Teaser Tuesday- November 24, 2009

Miz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to: Grab your current read. Let the book fall open to a random page. Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12. You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

My teaser comes from page 51 of When the Emperor Was Divine by Julie Otsuka.  At 144 pages this is a minimalist story told by a young boy about his Japanese American family during WWII, when they are split up and sent to the internment camps.

My (step) grandparents were children during WWII and went to the camps with their families, so I have a personal interest in these kinds of stories.  I’m pre-reading this one to see if it would be ok for my 12 year old daughter to read.  So far, so good.  Here’s the teaser, from page 51:

“There was a window above the boy’s bed, and outside were the stars and the moon and the endless rows of black barracks all lined up in the sand.  In the distance, a wide empty field where nothing but sagebrush grew, then the fence and the high wooden towers.”

17 Responses

  1. I think it would be a good book for a 12 year old. The story is spare and simply told. The only part that might be difficult for a 12 year old is the part about the family dog – it was a dog, wasn’t it?

    • I’m only about 50 pages in but I’ve already read the part about the family dog (right in the beginning). She’ll be horrified but if that’s the most difficult thing for a kid than I think she’ll be ok with the book. Thank you for letting me know!

  2. this one is already on my TBR list – I didn’t realize it was so short, maybe I should move it up!🙂

  3. Lisa, the landscape described sounds spare and ominous. Thanks for sharing a bit of this book.

  4. This sounds like a good book. Here is my teaser for this week.

  5. Nice teaser! Sounds like a good book about a very sad and difficult subject.

  6. I’ll look forward to your final opinionn. I have a 12 year old too, and think these types of books are good for them to read. Do you think it might stop her from complaining that I won’t buy her a new pair of boots?

  7. It sounds great…and this is the first I’ve heard of it.

  8. What a word picture. I’ve read other books about the internment camp experience (most of them YA-geared, I believe), and all of them have been wonderful and terrifying at the same time. This one doesn’t sound any different. Great teaser!

    If you’d like, you can check out mine here.

  9. I can’t imagine surviving through something like that. Truly amazing what some humans are capable of.

  10. I agree, those tales from world war 2 is intriguing and wonderful to read.

  11. Ooh! I liked this teaser! I am going to be doing some more digging on this book, it looks like a perfect read for me!

  12. Great teaser! This sounds like a really good book!

  13. This sounds very interesting!

Leave a Reply

