Wondrous Words Wednesday

vocabularyWondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Kathy at Bermudaonion’s Weblog where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  Feel free to join in the fun.  (Don’t forget to leave a link in your comment if you’re participating.)

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This is my first time doing Kathy’s Wondrous Words meme.  These 3 words come from All We Ever Wanted Was Everything by Janelle Brown (reviewed here).

It wasn’t until I started looking for unfamiliar words that I realized how stupid I am!!  In the past I thought there just weren’t that many words I didn’t know.  Most I can figure out from the context.  But not all..

assiduously – “The hostess, who looks like a Slavic supermodel, with her sunken cheeks and jutting clavicles, assiduously ignores everyone, including Margaret.”  pg. 36

Definition: adjective

1. constant; unremitting: assiduous reading.
2. constant in application or effort; working diligently at a task; persevering; industrious; attentive: an assiduous student.

sibilant – “The sibilant hisses of whispered prayers make it sound like she’s sitting in a snake pit.” pg. 278

Definition:–adjective

1. hissing.
2. Phoneticscharacterized by a hissing sound; noting sounds like those spelled with s 

binaries – “The woman is expressing her female-centered sexuality, Margaret would neutrally observe; she is rejecting binaries and entering into the Symbolic.”  pg. 146

Definition:–noun

5. a whole composed of two.
6. Astronomybinary star.
7. Also called binary number. Mathematicsa number expressed in the binary system of notation.  

 

(Even with the definition of binaries, I still don’t really get the meaning in the sentence!)

9 Responses

  1. That last one doesn’t really make sense to me either.

    • Oh, good. I’m glad it’s not just me. Before I looked it up I knew it must have something to do with 2 (bi=2) but I really don’t get it.

  2. I have used sibilant in my poetry! Love the sound of it!

    Wondrous Words Wednesday

  3. Welcome to Wondrous Words Wednesday! I love the way your formatted your post and may have to “borrow” it. I knew binary because I’m in a family full of geeks.

  4. Good list, but I don’t get ‘binaries” in the sentence either.

  5. Assiduously is a perfect example of why I like to play this meme/game. I’ve read it a hundred times and thought I knew what it meant. But then I see the definition and see the word in a whole new way. Sure glad you are joining this weekly meme.

Leave a Reply

