Travel Reading Meme

With spring break coming up early this year and summer just around the bend, I thought it was time for a fun Travel Reading Meme.  Plus I’m going to be spending about 9 hours in a car going to Vegas and back in a few days, and I need some ideas. Answer here or on your blog, but be sure to leave a link in the comments.  I’m tagging 5 people:  Julie from Booking Mama (check out her new blog!), Patti from Displaced Beach Bums, Care from Care’s Online Book ClubBeastmomma (because I know she’s been on a plane recently), and Softdrink.

1.  What book are you reading right now?  Do you like it?

2.  What was the last book you read on a plane?

3.  What was the last book you read on a roadtrip?

4. What is the most unusual place you found yourself reading?

5.  What books would you take to keep you occupied on a 2 week vacation to the beach?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

1.  I am currently reading The Girls by Lori Lansens.   The story is told from two very distinct perspectives.  It’s a fictional autobiography of conjoined twins.  You’d think their experiences would be pretty much the same, since they’re attached at the head, but you’d be wrong.

2.  The last book I read on a plane was The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, coming home from a trip to Pennsylvania last summer.  It’s a cross country flight and we had a 3 hour layover, so I read almost the entire thing during the trip, ignoring my husband and children. 

3.  The last book I read on a roadtrip was All The Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy, about 12 years ago (pre-kids).  We were traveling to Steamboat Springs, CO and drove through Arizona and Utah to get there from our home in California.  I read parts of it aloud to my husband, and he got sucked in by the prairie and the horses, the cowboys and the marksman, and all their adventures in Mexico.  Bob’s not a reader, but when I’m reading, he likes to hear what the story is about.  He got hooked and wanted me to keep reading aloud long after I tired of it.

21ygmydjq6l.jpg

4. Unusual place..  hmmmm..  I always have a book with me and I read everywhere, but I can’t think of a really unusual place.   Maybe at the swim-up blackjack table at our hotel in the Bahamas, or in line for a tour at the Hoover Dam. 

5. For 2 weeks at the beach I would take the next few books on my TBR list:  A Thousand Splendid Suns, The Time Traveler’s Wife, The Red Tent, and then something lighter like The Next Thing on My List or Me Talk Pretty One Day.  There’s no way I’d finish them all, but it’s good to have choices.

 

15 Responses

  1. OK! I’ll play!

  2. I’m in but it’s going to take me a little bit to answer. My husband and I never go anywhere, so I’m going to have some issue with a few of the questions, but I’ll do my best! Thanks for this opportunity — it’s very fun!

  3. The Time Traveler’s Wife and The Red Tent are two of my favorite books – you better move them up on reading list – they are both great!

  4. What did you think of the kite runner? I’ve been looking at that one a lot, lately. I think they’re making a film, or made a film of it, too.

  5. Totally agree with Stephanie. My bookclub loved the Red Tent!

  6. All done…because I’m at work and don’t want to be!

    http://fizzybeverage.blogspot.com/2008/01/travel-reading-meme.html

  7. […] January 29, 2008 Book Club , Challenge , Life , Meme , Travel Lisa always seems to have BOOKS on her BRAIN…   and aren’t we all thankful?!   (Lisa, thanks for the Jacob explanation on my last post […]

  8. Hi guys, thanks for all the comments. Care and Jill, I loved your answers!!!

    Amulrin, I loved the Kite Runner. ONe of my all time favorite books. I just saw the movie last weekend and reviewed it here: https://lisamm.wordpress.com/2008/01/27/the-kite-runner-movie/

    Have a great day!

  9. I just found your blog and wanted to drop by and say hi!

  10. Hello Lisa, I love your blog. So, I want to play your questions.
    1. The Dearly Departed, by Elinor Lipman. Light after my last read: Appetites: What Women Want by Caroline Knapp. An absolute must read for any woman. Wonderful and heartbreaking.
    2. I hate airplanes. Can’t read while clutching the seat.
    3. Song of Solomon, Toni Morrison
    4. Hm. . . my tent.
    5. It could take hours to decide this one. But, on my last road trip my two absolutes for comfort were Bird By Bird, Anne Lamott and Cowboys Are My Weakness, Pam Houston.
    d.

  11. Julie, love your answers! Your blog is looking really good.

    Hi Katie, nice to meet you! Thanks for stopping by! I went by your blog today too. Very nice-I’ll be back.

    Dahlila, Love your answers. I’ll have to look into “Appetites”, that certainly sounds interesting. I just happen to have Bird by Bird on my nightstand right now. It was a Christmas gift. I haven’t started it yet.

    Thanks, beastmomma. I knew yours would be good!

  12. […] 2 February, 2008 by Patti Books on the Brain tagged me for a reading meme because she wanted book recommendations for an upcoming road-trip. […]

  13. Sorry it took so long ~ busy week with TWO snowdays. Having FG at home leaves me little time to myself.

Leave a comment