Sunday Salon

Weird weekend.  The Hub and my youngest are in Vegas at the Excalibur Hotel for my friend’s 40th birthday party.  My youngest called Friday night..  “Mom!  Mommy!  It’s 100 degrees, at night!  Mom, it was 110 in Baker!  Mom, Mom, I can see the pyramid from my room!  We are in a castle tower.  I’m like a princess, Mom!”  She has never been away from me like this, alone with her dad.  I thought she might miss me, ha ha.  She’s too excited to think about it.  I had to remind The Hub to make sure she wears sunscreen and to not forget that she gets hungry at regular intervals (he is the type of man who would go all day without eating unless someone was there, handing him a sandwich). 

My girls in Yosemite

My girls in Yosemite

My oldest has a serious virus so she and I are home.  The doctor isn’t sure what she has but suspects mono or West Nile Virus.  She could have picked up mono at camp in July.  She could have been bitten by a West Nile-carrying mosquito on our recent trip to Pennsylvania or Yosemite.   It can’t be something normal like a cold, oh no.  That would be too easy, and nothing is easy with this kid.  Not that it’s her fault, but sheesh.  

Through sheer force of will I am going to MAKE her well so that she can attend her first day of junior high on Monday.  She had such high hopes for her first day as a 7th grader- starting off on the right foot, making new friends, finding her way

Did a mosquito get her??

Did a mosquito get her??

around.  If she has mono she could miss a lot of the first two weeks of school and will have to sit out of PE for a couple of months.  There are worse fates in life than missing school and sitting out of PE, but she’s a kid and she’s worried the other kids will think she’s different (of course, we won’t tell them that she actually IS different.. that is our little secret.  Shhhh.)  Junior high is hard enough without being singled out socially. 

The doctor said if she has no fever, is eating, and feels better by Sunday, she could go to school Monday.  Her fever came down yesterday but I’ll have to see how she is today. She’s still sleeping and I am crossing my fingers.  She’s been sick since Tuesday and has eaten nothing more than one or two bites of food at a time all week- which is scary because she’s 11 years old and now weighs 69 pounds (5 lbs lost since Tuesday).  Her body fat is close to zero-she can’t lose any more weight.  Yesterday, even without the fever, she was shaky, pale, and weak.  But maybe after 10 hours of sleep we’ll see a big improvement. 

imagesSo last night, as my daughter sipped Gatorade and I sipped Chardonnay, we watched 17 Again with Zac Ephron and Matthew Perry.  That Zac, he is quite pretty.  A little gay looking, perhaps, but awfully cute.  The movie was ok- I think my girl liked it more than I did.  Even though this wasn’t the way we planned to spend the last weekend of summer, snuggling up and watching a movie together wasn’t too terrible.

Reading update- I am reading when I am not playing nursemaid and wiping things down with Clorox bleach wipes.  I’m about halfway through Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger, and so far, so good!  After that I’ll be cracking open either Who By Fire by Diana Spechler or A Field Guide to Burying Your Parents by Liza Palmer.  And I have a big backlog of reviews to write.  I’ll list them here.. leave a comment to let me know which review you’d like to see first and I’ll try to get to it tonight. 

Life of Pi by Yann Martel

The Marriage Bureau for Rich People by Farahad Zama

Two Years, No Rain by Shawn Klomparens

Lottery by Patricia Wood

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins 

Thank you all so much for stopping by my blog.  It means a lot to me that you come by and read my silly thoughts.  Oh, OH!  And (excited!!!!!!!!!) I want to thank whoever was kind enough to nominate me for BBAW!  Books on the Brain got nominated in 4 categories and I’m super grateful and excited to be included!  THANK YOU! 

Have a great week!  And please think healthy thoughts for my incoming 7th grader!

35 Responses

  1. Oooh! Don’t know where I’ve been but I didn’t know about Niffenegger’s new book! Thanks!

  2. How awful about possible Nile virus or mono! And I know exactly how she feels about worrying what the other kids will think. 7th grade seems to be the biggest time for that too. I will be thinking healthy thoughts!!!

    • Thanks. Girls, especially, can be so mean at this age. There was a small group of them last year that were quite vicious with comments about her size, but that was grade school, and I’m hoping they will fade into the sea of junior high.

  3. Hope your kiddo feels better today. Sounds like she has a great mom.

    I’m looking forward to reading Her Fearful Symmetry, but I’m afraid that if I add one more book to the nightstand it will collapse under the weight of more words.🙂

  4. Oh man, that is scary. I hope your daughter is well soon and they can give you a definitive answer as to what the virus is. Don’t worry about your younger daughter, she will survive even if she isn’t fed and watered on time. Don’t forget to take care of yourself!

    • HI Kathy, you’re right, of course. My younger one is having a fabulous time with daddy- we did a Skype call last night and she was such a chatterbox telling me everything they were doing, and when she finally took a breath and gave me an opportunity to ask a question, our friends were rushing them out the door. She can eat when she comes home tonight🙂

  5. I sure hope she gets better. I know the first day of school is so important. Who wants to miss that day?

    Thanks again for participating in Dog Days of Summer. Please send me your address and I’ll mail the bookmarks out next week.🙂

    I’m not quite as far into Her Fearful Symmetry as you are. I didn’t get much reading done this week. LOL! I’m just starting the second section with the twins arriving in London.

    • Thanks, Jen. I would like to see her go to school and I know she feels like there is no way she can miss it. Fingers crossed.

      Dog Days was fun! I’ll send you my address. OH, and because of your review, I’m dying to read the Dogs of Babel.

      I’m excited to hear what you think of Her Fearful Symmetry. If I didn’t know it was the same author at TTTW I would never suspect it.

  6. I hope your daughter is feeling better today.

    I’d like to see you post about Lottery. I have it on my TBR Shelf, but haven’t read it yet.

