Teaser Tuesday – January 12, 2010

Miz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to: Grab your current read. Let the book fall open to a random page. Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12. You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

My teaser today comes from page 95 of American Rust by Philipp Meyer, a powerful book sent to me by Random House for a TLC Book Tour, which kicks off today on The Blue Stocking Society with a giveaway to celebrate the trade paperback release!

The first two random pages I picked didn’t work out- the book is told in sort of a stream of consciousness style and the first one just would not have made any sense, while the second one contained the “f” word.  In keeping with my blog’s PG rating, I thought it would be best to keep looking!  So here’s my third random teaser-

“She pulled in next to the trailer and there she was, his mother, dressed for church and him standing in his underpants in the driveway, nearly one o’clock in the afternoon.  She shook her head, but not in a friendly way.”

This book has commanded my attention in a way I haven’t been grabbed by a book in ages..

10 Responses

  1. What’s a mother to do, right? Can’t say I’m in love with that cover, but the book sounds interesting. Nice teaser, too!
    Mine’s here:
    http://jlshall.blogspot.com/2010/01/teaser-tuesdays-play-it-as-it-lays.html

  2. Can’t wait for this to arrive!

  3. I am intrigued by this teaser!

    BTW…love your blog header! I’ve never been here before, but I’ll be back!

    My teaser:

    http://laurel-rain-snow.blogspot.com/2010/01/teaser-tuesdays_12.html

  4. The book sounds really interesting. Looking forward to your review.

    Here is my teaser: http://web.me.com/quirion/Bookaddict/Blog/Entries/2010/1/12_Tuesday_Teaser.html

  5. I will look forward to your review on this one. Even the cover grabs your attention. Reminds me of home.

  6. Nice teaser, very intriguing. Mine is at The Crowded Leaf.

  7. This was among my favorites of 2009, and I’m so glad to see you’re enjoying it!

  8. intriguing teaser!

    here’s mine!
    http://myflutteringheart.blogspot.com/2010/01/teaser-tuesday-13.html

    -Aimee
    http:myflutteringheart.blogspot.com

  9. Third time’s the charm! American Rust sounds intriguing!

  10. HAPPY NEW YEAR LISA!!!

    I have had a sample of this book downloaded on my Kindle since it came out last year. I am always glad to hear when someone is enraptured by a book in a way that hasn’t happened in forever. I have to get this one read this year. I just have too! Also, I prefer the hardcover graphic to the one posted here, which I’m guessing is the paperback cover.

Leave a Reply

