The Sunday Salon – January 10, 2009

Happy Sunday, everybody.  I’m sitting in my family room that is flooded with bright sunlight trying to wrap my head around the fact that this is January.  We’ve had blue skies and temps in the mid to upper 70s for over a week.  While it’s not unusual to have a day like that in January in Southern California, an entire week is weird, even for us.  We are enjoying it by getting out to ride bikes, visiting the beach, etc.  Typical January activities, right?  (I apologize to all you frozen-over mid-westerners for rubbing it in!)

This past week has been a whirlwind for us, trying to get back into a normal routine after the loosey-goosey schedule of winter break.  The Hub’s been in Vegas for a convention since Tuesday so the girls and I have been on our own.  I’ve gotten back to work and it’s a good thing because things had really piled up while I was off playing with the kids.  School mornings have been crazy (nobody wants to get up) and the homework battles have begun anew.  The kids have also taken to fighting over who gets to sleep with me each night while Dad’s away.  Tonight is the last night before he comes home and I think I’m going to demand that everyone sleep in their own bed.

The kids and I have been reading in the evenings.  My youngest and I are reading Fablehaven by Brandon Mull together for our mother/child book club and really enjoying it.  (My oldest is already on Book 4 of the series).  It’s the story of a brother and sister who go to their reclusive grandparents’ home for 2 weeks while their parents are on a cruise.  The home and property turn out to be a centuries-old refuge for mystical creatures (fairies, etc.) that can only be seen by drinking special milk.  Reading Fablehaven has been a great way for me to get my kids to drink their milk!!

I’m currently reading an old favorite author, Sue Grafton, and her latest, U is for Undertow.  I’d stopped reading this series a few years ago (the last one I read was M is for Malice) but I have no idea why… I LOVE Sue Grafton’s sense of humor, and this book is really fun.  My kids have caught me laughing out loud several times (it’s a mystery but her humor shines throughout).  Her sarcasm and wit just kill me and the way she intersects the various characters is really clever.  Now I’ll have to go back and read N, O, P, Q, R, S, and T to see what I’ve missed!

Tonight is book club night and it’s my turn to host our meeting.  I had my servants kids dusting and vacuuming in preparation yesterday.  The whining and complaining could be heard for miles around.  I decided to go super easy with the food and order out- Pizza Hut makes an awesome chicken fettucini alfredo so that’s what I’m serving.  No cooking!  Tonight we will discuss The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne.  We’re also going to watch the movie.  This is something new for us and I’m looking forward to discussing the book vs. movie.  It was such a powerful book and I can’t wait to see Hollywood’s interpretation of it.

Well I’m off to rouse the troops- the bathrooms need attention, the dog needs her pills, the front porch needs to be hosed off, the dishwasher needs emptying, clothes need to be  put away.. the list goes on.  It’s not easy being a taskmaster but someone has to do it!

Thanks for stopping by Books on the Brain.  Leave me a note and tell me what you’re up to this weekend.

Have a great week!

14 Responses

  1. My kids got an extra three days off because of the weather and they’re ready to get back to school. But I think our mornings won’t be any less hectic than yours because of it! I really quite liked heading into work without having to get two extra people moving the past couple of weeks and not have the homework battles.

  2. It’s been freezing here in the South too. There’s ice on the ponds in our neighborhood. Carl threw a rock at one this morning to see how thick the ice is and the rock bounced off of it.

    You’re a better mom than I am. I never let Vance sleep with me because I would never get any sleep with him in the bed – he moved around too much.

  3. I’m trying to clean house, too…I’m guessing your girls wouldn’t want to come over and help me out?

  4. We’ve had blue skies and temps in the mid to upper 70s for over a week

    I. HATE. YOU.

    I apologize to all you frozen-over mid-westerners for rubbing it in!

    Yeah, yeah… that’s what my Texan mother says when she’s telling me all about her cold, 50 degree, weather… “Had to put on a sweater!” You’re not sorry. :-p

    Trying to get back on schedule around here’s been tough, too, and the snow and cold and delays and early dismissals didn’t help. Did I mention I hate you?

    The cover for Fablehaven looks really nice. I’ll have to add that to the black hole of Mt. TBR. And I enjoyed The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, but I think the movie was a bit better. Have a good book club night. I’m finishing up with my Bloggiesta stuff, and hoping to finish up Any Given Doomsday🙂

  5. Oh, so, that’s where our wonderful temperate winter weather went! We’ve been suffering through FREEZING temps for the past four days. Trust me, this is not our normal Gulf Coast Texas weather. And add a miserable cold on top of that and you’ve got one whiney reader here.

  6. The weather is just gorgeous today! I spent a good chunk of it in my backyard, book in hand. It was lovely.

  7. Even in Florida, we woke up to weather in the 20’s today. I want my tropical sun back! My husband is about to go out of the country for a week and a half, and while it is nice not having to cook a “real” meal, I do get lonely dealing with the kids by myself.

    I am an addict of Sue Grafton. I did not know that U was out, so I will have to see if I can buy it on Kindle. She is hilarious, and I never tire of Kinsey’s escapades.

  8. We’re back from a trip to California Adventure and Disneyland. The weather was perfect (my apologies, too, to frozen-over mid-westerners)!

    We saw the movie version of The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, which I found quite touching. I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on the movie if you share them.

  9. I stayed in bed most of the day today… but, then I got up and deep cleaned my room (and closet). I also got my book review typed for How To Save YOL. I cleared out my emails and ordered Whatta Lotta Pizza so that I didn’t have to cook.

    I miss you!

    Hugs.

    Sheri

  10. I came to you through Lost in Books and am so very glad I did. I love your style of writing, housekeeping, and bringing up the children. I doubt my children would have been so obedient though!

    Weather doesnt make me envious as I am in a tropical country where we would be most pleased if the temperature could hit the 20’s.

    I have been reading all your posts and they are all wonderful.

  11. I read and enjoyed Boy in the Striped Pajamas, and have the movie in my NetFlix queue. I’m anxious to hear how the movie holds up to the book. Please let us know.

  12. The boat show wasn’t very exciting but we did drive by and look at our boat on the marina lot and it’s finally been shrinkwrapped to keep off the many inches of snow. So that’s a relief. AND they have it parked in a terrific spot for a quick fast return to water on the first almost-spring day we get – maybe April!??! can’t wait…

  13. sounds like you are getting a handle on reading! That’s a good thing. have a great week.

  14. Both of my kids just loved the Fablehaven books and I hope yours do as well. I am interested in hearing about how your discussion on The Boy in The Striped Pajamas goes and I think I will try to put the movie into my queue at Netflix. It sounds like you and the kids will be glad to have your husband home soon, even if it means kicking everyone out of the bed! I hope you have a great week and get to have some uninterrupted reading time soon.

Leave a Reply

