Fresh Meat for the Wolves

IMG_4105

Some of you may know that my daughter has been sick in the last week and I wasn’t sure if she’d start school today.  She’s going to junior high now, which of course is a VERY BIG DEAL.  I just wanted you to know that she has improved tremendously and was able to start 7th grade this morning with the rest of her classmates.

She was nervous and excited.  So was I, but for different reasons.  It felt a little bit like throwing her to the wolves- some of those junior high boys have actual facial hair!  And the makeup on the girls, whew!  Heavy eyeliner, boobs, hair, ugh!!  These kids are 11-13 years old (going on 16, apparently!).  My little girl looked very, very little.  I had to fight the impulse to just scoop her up and take her right back home.

She’ll be fine, right??

35 Responses

  1. I hope she has a great day! Her hair looks awesome!

  2. Your “little” girl looks very grown up! The boys are the easy part, I’m sorry to say. It’s the girls that are the hardest part of junior high to other girls. Just always encourage her to be herself–although at that age, it’s not always clear who that is!

    • If you saw a picture of her in a group, you’d see how little she is. But I agree she looks quite grown up today.

      I know what you mean about the girls. They can be evil.

      Luckily she really does have a strong sense of herself. Thanks!

  3. I’m so glad to see that she’s doing better! Your daughter is gorgeous – you better watch out for those boys! She will be fine!

  4. Oh gosh, don’t say that! I have one more year before my daughter heads to the “wolf den”!

  5. Oh, they grow up so fast. I sent my baby girl to kindergarten and that was no easier, I’ll tell ya.

  6. She will be fine and looks adorable for her first day of school. I felt the same way when my son started Junior High…he is now a Sophmore in high school He seemed so small and some of those 8th grade boys were over 6″ tall! I can’t imagine what it must be like to have a daughter…seems like it would make me worry more!

  7. She does look grown up! And I love her backpack!

    And I think you’re doing great. If I had a little girl, I wouldn’t let her out of the house until she was, oh, say, 32 or so! :–)

  8. I know how you feel….middle school here starts with 6th grade, so my still-10-year-old daughter is in the middle of it all, having started 6th grade a few weeks ago. And she is tiny, too– only 4’9″. Luckily she has an older (and protective) 8th grade brother–who is not so small, by the way, he’s 5’9″– at the same school!

    I am sure the school year will go fine for your daughter!!!

  9. Good luck with the school year. I teach 7th grade. I know how it is.

  10. Her hair looks adorable!

    I miss seeing her with the glasses! She’s growing up so much, Mom!

    S

  11. I’m sure she’ll be just fine. She’s a beautiful girl! My girl started 4th grade today. The time just flies by, doesn’t it?

  12. She’s a pretty girl! Oh, don’t worry, she’ll be fine!🙂

  13. I’m sure your daughter will be just fine! My son started middle school last year, and though it was traumatic in the beginning, he made it through unscathed! She looks happy–that’s a good start!

  14. She looks so mature…I think it’s the hair.

    Hope she had a good day!

  15. SOOOOOO glad she was better and didn’t miss her first day. That would be hard. She looks so grown up! Great photo!

  16. She doesn’t look so little to me. She looks like a mature, young woman who is ready to take on the wolves😉

    • Well, I don’t know about the maturity thing, LOL

      Thanks, Ti. Hey, did you get your copy of Goldengrove yet? I didn’t.. Trish said because we were on the west coast it was taking longer.

  17. Awww, she looks adorable!

    I know just what you mean. I left my daughter at Kindergarten for the first time last week and had the same reaction – I just wanted to scoop her up and bring her back home.

    I hope she had a great day!

    • Thanks, Heather! She did have a great first day.

      Kindergarten is a big step for both your daughter and for you. Hope she had a good first day too!

  18. I’m glad she was able to go the first day. I thought the same thing about my son. He seemed so young compared to so many of the 8th graders!

  19. Thanks for sharing the photo of your daughter’s first day. Leah will be heading to school (2nd grade) on Thursday and my baby will be going to pre-school the week after!

  20. Hey Lisa my 8th grade son said your daughter is………… HOT!!!

  21. So glad she was feeling well enough to start school! Yes, middle school is a big transition … You’ll be fine (as will she!)

    • Transition.. definitely. She’s been by turns grumpy and elated all week. We’re riding an emotional roller coaster around here.

      Other changes– she’s been doing homework for the last hour, on a Saturday. She has 3 honors classes and it seems the homework load is going to be heavy. Not looking forward to the battles over homework that are surely going to come..

  22. […] on Review and Giveaway: The Guer…cbjames on Review: The Marriage Bureau f…Lisamm on Fresh Meat for the WolvesLisamm on Fresh Meat for the WolvesLisamm on Fresh Meat for […]

  23. […] week was interesting.  My oldest started junior high and her emotions have been all over the map!  The first day she was all YAY! and I LOVE SCHOOL! […]

Leave a Reply

