Oscar Wao that much either, after all. But, I’m trying to think of a P.P. book that I did like. Does one jump out for you?

    Sher
    (aka passionate about pi chick)

  11. P.S. right now they’re reading a book about a hedgehog or something like that… heard of it??

  12. Life of Pi was fabulous –especially the audio version. enjoy

  13. Naida, I’ve heard that Life of Pi is really good. Perhaps your book club could discuss it when you get back from you trip. : )

  14. Oops! Lisa, I’ve heard that Life of Pi is really good. Perhaps your book club could discuss it when you get back from your trip. : )

  15. I loved this book and thought it was brilliant, so in my opinion, I think you should read it. I thought it was a very deep book with a lot of ambiguity, especially around the ending.

  16. I’m obviously in the minority – I didn’t like Life of Pi.

  17. What a coincidence! I just stumbled upon you blog and I finished up Life of Pi yesterday. I say read it! There’s something for everyone in this gem–mystery, adventure, heartbreak… Just lovely. And even if you don’t end up enjoying it, it’s a really quick read. My bookclub is meeting this weekend to discuss it, I can’t wait to hear their thoughts.

  18. Okay, I’m with Carrie..I’m the Philistine minority…I HATED this book! In fact, I decided about halfway into it to stop wasting my time and back it went to the library. Of course, my then, 18 year old son, who loves to read books I give up on, did read it. He said it was “ehh…okay…”

    When I asked him if it got any different later on in the book, after the point I quit, he said, nope…pretty much the same stuff. I was happy I stopped.

    I hope you love it as much as everyone else, it must be a defect in my personality….

  19. Even tho I’m not in the camp of ‘this is amazing!!!!!’, I do think it is worth reading AND reading all the way to the end. It’s a terrific book club read – should be a fun discussion.
    and to Sheri – I recommend Olive Kitteridge.

Leave a Reply

