Teaser Tuesdays- August 4, 2009

Miz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to: Grab your current read. Let the book fall open to a random page. Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12. You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

LotteryMy teaser comes from page 165 of Lottery by Patricia Wood, my book club’s pick for September (we will be talking to the author from her home in Hawaii by speaker phone!).  The book is about a mentally challenged young man who wins 12 million in the Washington State Lottery, which doesn’t change him at all but has a bizarre effect on everyone around him.  This scene shows him getting ripped off by a mechanic, something my husband thinks will happen to me if I dare to be the one to take the car in for service.

“I pull my checkbook out of my back pocket and write Marty a check for one thousand one hundred three dollars and seventy-three cents for parts and labor.  He has to help me with the zeros.”

What is the first big-ticket item you would spend money on if you won 12 million dollars?  Do NOT say ‘pay bills’ or ‘the kids’ college fund’.  For me, it would be a pool!

22 Responses

  1. A nice NYC apartment! This city would be a playground if you had the money!

    After that…student loans. Haha.

    • An old Stingray Corvette, my dream car.

      Sounds like an intersting book. I’ve never heard of it before.

      • I found it on a website (can’t remember which one) that has book clubs talk about their best discussions ever. This book lead to one club’s best discussion. I presented it to my book club and they voted it in!

  2. A private jet. Can I get one for $12 million?

  3. hmm i would have to say… a big house and a college education lol probably most on a big library in my own house of coarse and then i would get me that tea cup yorkshire terrier i want lol

  4. I can spend lottery millions several times over in my head. But a new car and a new house would be nice. I really enjoyed this book. Should make for a fun discussion.

  5. Wish I didn’t have to worry about money!

    Tuesdays: Teaser/Whereabouts

  6. As my grandmother used to say, “E-co-nom-y”. I’d save some and spend some: on a house remodel, pool, cars, etc.. This book sounds like a good one.

  7. I’d purchase an 19th century farmhouse then as many books as my car could hold. Here is mine

  8. Beach house on the west coast!! I’ll throw a big party – all book bloggers invited🙂

  9. This looks very interesting – a dream come true! I’ve got a couple of good teasers this week. Here’s a link.

  10. Great teaser!

  11. A nice little home in Italy.
    Fun teaser and question!

  12. A cottage by the lake for sure!

  13. I read a review of that book and meant to look for it, thanks for the reminder! Hmmm, I’d pay off my dad’s house first then maybe get a place in FL for any family to use during our cold Michigan winters!

  14. Love the teaser! I’d book a trip around the world!

  15. If I won that kind of money, I’d pay off my student loans and my mother’s house! I looooved this book – I can’t wait to see your review!

  16. Let me hold that thought a bit longer in my mind. Ahhhhhhhh…

    I would finish the major remodeling job that a flooded basement forced upon us. That includes a brand new kitchen. And then I would take several trips spaced out over several years. One would be to take all the family (especially grandkids) to Disneyland.

    Well, that was fun!

  17. After reading everyone’s comments I headed over to amazon to buy a copy of this book. It sounds like a perfect suggestion for book club.

  18. I would build a new house on our land and buy my husband a plane so he can fly off that same land. OH and quit my JOB!

  19. i’d love to do some more traveling…maybe rent a villa in tuscany and take my entire extended family for a vacation.

    beyond that? i’d look into starting a non-profit working with teenagers and/or education.

  20. I think I would probably put a down payment on a new house if I won the lottery.

Leave a Reply

