Leaving On a Jet Plane

California Girls with their cousins in God's Country

California Girls with their cousins in God's Country

We are off for 10 days on our annual trip to God’s Country (my husband’s description of his beloved Pennsylvania) where we’ll be visiting friends and family, grilling hot dogs, drinking beer, attending our niece’s graduation party, and hanging out at a beautiful, remote lake in a cabin with spotty cell phone reception.  Yes, we’ll be unplugged!

 I’ll be taking a few books with me, of course!  I hope to finish at least 3 books, including The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein for Jennifer at Literate Housewife Review’s Dog Days of Summer, The Marriage Bureau for Rich People by Farahad Zama that I

Will it ever be MY turn?

Will it ever be MY turn?

agreed to review, and Two Years, No Rain by Shawn Klomparens for our Summer Reading Series discussion here on the 18th.  I may also take Lottery by Patricia Wood, my book club’s pick for September, and Who by Fire by Diana Spechler, a book that has languished on my TBR pile for way too long.  

But realistically I don’t think I’ll be able to read 5 books in 10 days at the lake, unless I just ignore my mother in law, my husband’s sisters, the kids and their cousins.  However there will be a 5 hour flight and a 1 hour drive each way, and long afternoons on the beach, so I guess it’s possible!

I hope you are all enjoying your summer!

14 Responses

  1. My husband calls the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia God’s Country – I’ll have to tell him it’s actually Pennsylvania. Have a great trip!

  2. Good luck! I took a whole bag of books on my vacation last week, and ended up playing with my niece the whole time instead of reading. =)

  3. Where I grew up in PA, that’s actually their “motto.” You can find it on car licenses, t shirts, hats, billboards, etc. Potter County, PA is God’s Country. : )
    I still live in PA but don’t get up to those gorgeous mountains very often. I have to agree with the folks there though… it is breathtakingly beautiful.

  4. Have a great trip!!

  5. I’m getting ready to leave on a long trip too and I am so excited about all the books I’m bringing with. You will love The Art of Racing in the Rain. It quickly became one of my absolute favorites and it’s my go-to when recommending books to friends. It’s that book I push into everyone’s hands🙂 Lottery is a really great read too. What an amazing narrative voice. Who By Fire is on my TBR pile too. Love to know how you liked it when you finish.

  6. Have fun! 🙂

  7. It will be a nice break to be unplugged – until you come back of course, and see the backup! Have a wonderful trip!!!

  8. Have a wonderful trip, Lisa. I’ve found that plane rides are the best time for reading and make the time fly by (pardon the pun). I look forward to your reviews.

    (P.S. Last weekend I brought a bag of various books with me as we were staying at a mountain cabin, only to discover a different book at the cabin which I ended up reading!)

    (P.P.S. New book giveaways posted on blog’s my sidebar!)

  9. HAVE A GREAT TIME!

  10. Have a great time! Even if you don’t get the reading in, you’ll still have a blast.

  11. Have a great time and a safe trip! We’ll miss you at the book bloggers’ meet-up this weekend.

  12. Have a marvelous time!

  13. Have a great time in Penn. I drive through it occasionally on the way to see my parents in Massachusetts.

  14. Hope you’re having a wonderful time.

    –Anna

Leave a Reply

