Tuesday Teasers

Miz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to:
Grab your current read.
Let the book fall open to a random page.
Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
My teaser comes from page 205 of The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff, a novel about the history of polygamy in the United States and specifically in the LDS church.  David will be on tour through TLC Book Tours beginning October 15th, and stopping here at Books on the Brain October 30th (I’ll be giving away a 1st edition copy of the book).  You can view the full schedule HERE.

I’m expanding this teaser from 2 sentences to 4 just so that it makes sense.  This is from a section in the book where Chauncey Webb is asking the first Mrs. Webb for permission to take a 3rd wife.

I had probed Mrs. Webb’s most tender spot.  She could not deny that the Prophet had made this clear.  Her faith was always pure, while I layered mine with expediency.  I am ashamed of many things, but none so much as when I excused my passions in the name of God.

Oh!  This book is so good!

Play along, won’t you?  Show me your “teasers”.

7 Responses

  1. Lisa – I’m reading the 19th wife now too and I can’t stand to put it down!

  2. The 19th Wife is in my TBR pile and I can’t wait to get to it!

  3. It’s in my TBR pile too, but I’m thinking I should be reading it now! My teasers are here.

  4. I so want the book! Can’t seem to find it here in India!

    Kill word Verification

  5. Wow! That’s a good one.

  6. Hey stop teasing me! I am looking forward to this book. sound absolutely fascinating.

Leave a Reply

