Here we go…

DownloadedFile-5So I updated my About Page recently and whoosh, three books arrived in my mailbox last week.  I’m excited to start reviewing again and hope to share one review a week.  I’m not the fastest reader ever, and not the fastest reviewer either.  But hey, a goal of once a week is better than going a whole year without a new post, right?

The books that found me this past week include ARCs of Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight (Harper Collins), Maya’s Notebook by Isabel Allende (Harper Collins), and TransAtlantic by Colum McCann (Random House).  All of them look fantastic, however I might pass TransAtlantic to my mom.  I didn’t request it and I have so much reading material that I fear it will languish on my shelves for years.  But I think my mom will love it, and I want it to be loved by someone rather than be neglected and collect dust, so off it will go.  If she loves it, I might give it a try.

I started Reconstructing Amelia last night and quickly breezed through the first 50 pages.  Already, teenage Amelia has jumped off the roof of her private school, or did she?  There’s a mystery and it’s just ramping up.  I’m nervous for the main character, Amelia’s mom, Kate.

Also last week, I purchased The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch on the Nook for my daughter, who needs to read it for her sophomore English class.  I haven’t read it myself but would like to at some point.  My 8th grade daughter borrowed Dead is the New Black by Marlene Perez from the library for her required RC reading.  It’s below her reading level, but her teacher doesn’t care what level they read at so long as they read 20 minutes a day.  She claims not to like reading, but I caught her giggling over this one.

I also used some Audible.com credits to get a couple more audio books for my husband, the non-reader.  Based on recommendations from both Sandy and Kathy, I got 11/22/63 by Steven King and Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson.  Thanks for the recommendations, ladies!

What are you reading this week?

13 Responses

  1. Oh, I think you’ll be happy with your audios! And Reconstructing Amelia was a rep pick at SIBA last fall, and I have it on my shelves whispering to me. I need to pull that thing out to remind myself.

  2. So glad you’re back to blogging ~ missed your posts!

    • Thanks, Patti! I missed it too. In fact, the reason I “came back” was because of the book I’m currently reading, The Happiness Project. Blogging makes me happy and I wanted more happiness in my life🙂

  3. I was lucky enough to get 8 Audible credits for my birthday, and I haven’t spent them yet, which means a book buying frenzy is coming up in the future! I love that you are getting new books as well!

    I am listening to Olive Kitteridge, and just think it’s amazing, and am reading a historical fiction novel called Reconstructing Jackson. My reading has picked up, and I am so glad!

    Have a great week!!

    • I really liked Olive Kitteridge! I think I reviewed that one years ago. Will have to check. I’ve been seeing Reconstructing Jackson on the blogs. Are you liking it?

      • I didn’t review it, actually, but I mentioned it in a Sunday Salon post in 2009. Here are my oh-so-wise words, ha ha!!
        My book club meets this afternoon to discuss Olive Kitteridge. New England clam chowder and donuts are on the menu! Olive is an odd bird, but I really liked her, and by the end of the book I felt I knew her better than probably any other character I’ve ever read about. And I missed her when the book was over! I loved the way the book was set up with different stories, some about Olive and some not, although she makes at least a brief appearance in each one. I’m looking forward to this discussion.

  4. Lisa, I hope you do read The Last Lecture. I read it in the early days of my blog “career”. Glad you’re finding more time to read–and post!

  5. I suggested 11/22/63 to my sister and she and her husband listened to it together and loved it. I think you will too!

  6. I have Reconstructing Amelia from SIBA and I’m really looking forward to it. Right now I’m finishing Unorthodox, a memoir about getting out of the Hasidic Jewish culture. Very interesting!

  7. Excited to read your reviews!

Leave a Reply

