Twelve

IMG_4534My baby turns 12 today.  I can’t quite believe it.  We had birthday cake for breakfast and she opened her presents before school.

I tried to cram all my feelings about her into her birthday card.  I told her how much I love her, how she means the world to me, how much my life has changed because of her, how she has made me a better person, how proud I am of the person she is and the young lady she is becoming.

No card is big enough to hold it all but I think she knows how much she’s loved.  And if during those moments when we’re not getting along she forgets a little bit, well, she can re-read the card.

She got a few books for her birthday.  I think she was happy about that.

IMG_4537
She’s growing up, but she’ll always be my baby.

IMG_4543

Goodbye, eleven.  Hello, twelve!

IMG_4547

20 Responses

  1. Happy birthday to your baby! It’s a great day for birthdays – my dad is 90 today!

  2. Tell Laura I said Happy Birthday!

  3. Happy birthday to Laura! My youngest is 12! It’s a wonderful age.🙂

  4. Happy Birthday to her! She’s almost exactly 6 months older than my girl. Thanks for sharing those wonderful pictures.

  5. This post brought tears to my eyes. My baby will turn 12 next March. Sometimes I look at her and can’t believe she has grown into the young woman she is today. We have our moments (we are soooo much alike, and that means trouble sometimes) but she brings so much joy to my life as well. Happy Birthday to Laura!

  6. I thought she was older than twelve! Happy Bday to her!

  7. She is (well, both of them are) gorgeous. I’m just thinking of Daniel and can’t imagine him at 12! Happy Birthday to Laura and a big hug to mom.

  8. Happy Birthday to your baby!🙂

  9. Happy Birthday Laura!!

  10. Happy Birthday to Laura!! She’s adorable! And she looks so happy. You are so sweet and such a proud mom, you wrote a lovely post and it brought tears to my eyes.

    I’m also happy to know Laura is a reader to! yay!

    Best wishes for a wonderful year!

  11. Have a happy birthday…..my daughter’s birthday is today too!!

  12. Happy Birthday! I hope she had a great day!

    Nov. 4th IS the best b-day ever – I should know, since it is mine too.🙂 When I was a kid I loved the fact that every few years we’d be off school on my b-day for election day – I bet your daughter enjoys that as well!

  13. Happy birthday! I hope she has a great one and that all her birthday wishes come true!

  14. What a wonderful way to start the day…and the cake and presents aren’t bad either!

  15. happy birthday to your baby!! i bet those 12 years went by in a snap! hang on to her…and your little one. they’ll be in college before you know it.

    (gee, just call me the grim reaper or something. i’m spreading sunshine wherever i go today…haha.)

  16. Tell my fello Scorpio that I said “Happy Birthday!”

    S

  17. She’s gonna be a heartbreaker🙂

  18. A bit of a belated happy birthday to your daughter. Man, it goes fast, doesn’t it?

  19. A VERY belated happy birthday to a BEAUTIFUL young lady (12 going on 25, I see). Don’t grow up too fast, Laura, and try to remember to whisper “I love you” to your mom along the way (she needs to hear it as much as you do).

Leave a Reply

