Waiting my turn for Catching Fire

scollins-330-Catching_fire_cI read The Hunger Games in August.  LOVED it.  I was totally engrossed and could not put it down.  My 11 year old read it after me.  Also loved it.  So we were thrilled to see that they had the sequel at the Scholastic Book Fair that I chaired at the junior high a couple weeks ago.

Catching Fire was literally flying off the shelves, even in hardback, even at $17.99.  I had to place a restock order twice during the one week fair.  Teachers were buying it, kids were begging their parents for it, and the librarian got 6 copies.  Scholastic also sent 25 copies of The Hunger Games in paperback at $8.99 and I sold out of them within two hours on the first day of the fair.  I ordered 50 more and sold them all.

My daughter’s eyes lit up when she saw all those copies of Catching Fire, that beautiful stack of crimson books.  “Please, Mom, can we get it?”  What she didn’t know was that I was way ahead of her.. I had already purchased it!!

I planned to read it first, but she got to it before I did.  She was reading it at dinner last night when she actually gasped, covered her mouth and looked at me with these huge eyes.  “Don’t tell me!  Seriously, do NOT tell me!” I said sternly.  “I have to, Mom!!  You are not going to believe it!  Katniss..” she began, but I stuck my fingers in my ears and said, “la la la la la” until she finally backed down and said, “OK! OK!  I’ll keep it to myself!  But PROMISE ME you’ll read this as soon as I’m done!”

She won’t have to twist my arm.

20 Responses

  1. Oh, that’s so funny. But seriously, do NOT let her give you any spoilers!

  2. Awesome it’s selling so well! That really makes me happy.🙂 I know you’ll enjoy it.

  3. I bet she gasped at the same spot I did!

  4. Wow! Think I need to read both of these books!

  5. You guys!!!! You are torturing me! Well, I am happy to say that my library finally got their copy of the audio book in stock, so I’ve ordered it. The kids and I will take a break from the Harry Potter audios when it comes in. Then we can all gasp together!

  6. Wow, I’m so glad it’s so popular! I agree with Jen though, don’t let her spoil it for you!!

  7. I was waiting, waiting, waiting for this book from the library. Finally, I could not stop myself; I saw it at Wal-Mart and I bought it. (I used a gift card, so that doesn’t really count as buying a book, right?)

  8. It’s great to know that kids want books! I think it’s so fun that you get to share these books with your daughter.

  9. Too funny! Why is that when we WANT our kids to tell us things, they don’t want to do it, but when we DON’T want them to tell us things, they are super-eager to spill the beans?! ~LOL~

  10. That’s fantastic that your 11 year old gets excited about books and reading. Sounds like you will enjoy the book as well!

  11. That’s so funny! I do that too; buy books for my cousin planning to read them first. Somehow she always manages to start reading it first and then she just puts it in her bag and take it home with her.

  12. I can’t wait to read this one either. My mom picked it up for me (small town and no bookstore carried it) and I will get it from her this weekend!

  13. Your daughter is a little stinker!! Taunting you like that! The nerve. I probably would have done the same thing though.

  14. Ack! Waiting is the worst- especially when everyone around you keeps trying to spoil it🙂

  15. I wish my mother had read when I was young! I hear all these stories about reading with kids/teens and it didn’t happen in my house. I always said if I have kids they will be readers, but I don’t have kids. I have moved on to nieces and nephews will be readers… when my siblings get around to having some, that is!

    Sorry, just had to say.🙂

  16. ha! i’d be busting into her room in the dark of night and spiriting it away to read it myself!

    i finally got ahold of my library copy (what, did they order only ONE?!!? it took long enough for me to get it!) and read it once and am now on my second go ’round with it.

    i’m with your daughter!

    *GASP* KATNISS….

  17. I haven’t yet read this book or Hunger Games. I didn’t really think the subject matter was for me but everybody who reads these books seems to love them. I think I’m going to have to give them a try if just out of sheer curiosity now!

  18. My kids loved both of these books as well, and my husband and I have just started The Hunger Games as a read aloud book. We have only done the first chapter, but it starts out blazing! I am so glad to finally be reading the books, and hope you enjoy Catching Fire.

  19. I believe it is that popular…and I believe that you will gasp….I can’t wait to see what you think.

  20. You’re like a walking/blogging ad for the Scholastic book fairs – that must have been great, to see these two flying off the shelves!

    So, has your daughter passed CATCHING FIRE along to you yet?

Leave a Reply

