Sunday Salon

Happy Sunday!  I have so much catching up to do, it’s ridiculous.  First, before another second goes by, let me announce the winners of two contests that were over long ago!  Valerie M. is the winner of the Agatha Christie’s Poirot DVD collection contest!  AND Shana from Literarily is the winner of Sweetsmoke by David Fuller!  Congrats to the winners!

My husband came home from China this week.  His business trip was extended an extra day due to a typhoon, but fortunately he got out ok and made it home without incident.  The kids divebombed him the second he walked through the door- “Daddy, daddy, we missed you, what’d ya bring me???”  He had all kinds of junk ancient Chinese artifacts.  My oldest was especially excited because her 6th grade class is studying ancient China right now.  She freaked out when she discovered he’d seen the Terra Cotta Warriors– he had no idea she was studying that in school and couldn’t believe how much she knew about it. Her class had a field trip Friday to the Bowers Museum to see the amazing Terra Cotta Warriors exhibit, the largest display of Emperor Qin’s army of 7,000 soldiers outside of China, where she proudly boasted that her daddy had been there just last week.  

My younger daughter (of I Hate You, Mom fame) was just happy to get a red shirt and red pajamas from China (red being her favorite color) along with lots of other cheap souvenirs I have no place to put lovely keepsakes.

I’ve been without a camera since March, when my old NIkon went in the shop and never came out. Apparently a 5 year old digital camera is an antique that is nearly impossible to get parts for.  I finally gave up hope of ever getting it back and bought myself a sweeeet new camera- a Canon EOS Rebel Digital SLR. It arrived this week from Best Buy Online (free shipping!) and all I want to do is play with it!  I LOVE IT and have been so busy reading the manual and figuring out all the features that I haven’t done much other reading.  (The picture on top is the first pic I took with my new camera.)  I’m still working on Peony in Love by Lisa See for my book club and it’s wonderful.  I plan to devote a couple of hours to it today.  Or maybe I’ll just take pictures.  We’ll see.

Oh, I also wanted to mention that we have two new TLC Book Tours starting this week:  Lesley Dormen, author of The Best Place to Be (tour schedule HERE), and Kim Powers, author of Capote in Kansas (tour schedule HERE), will be making the rounds.  

What have you been up to this week?

10 Responses

  1. I’m sure I haven’t learned how to use at least 75% of the features of my digital SLR… I read the manual when I got it, but when I’m out taking pictures, I never remember all of the fancy stuff. I’ll look forward to seeing what your new toy can do!

  2. I had a chance to see the warriors when they were in Baltimore several years ago. They were amazing!

  3. Lisa, congrats on the new camera. I’m looking forward to seeing the photos you take with it!

    Yay! I’m so excited about winning Sweetsmoke.

    Your daughter looks great in that red shirt with her gorgeous blong hair. You gotta love what the husbands bring back from those business trips. At least two of my kids are young enough not to notice if the stuff ‘mysteriously’ disappears a month or so later🙂

    I’m off to put the TLC site in my Google Reader so I can be sure to follow the tours!

  4. Love those strike-out comments. Hilarious.

    Can’t wait for the Kim Powers tour to start! I’m gearing up to write my review soon!

  5. Lisa, I agree with Andi about the strike out comments. I’ve had a bunch of friends go to foreign countries lately, and they brought me back things like wooden bracelets, and a big shell on a string as a necklace. I thanked them profusely and then gave them to my teenage patients, who thanked me profusely!

  6. Congrats to the winners! I really should start taking more pictures…

  7. Yes, get rid of them ASAP is my advice. My two kids are grown up now and their rooms are chock-a-block with stuff which can only be removed by stealth. Actually, I’ve given up trying now, and just shut the door.

    Great post, and I’ve read a little of Lisa See’s work already – Canongate produced a sweet little paperback especially for book-bloggers/publicity here in the UK, which I liked – so shall look out for more.

  8. Which Canon EOS Rebel Digital SLR did you get? I’m a camera buff. Many of the canon’s are fantastic. I have a Nikon D50 now, but I would love to get my hands on a new Canon!

  9. I was thrilled AND suprised to win the Agatha Christie Pierot DVD’s. I am one of those people that can’t even win at the nickel slot machine! They have already arrived safely via FedEx. Thanks for the opportunity to “play” and WIN!
    I have a Nikon D60 SLR and leave it on “auto” since it has too many features. I need a review manual for the manual. Lisa is a wonderful photgrapher. She took a holiday photo of my daughter that is still my absolute favorite. Enjoy your new camera Lisa!

  10. Hopefully no one noticed that I misspelled Poirot! A definite faux pas! As long as they don’t try and reclaim my prize I can live with it.

Leave a Reply

