RIP IV Challenge from Stainless Steel Droppings!

Generally I don’t do reading challenges- I don’t like to commit to preselected titles. I’m never sure what I’ll have time for and my tastes continuously change. What if I don’t want to read the books I’ve picked out? What if I take on too much and can’t finish? Will the Challenge Police write me a citation?

And my taste in books doesn’t typically run towards the dark, the gloomy, the supernatural. However, creepiness does hold an odd appeal to me, so maybe I could try…

The RIP IV Challenge post lists the following categories for reading selections:

rip4banner200Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural
.

And, look… look at the button. Beautiful, right? I wanted that button in my sidebar.

So I popped on over to Stainless Steel Droppings and read up on it. You don’t have to pre-select titles (check). There are different levels of participation. You can read as little or as much as you want (check, check). And I’ve already started a book that would fit nicely into the challenge (check, check, check). I’m in!

Some books I will consider, and one I’ve already started:

1. Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

2. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

3. The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff

4. The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Do you have any reading suggestions for me? Something amazing and dark, something sure to send shivers up my spine?  Please let me know!

Won’t you join me in the RIP IV Challenge? If so, go sign up! The challenge starts today and runs through October 31st.

18 Responses

  1. This challenge sounds like a lot of fun! Good luck!

  2. I am doing this challenge too. I love your list! All I know is that I plan to read The Little Stranger. That’s all I know for sure.

  3. I signed up for this one, too. But I’d like to keep my selection MYSTERIOUS!!!

  4. Wonderful choices. Have fun reading!

    Here is my RIP IV read list

  5. If you really want something amazing and dark and will keep you shifting in your seat cuz you’re actually caught up in the story try AFRAID by Jack Kilborn. It is intense.

  6. Those are perfect picks!! Especially The Graveyard Book. I just adore that book. Good luck and have fun!

  7. I think you’ll really enjoy The Angel’s Game. I loved that book so much and thought it was beautifully written.

  8. I LOVE Carl’s RIP challenge. I have Angel’s Game on my RIP list too (and was really close to putting Monsters of Templeton on there, but it got bumped by The Gargoyle)! I just finished Her Fearful Symmetry and think you will enjoy it!

  9. Glad you’re joining!
    Your list looks great! I’d highly recommend The Ghost Writer by John Harwood! That’s one of my favourite reads this year!!!

  10. Lisa, I have an award for you–please stop by my blog!

  11. Yay! HFS is on my list. Along with Dracula. And maybe The Woman in White and The Little Stranger.

  12. This challenge was so much fun last year; have fun. Lucky you for getting: Her Fearful Symmetry–enjoy

  13. i think i’ll do my own RIP challenge…and KILL my summer reading 2009 challenge until next memorial day. no guilt, just a little bit of murder. 30 books in 90 days was a bit more than i could cover when i had other books to read and an epic road trip to navigate. 🙂 good luck with your challenge–i’ve seen it all over and LOVE the idea. autumn/halloween is my FAVORITE time of year.

  14. I hope you read and enjoy The Monsters of Templeton. I really loved it. Angel’s Game is really dark. I loved that one, too. Welcome aboard!

  15. Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill and anything by Stephen King are good choices!

Leave a comment