“Waiting on” Wednesday: The Girl Who Chased the Moon

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This is my first time participating!

My “can’t wait to read” selection is The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen, author of Garden Spells and The Sugar Queen, two books I thoroughly enjoyed.  I really like SAA’s particular brand of magic!

  • Hardcover: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Bantam (March 16, 2010)

From Amazon:

In her latest enchanting novel, New York Times bestselling author Sarah Addison Allen invites you to a quirky little Southern town with more magic than a full Carolina moon. Here two very different women discover how to find their place in the world—no matter how out of place they feel.

Emily Benedict came to Mullaby, North Carolina, hoping to solve at least some of the riddles surrounding her mother’s life. Such as, why did Dulcie Shelby leave her hometown so suddenly? And why did she vow never to return? But the moment Emily enters the house where her mother grew up and meets the grandfather she never knew—a reclusive, real-life gentle giant—she realizes that mysteries aren’t solved in Mullaby, they’re a way of life: Here are rooms where the wallpaper changes to suit your mood. Unexplained lights skip across the yard at midnight. And a neighbor bakes hope in the form of cakes.

Everyone in Mullaby adores Julia Winterson’s cakes—which is a good thing, because Julia can’t seem to stop baking them. She offers them to satisfy the town’s sweet tooth but also in the hope of rekindling the love she fears might be lost forever. Flour, eggs, milk, and sugar . . . Baking is the only language the proud but vulnerable Julia has to communicate what is truly in her heart. But is it enough to call back to her those she’s hurt in the past?

Can a hummingbird cake really bring back a lost love? Is there really a ghost dancing in Emily’s backyard? The answers are never what you expect. But in this town of lovable misfits, the unexpected fits right in.

What are you waiting for??

19 Responses

  1. Can you believe I haven’t read anything by her??!! I have heard so many good things. I need to get in the loop! Great pick…and I’m so glad you’re participating!

  2. Melody just featured this book as one in which she admired the cover (which is really very nice!). My response would be…anything that is set in the Carolinas gets my vote. You get instant atmosphere!

  3. I am waiting for Elizabeth Kostova’s new book, The Swan Thief, to be available on Kindle in April. Though the hardcover was released yesterday, it’s a big one at 576 pages. I read Kostova’s first novel when it came out in 2005 and that was a heavy/lengthy read, so since I have a Kindle now, I will read heavier/longer books on it instead of in book form.
    I sure hope you enjoy Miss Allen’s new release half as much as you did her first two books!!

  4. I haven’t read any of this author’s work yet. Clearly I need to rectify that situation!

  5. Yep, I’m also waiting on this one🙂

  6. I’d read Garden Spells and really enjoyed it so I’m definitely getting this one.😉

  7. This does look and sound like a good one.

    As for me, I’m waiting for . . .

    more TIME to read!🙂

  8. I didn’t know she had a new book coming out…I can’t wait!

  9. Ooh, I bet that’s a good one!

  10. I am sooooooo waiting for this one!!! I’ve loved all of her other books.

  11. I really like her books. Can’t wait for this new one.

  12. I came here from Jill’s waiting on Wednesday post, it’s interesting to see how everybody has an upcoming new release that they want to read, and every body is so different. I don’t have any now and I won’t have any in 2010 because I have bought too many books in the past and I haven’t caught up with my reading. I started my blog because I wanted to start documenting all the books that I bought and they are sitting in my house suffocating me…. I am slowly documenting them in the wish list section of my blog, so I can look at it and be reminded everyday that I have all these books lying in my shelf, underneath my bed, in my closet, on my dining table and kitchen counter that I had not even opened….I think I must have obsessive book buying behavior…

  13. I can’t wait for this book, along with Tana French’s newest and also book two in the Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie series!

  14. I finished Garden Spells this week and adored it! Can’t wait to read Snow Queen and this one!

  15. I loved Garden Spells and the Sugar Queen. I can’t wait for this one. It looks terrific.

  16. This cover reminds me of the artwork for The Girl on Legare Street. Something about the background seems very similar to me.

  17. I also loved both Garden Spells and The Sugar Queen. Can’t wait to see what you think about this one! I’ll probably end up pre-ordering it! =)

  18. Garden Spells is one of my absolute favorites! I can’t wait for this to come out.

  19. Gives thanks for your heads up, I’ve added your publish to my bookmarks. How can I add you to my RSS feeds? (I’m applying chrome)

Leave a Reply

