#bookclubproblems

1.  Not enough wine.  #wine #nowine #fail #pleasebringmorewine

2. When the conversation gets hijacked by the “smart one.” #boring #knowitall #shutup #idgafaboutyourmastersdegree

3. When there are too many side conversations going on.  #rude #annoying #RUDE #putasockinit

4.  When someone treats book club like a therapy session.  #whiner #personalproblems #stopit #canwepleasetalkaboutthebook  #passthetissues

5.  When someone RSVPs to bring a dessert then doesn’t show up for the meeting.  #flake #wheresmychocolate

6.  When someone doesn’t want you to ruin the ending for them because they haven’t finished the book.  #ohwell #sucksforyou #nexttimereadit

7.  When someone stays later than everyone else every month.  #goodnite #imtired #gohome

Please feel free to add your own hashtags in the comments!

13 Responses

  1. These are so true. We have a number 2 (lol) in our group and she drives me insane!

  2. Boy, you’ve covered the topic pretty thoroughly!😉 Would only add “When someone always complains the book had ‘too many characters'” #ohpleasenotagain #takenotesnexttime😉

  3. Hahaha! I think you got it all down. And I’ve experienced ALL of this, and I am not even in a book club!

  4. My fave is the “it’s too long” excuse. They see 500 pages and their eyes glaze over. #donthatethedoorstop

  5. That is so me! #nochunkstersforbookclub

  6. I am laughing so hard at these. I have experienced all of them with my book club!! Here’s mine to add to your list. When someone comes to the meeting having not read the book and spends the whole time outside smoking with another club member who also hasn’t read the book. #excusemedidyougetthememoaboutthisbeingaBOOKclub!

    • I’m glad I made you laugh!! Not all of them apply to my book club, but I’ve talked to so many people in clubs and some of the “problems” are practically universal. Here’s some hashtags for you: #gosmokesomewhereelse #readthedamnbook

  7. What a great list! I could relate to most of them and why I took a “break” from the book club I started. You could add to the list….not enough chocolate or when someone always finds fault in a book or a reason to dislike it.

Leave a Reply