  7. So very sorry to hear your girl is sick. That’s never fun, especially at the beginning of a school year, and it sure does seem that she’s had a tough time of things with this illness. Hoping that she is feeling better soon.

    And congratulations on the BBAW nominations! Very well-deserved!

    • Thanks, Melissa. The timing is sooooo bad. She wanted to make a good first impression with the other kids. I know how upset she is and hopefully she’ll be able to attend the first day.

      And thanks for the congratulations! I’m very humbled and excited.

  8. So excited that you’re reading Her Fearful Symmetry. You’ll have to drop by and join the collective gushing when you’re finished.

    Also, I watched 17 Again a couple nights ago, and Zac Efron makes me feel like a dirty old lady, even though I’m only 5 years old than he is. I think it’s because he’s so young in the HSM movies. Oy vey.

    Hope the docs get everything figured out with your daughter. *sending happy thoughts*

  9. You know… when I got really sick it was after a Yosemite trip but it ended up be Lupus. Something environmental caused me to be sick yet we still do not know to this day what.

    I sure hope she feels better soon. It seems to me that they should be able to test for Mono or West Nile and let you know exactly what it is unless it’s an auto-immune response to something.

    We saw 17 Again and Zac is definitely a pretty boy.

    • SHe had bloodwork done on Thursday and we should know something by Tues or Wed. They thought at first it was strep and the doctor was very surprised when that test came back negative. Her throat is very inflamed and infected.

      I had no idea Lupus could have environmental causes!

  10. I hope your girl is all the way better tomorrow! Poor thing.

    I’m glad you are making the best of your time together.

    And I’m terribly jealous of all of you that have HER FEARFUL SYMMETRY🙂.

  11. Your poor daughter! I hope she’s well enough for her first day of school. That’s a big milestone for her.

  12. I am glad your youngest is having a good time in Las Vegas, but sorry to hear your oldest is home sick. I hope it doesn’t turn out to be mono. Not that West Nile virus would be such a good thing either. Your poor child! I do hope she’s feeling better soon!

    I need to read Time Traveler’s Wife one of these days. I meant to get to it this month but that didn’t happen. The best laid plans . . . I am glad to hear you are enjoying Her Fearful Symmetry.

    I hope you have a great week, Lisa! Many healthy thoughts going out to your oldest. Congratulations too on your nominations for BBAW awards!

  13. I hope your daughter feels better soon! I totally understand about being behind in reviews – I’m there too.

  14. Hope your daughter gets well soon! Starting junior high is such an exciting time. And OMG, “That Zac, he is quite pretty. A little gay looking, perhaps, but awfully cute.” I seriously lol-ed over that hilarity! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Life of Pi.

  15. Sorry to hear about your oldest! Starting jr. high definitely doesn’t need to be any more complicated than it already is. Hope she’s feeling better and can make her first day!

    Can’t wait to hear what you’ve got to say about Her Fearful Symmetry. I’m very curious as to how it measures up to Time Traveler’s Wife.

  16. I hope your daughter gets well soon!

    I can’t wait to read your review on Her Fearful Symmetry! This book has been onto my wishlist the moment I have heard of it. ;P

  17. I listened to 17 again while I was blogging and they were watching it. I did see the scene where he was dancing with the mom and I thought it was cute.

    Positive thoughts for L’s speedy recovery.

    Also… congrats on your nominations! You deserve it!

    Hugs.

    Sheri

  18. Keep us up to date about your daughter! Neither diagnosis sounds like fun, actually they both sound pretty scary.

    Congrats on the BBAW nominations!

  19. Mmm Zac. I love him. I went to see that movie the day it came out in theaters with a group of my girlfriends. We were eight 23-year-old girls squealing like we were 14. I’m almost the same age as him, so I can’t even brush it off as an underage crush. I have a legit crush on him. Tell your daughter I can relate.

    My boyfriend surprised me with 17 Again the day it came on DVD. Then I, of course, made him watch it with me. Now he has a man crush on Zac.

  20. […] on Guest Post: Allyson Roy, auth…Allyson Roy on Guest Post: Allyson Roy, auth…Kari on Sunday SalonJanel on […]

  21. I hope your daughter recovers quickly. And I am with you about Zac Ephron. I don’t get it.

  22. I hope your daughter feels better! I also hope you recognize that you have a few homosexual readers who might not be so happy about your characterization of Zac Ephron as “gay” — yeah okay, he’s a pretty boy but that doesn’t make him gay; let’s stay away from the stereotypes okay?

    • I didn’t say Zac was gay! I said pretty, awfully cute, and “gay-looking”, or is that wrong? Someone can’t look a little gay? Sorry, I truly don’t mean to offend anybody.

      • Lisa, I’m sorry. I know you weren’t trying to be offensive. I know quite a few big, masculine guys that are also gay who wouldn’t really appreciate that characterization. I’m sure you just meant that he was effeminate looking, not in a stereotypical, offensive way.

  23. Would like to see what you thought of Life of Pi!🙂 I’ve been hearing of a couple of new projects he’s working on – one is another fiction novel, and the other is quite a strange project where he sends out books to Stephen Harper, just to read and enjoy. I posted about it on my blog, http://infloox.wordpress.com/ – have a look, it’s strangely intriguing🙂

  24. Aw, your poor daughter! If she does have mono, I’ll hope it was like my case in college. I was the most sick I had ever been in my life, convinced I was going to die and unable to walk, eat, or swallow (couldn’t even take the painkillers!). I even lost a ton of hair because apparently that’s what your body does when you’re that sick. But in the end I missed out on the lingering weakness that all the other people I knew got after the initial illness. So I hope she is done being very sick and can get better in time for school!

Leave a Reply

